We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dean's Blue Hole

Dean's Blue Hole
Clarence Town, Long Island
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
Mooresville
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The deepest blue hole in the world at 600 feet deep and an adjacent beautiful beach. Well worth the visit and a divers delight

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    23
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nature wonder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

What an interesting place. Though we did not swim into the Blue Hole, we did climb above it for some spectacular views and pics. We spent two different afternoons on the beach just to the south of the Blue Hole past the first set of Limestone Rocks and did some snorkeling. The water was clear and lovely. We were able to find a few shells and many naturally bleached sand dollars while snorkeling.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Country, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Natures Strange and Powerful Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the Blue Hole in late afternoon after touring several beaches with Ernest Major our intrepid guide. The Blue Hole was a worthy climax to an amazing day. We were cautioned by the memorial to three people who drowned in the hole in 2008. We were assured by locals swimming at the hole that the victims were non-swimmers who slipped in and panicked. Many new signs warn of just that danger. So we snorkeled in with respect. The platform for the free diving event was still moored in the center of the Hole. It is a weird feeling to go from 18 inches of water to 660 feet in just one step. The water around the perimeter has many species of fish and is a fun snorkel. The water over the center was pretty empty of fish but it was also very dark. The trail around the hole is treacherous with rough edged coral. Not for bare feet. Great views of ocean breakers up there.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sight seeing for a day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were lucky enough to go to the blue hole when the free divers were there. I would only rent a car for one day. There really isn't much to see on this island. Our one day trip was just enough to see Stella Maris Resort Club, the blue hole, St. Paul's Anglican Church (great view!) and have lunch at Rowdy's in Clarence Town

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, OH
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nature's Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Dean's Blue Hole is beautiful and a must-see while on the island of Long Island. The water changes from the deepest, darkest blue to the palest aqua, and the surrounding cliffs and beaches are untouched.

If jumping from the cliff, you may want to take some water shoes, for the hike up there is a little rugged for barefeet.

Also - don't let the narrow road to the Blue Hole intimidate you - it is worth the drive.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dean's Blue Hole also viewed

Sandy Point, Great Abaco Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Staniel Cay, Out Islands
 

Been to Dean's Blue Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dean's Blue Hole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.