We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, not so good rooms and staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Lyon Charpennes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Lyon Charpennes to your Saves list
Mercure Lyon Charpennes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Place Charles Hernu, 69100 Villeurbanne, Lyon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Villeurbanne
Paris, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good price, not so good rooms and staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The price was right and its located right next to a metro station. Unfortuantely the room was not clean at all (condom underneath the bed and hairs in bathroom) and the bed was broken. Second room was fine though pretty noisy, breakfast surprisingly good.

Room Tip: Get quiet room not facing the crossroads
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1625, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Charpennes, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear customer,

We thank you for your comment on your stay because the quality of service is a subject very important for me.
I am surprised reading your comment on the cleanliness of the family room while we always make a double check that it is a family room because there are children and to avoid the objects which you note. We apologize for the points which did not satisfy you completely.
If you return on Lyon soon, I invite you to contact me so that I take care personally of your booking.
Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Kind regards
Stéphane Robillard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    95
    55
    19
    3
See reviews for
31
48
43
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This hotel is in line with it's rating. Your typical Mercure

It is slightly outdated but still adequate. The staff is nice and the location facing Charpennes subway station and tram stop makes it convenient.

The location is in the neighbouring city of Villeurbannes, but you can walk to the center area in 20-25 minutes or hop on the subway for 3-4 stops and voila.

Room Tip: The last room at the end of the corridor has a big terrace with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Charpennes, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear customer,
I follow upon your stay spent in our establishment and thank you for having made us share your remarks on the arisen problems because effectively the quality of service and the satisfaction is a priority for me.
Having made the renovations in rooms, restaurant, breakfast room, lounges, we make this summer of the renovations in all our bathrooms to offer you always more comfort.
It is tramway rails at feet of our hotel which separates the city of Lyon with that of Villeurbanne that is why we are closer of the center of Lyon or of the center of the Station Part Dieu that of the center of Villeurbanne.
I remain at your disposal for your next stay and wish you a very good summer.
Kind regards
Stéphane Robillard
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namur, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Just at the Charpennes Metro station
Comfortable bed, nice and practical bathroom...
Efficient night!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1625, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Charpennes, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear customer,

Thank you for your positive comment on our establishment.
You have effectively the opportunity to take advantage of our hotel situated on the Place Charpennes to visit Lyon or make you to your meeting by the public transportation, with the subway A and B, the Tramway T1 or the taxis, without using your car that you will have left in our undercover car park and closed of 80 places.
In the pleasure to welcome you again in our establishment
Kind regards
Stéphane Robillard
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Very guide location, right across from the metro. But the price is high, especially concerning the small rooms (that could use a renovation).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Charpennes, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear customer,
I thank you for your comment and we take note of the positive and negative points.
Further to the new classification of hotels in France, our hotel which possess that only rooms from 23 to 30 m2 was classified in 4-star category. The standard minimum for rooms in this category is of 16m2.
Our rates correspond to the rates of 4-star hotels on Lyon but I invite you to go on our web site Mercure or Accor where you can benefit from promotional rates if you know your dates of stay in advance.
We began last year a program of renovation of our rooms and this summer we are going to renew bathrooms. I hope to have soon the opportunity to show them to you.
Do not hesitate to contact me for your next stay where I shall have a big pleasure to welcome you and to help you in your booking.
Kind regards
Stéphane Robillard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

Well located(if you need to work in villeurbanne), clean, good service at a reasonable price.
Breakfast really nice too.

Definetly I would stay there if I will go back to Lyon.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1625, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Charpennes, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Dear customer,
One very thank you for your response which delights all my employees on their qualitative work in everyday life.
Do not hesitate to connect you on our web site to benefit on the next big weekends the best promotional rates to visit our beautiful city of Lyon, city classified in the Historical heritage of Unesco.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon in our hotel,
Kind regards
Stéphane Robillard
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

The main reason I chose this hotel was the location - close to Claude Bernard University and with very good transport (metro and tram) links. Room was spacious and comfortable and the bathroom was OK although the toilet seat was a bit wobbly. The only two problems were, as other people have said, the room was a bit hot (and this was only March/April) and it was noisy in the morning rush-hour - the downside of being in such a convenient location. Breakfast was very good with lots of choice of breads, yoghurts, cold meat, cheese, fruit etc. And I liked the scrambled egg, although some reviewers clearly didn't!
The staff I encountered were business-like and efficient and I am sure would have been able to deal with any problems Overall, a satisfactory hotel which suited my purposes.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1625, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Charpennes, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Dear customer,
I thank you for your comment which shows our professionalism and our quality of service. My employees appreciated a lot and also thank you.
I assure you that we are going to continue to respect well all our processes so that you always have pleasure to stay in our establishment.
However we indeed note your problems of heat and noise during your stay. As regards the heat, we had difficulty managing the temperature because days were warm in March and cold nights and especially in the early hours. Given that we put all the hotel either in heating, or in air conditioning with our system, we were responsible to cut the heating during the day and to relight it the evening so that our customers has a good temperature all night long. Regrettably some customers were very hot about what you and we are sorry about it.
For the noise, you were over a week when there was a congrés on Lyon and the customers all left their rooms very early in the morning what caused a lot of noise of doors and traffic on the place.
I remain at your disposal to help you in the organization of your next stay and to welcome you.
Kind regards
Stéphane Robillard
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Lyon Charpennes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lyon Charpennes

Address: 7 Place Charles Hernu, 69100 Villeurbanne, Lyon, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Villeurbanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Villeurbanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lyon Charpennes 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
98 rooms located between La Part Dieu CBD and the Cité Internationale, Convention Centre and Lyon (5 min). A strategic hotel for your professional and cultural stays.Opposite subway. Restaurant & bar. Meeting facilities. Paying covered carpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Lyon Charpennes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Lyon Charpennes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Lyon Charpennes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.