We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable Christmas for all the right reasons” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Star Ski Chalets

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Star Ski Chalets
Save
You added Star Ski Chalets to your Saves list
Chalet Etoile Filante | Le Cret, 74110 Morzine, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 48 Morzine B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A memorable Christmas for all the right reasons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at the Star Ski Chalet for Christmas 2013 and I must say it was probably one of the best Christmas' I have had. We were very anxious about being away from our family at Christmas and obviously spending a lot of money on a holiday at this time of year, but the team at the Star Ski chalet made our Christmas Holiday everything you could wish for and more.

In fact we have been home now for just over two weeks and I still wish I could be back there. As a mum of three it was so lovely for me to be waited on for a change!! Poached eggs at breakfast, home made cakes in the afternoon and four course dinner in the evening finished off with cheese and port in front of the roaring log fire. Everything was laid on to make it as easy as possible for our party, silly little things that help so much when you are travelling with 11 children aged from 2 to 10 years. For example giving each child a storage box for all their ski stuff, so there was no panic every morning trying to find each mitten or ski sock. The mini bus shuttle to and from the slopes allowing us to get as close to the ski lift as possible avoiding walking long distances in ski boots. If a child accidentally wet themselves on the slopes (which often happened) then they would wash their trousers and leave them on your bed ready for the next day. Nothing was to much trouble. We even had a visit from Father Christmas on Christmas morning!!! The chalet owners Clarrisa and Elderon helped organise Lift Passes and delivered them to the chalet on our arrival. They also provided us with details of a ski/boot hire company that came to the chalet, this was also so beneficial with 11 young children.

Thank you so much to the chalet staff Dave, Liv and Ben, thank you for making our Christmas/Holiday so memorable, Happy New Year and hopefully see you in 2014!!!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms had a bath and some of the rooms had a TV/DVD player so these were quite helpful a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Errol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

With a group of 6 adults and 8 children (ages 8 - 14) looking for a ski holiday in early April 2013 anything could go wrong from no snow to booking a flight to booking a chalet but it did not happen. In fact, we had the best skiing holiday ever because Chalet Roxy was perfect from every angle. It was a last minute booking, a gamble that proved worth taking. The owners and managers of Chalet Roxy were extremely helpful from the first email inquiring about the chalet until our holiday was over. The deal included transport from Geneva airport to the chalet and back, daily transport from the chalet to the slopes and the provision of breakfast, dinner and afternoon cakes. The two chefs that were assigned to the chalet were absolutely excellent and made our stay extra special with their attention to details. The facilities are simply perfect 7 bedrooms all with ensuites, a cinema room, Playstation 3, TV and films, free Wi-Fi, Jacuzzi and Sauna, external heated swimming pool, which provided ample opportunities to keep our 8 kids entertained in the evening after a long day skiing. A perfect holiday that made us decide to go back to Chalet Roxy in April 2014. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We booked up unhesitatingly when we bumped into Eldoran standing in his most childfriendly stall in the Ski Show in Earls Court. We had a 3 month old baby and an absolute beginner snowboarder aged 9y in tow and their needs to consider. It was everything I needed: 10 minutes walk to both Super Morzine/ Pleney bubble lift. A few metres off piste of the lovely blue run B from Morzine meant skiing/ snowboarding back to the hotel was possible (and great fun). I am secretly not sorry that I did not write this review sooner, as I consider them an absolute find and would have loved to keep them my little secret! So much so after our first visit in December 2012, we booked again go back for the last week of the season in April. This time everything was closing and so we stayed in their absolutely luxurious apartment with a tub for two! A short bus ride took us to the high speed Prodain lift enabling easy riding from the top of Mount Avoriaz. AJ (hubby) would have quite happily camped overnight in the many parks on offer. Also no shortage of extracurricular activities incl swimming in nearby leisure centre with baby and Wii games!

Room Tip: The hosts were generous with room sizes esp when cots/ baby baths needed fitting in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Spent an excellent week at Chalet Etoile Filante. It really is a fantastic chalet - decent sized rooms and en suite bathrooms, and a spacious living room area with open fireplace that was a great place to relax after a hard day's skiing! Toasting marshmallows - nice touch! Oh and the hot tub... magic :-) The chalet hosts were really polite and attentive - food and service were both top notch.

The chalet is a short drive to the slopes, so not as convenient as some ski-to-door options, but the timely minibus service more than compensated for that - especially given that we could choose which lift station to be dropped off and picked up from.

All in all, an excellent choice of chalet. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was by far our best skiing holiday, stayed in chalet Stardust, Giles was the perfect chalet host, nothing was too much trouble and his food was excellent. Lovely to come back to a freshly baked cake in the afternoon, and a first class three course meal in the evening, well presented and tasted great, even pleased our 15 year old, who can be quite fussy at times A really great chalet, in a very good location, perfect from start to finish, stress free and an excellent service provided to and from the airport.
A big thank you to Elron and Clarisa, Giles and the other guests for a great stay, we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A group of eight of us had a fantastic stay at Chalet Stardust, and were well looked after by the chalet hosts. The food was delicious - especially afternoon tea following a hard day's skiing, and the hot tub was a great luxury. The location is ideal for access to the slopes, just a few minutes walk away from the super Morzine. The skiing area itself is extensive and suits a variety of abilities. Would love to return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had an excellent week at Chalet Etoile Filante. The hosts were extremely welcoming and accommodating and the food was first class!
The bedrooms were very comfortable with excellent en-suite bathrooms. The communal area downstairs easily accommodated everyone and the log fire kept the chalet toasty warm.
The hot tub was amazing, just want you need to sooth those aching muscles after a day on the slopes!
The chalet is a 15 minute drive from the slopes so a driver would take us up and collect us each day and they were happy to do a couple of runs to accommodate the whole group.
This was my first time skiing and thanks in part to this excellent chalet, I will definitely go again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Star Ski Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Ski Chalets

Address: Chalet Etoile Filante | Le Cret, 74110 Morzine, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Ski Chalets pride themselves in offering luxurious accommodation in Morzine, France. Star Ski Chalets have a range of chalets and hotels providing catered holidays for those wishing to enjoy the skiing in winter and mountain biking in summer. All properties feature, hot tubs, saunas, free WiFi, stylish and comfortable interiors. Some have swimming pools. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Star Ski Chalets Hotel Morzine-Avoriaz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Ski Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.