We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the Alps” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Star Ski Chalets

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Star Ski Chalets
Save
You added Star Ski Chalets to your Saves list
Chalet Etoile Filante | Le Cret, 74110 Morzine, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 49 Morzine B&B and Inns
Cheshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Luxury in the Alps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

We stayed at Chalet Star Ski at Christmas 2007 and Chalet Avoca at Easter 2009. Both chalets were of an excellent standard and very spacious with all mod cons. The food at the chalets was also excellent - I especially enjoyed the Sunday night curry.

We decided not to hire a car on both occasions as we arranged airport transfers through Starski. As the chalets were a little distance from the ski lifts we were dopped off and picked up at the slopes every day - It was great not to have to bother with driving the whole holiday!

We have already booked to go again in 2010 with a large group of friends and family. Once you've stayed in a Starski chalet you don't want to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

The chalet was very comfortable especially after a long day on the slopes. Elderon and Clarissa made us very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Every meal was delicious. Would recommend Starski 100%.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

We stayed at the Chalet Etoile Filante in Montriand in February. The atmosphere was very friendly and relaxed, and the chef-catering was a delight. Nothing was too much trouble. We were picked up from Geneva at the strat of the holiday and each day taken to the main lift in the morning and collected again late afternoon to be taken back for tea and cake. Ideal way of enjoying the day for leisure skiers - perahps not so good for those that want to be out at first lift and off the mountain at the very end of the day - but it suited us perfectly. We enjoyed it so much that we are going back again in December.

  • Liked — The big sitting area
  • Disliked — Having to leave to go home
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2008

We were very pleased with our stay. We were perfectly well looked after - nothing was too much trouble for the charming staff and owners. Lots of little 'touches' made our stay a pleasure! Located a little way out of town, we were offered lifts whenever we needed. The food was excellent - we came away somewhat heavier than when we arrived, despite lots of skiing in excellent conditions (especially for the late time of season.) It was our 2nd time to Morzine - the only resort we've wanted to come back to right away. Lots of piste for all abilities. Rooms in the chalet (the larger of the two run by Starski) were pleasant and communal areas airy and spacious. Children were welcomed and had a lovely time too. We hope to be back! The Dennings

  • Liked — airy communal areas
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2007

Having stayed at Star Ski in the winter of 2006 and marvelling at the wonderful winter scenery, facilities and hospitality from the hosts Elderon and Clarissa we returned for more of the same in February 2007. Not to be disappointed. We re visited for a short summer break in June 2007. A very different atmosphere during the summer months. Quiet and tranquil are words that spring to mind. We are looking forward to repeating the winter experience in Februay 2008.
the chalet has superb facilities from the luxury of Molton Brown in the bathroom to the exquisite food and wine.
Keep up the good work Elderon and Clarissa and best of luck with the new Chalet.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliftonville, Kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2007

We have stayed at the Chalet Etoile on several occasions. We were picked up at Geneva Airport and transported , through wonderful scenery, to the wonderful village that is Morzine. We were met at the chalet with a champagne reception and soon introduced to the most beautiful bedroom that I have stayed in when visiting the Alps. Everything is luxurious, from the Eygptian bed linen, the fluffy dressing gowns, through to Molten Brown bathroom products. The food was wonderful with fine wines and great menus, served in a wonderful friendly atmosphere. Nothing was too much trouble for the chalet staff. from the provision of a ski fitting service to transport to, and pick up from, the ski lifts. On occasion we were even given free guiding. At night we were transported, free, into the village for apres ski and had a wonderful time. One of the highlights of our visit was the outdoor jacuzzi - can you imagine a scenario where you are sitting, under floodlight, in a jacuzzi, sipping champagne with friends, family or fellow guests? And if that is too cold for you, you can enjoy a well stocked bar in the lounge, in front of a roaring log fire.
Without doubt the best winter holiday we have ever enjoyed - do not miss the opportunity - go there!

  • Liked — luxury
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2007

Feb 2006. We stayed at Chalet Étoile Filante for the half term week, when the chalet had not long been open. It was a wonderful holiday, thanks to the personal service of Elderon and Clarissa.
Elderon prepared great quality and variety of food. On one day, this was after he had taken the whole chalet out on a guided ski trip, which ended up with him taking all the children back to the chalet on his own! Probably never to be repeated!

The rooms were cosy and warm and the log fire and outdoor hot tub were welcome treats at the end of each day. The children were happy with the Dvds and games available for them to play with. The availability of lifts via the chalet transport, to and from the ski lifts, and into town, worked well for us and we were quite happy being out of the village, making good use of the chalet honesty bar.

  • Liked — Personal, flexible service.
  • Disliked — A little cramped around the dining table
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Star Ski Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Ski Chalets

Address: Chalet Etoile Filante | Le Cret, 74110 Morzine, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Ski Chalets pride themselves in offering luxurious accommodation in Morzine, France. Star Ski Chalets have a range of chalets and hotels providing catered holidays for those wishing to enjoy the skiing in winter and mountain biking in summer. All properties feature, hot tubs, saunas, free WiFi, stylish and comfortable interiors. Some have swimming pools. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Star Ski Chalets Hotel Morzine-Avoriaz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Ski Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.