We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location number 1 !!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Viking

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Viking to your Saves list
Hotel Le Viking
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Telepherique du Pleney, 74110 Morzine, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 55 Hotels in Morzine
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Location number 1 !!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The location is the key! On the top of the mountain - Le Pleney gondola.

The rooms are tiny but you are there to shower and sleep only.

The food was good, variety every single evening. Cheese board with a nice selection, lots of fruit, desserts and ice cream.

Sauna is pre booked every day but we never had a problem to find a free time slot for a private 30min.

Pool was warm - 30 degrees.

100euro credit per person in the hotel was a great deal. All beers, wines, drinks we didn't have to pay for for, which saved us a lot of money.

The hairdryer you can get at the reception on arrival if you will ask for it.

The breakfast was all right. Eggs, bacon, ham, cheese, croissants.
Definitely enough to get you awake.

The view from the restaurant was amazing, each meal was lovely.

Overall the hotel is all right but would need some updating.

Location & food excellent!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur-Manager1, Alexandre Hoarau at Hotel Le Viking, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for your comment.
We are glad you had a good experience and we look forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Alexandre Hoarau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    120
    29
    17
    10
See reviews for
100
71
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed here for a week. Transfer with Crystal Ski rep was organised and informative. On our coach, the reps provided all info in a pack and explained to us one by one as we got on the bus. Even tho a rep didn't actually sit on our bus to the hotel, they reassured us.
It was handy to have the ski hire shop in the hotel. Quick and easy. Even when I had to change my boots for the next size up. No problems. We had pre ordered ski and boot hire so all we had to do was present our voucher given to us on transfer pack.
Room- as a couple we don't need much out of a room. No balcony but didn't bother us too much. Would say that double consisted of two twin beds pushed together. Bathroom fine. Enough space for one person only though. Tv on simply for background noise. Had bbc2 and itv1, itv2.
Staff always friendly. Always smiling.
Meal times - breakfast had all the usual such as cereals, fruit, continental, bacon, scrambled egg (cheese mixed in), toast, bread and croissants. Laid out nicely. Evening meals were the best quality hotel food we've ever had. Salad section as standard. Main course was either a hot buffet style or a choice of two dishes. All choice dishes presented as if fine dining restaurant. Desert section was too tempting. Bar upstairs has a relaxing atmosphere. Didnt use the swimming pool.
Location of hotel fantastic as ski straight out and back in. Make sure you keep note where you put skis and boots in the locker room.
Overall, a really good hotel in a prime location. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur-Manager1, Alexandre Hoarau at Hotel Le Viking, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for your comment.
We are glad you had a good experience and we look forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Alexandre Hoarau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed here week beginning the 8th of March! The hotel is in a great location right at the top of the pleney lift and of course ski in/ski out! The hotel itself was good, the rooms was a nice size for two people, no more! Would of been a squeeze! view from our balcony was amazing at sunset too! The beds were comfy ish and shower was good but left the bathroom floor rather wet which I found out when I had fallen over! The food in the hotel was ok, breakfast buffet you could not fault, however evening meals weren't that great but ok if not fussy! Then desert you had a lot to choose from and all very tasty! All staff was very friendly and always happy to see you and helpful! Also crystal was a great company to book with right from the start from booking it to getting on your transfer back to the airport! All in all good holiday!! :)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur-Manager1, Alexandre Hoarau at Hotel Le Viking, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for your comment.
We are glad you had a good experience and we look forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Alexandre Hoarau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Just checked and followed advice on bringing a travel kettle, contacting the Hotel to requst a balcony all followed. Queue for check in, but sat on the sundeck with a drink and in the room after about 30 minutes. Reception were efficient, however as people arrive in coach loads, there is a wait. Most people used to time to speak to other guests so very social. Everyone has , read the Marmite reviews on trip advisor, in many cases after they had booked, will be interesting to see how people assess the experience at the end of the week .

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur-Manager1, Alexandre Hoarau at Hotel Le Viking, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for your comment.

We are glad you had a good experience and we look forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Alexandre Hoarau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a lovely week at the Viking. It was my first skiing holiday and I certainly have got the bug.


The hotel is situated just up from the Pleny which makes it easy to get up and down to Morzine. Stunning views and quick access to the pistes.


We were very lucky with the weather. It's been quite mild up until we arrived where we had a nice dumping of snow the first two days. The rest of the week has been sunny and the skiing excellent. Only gripe was that it was busy and was to be expected as it was the French Half term. 


Rooms on arrival were what you would expect of a 3 star hotel. Once your settled in though you feel right at home. The beds are comfy but the showers a bit week.


 The boot room is a bit small. One must also be aware that skis go missing from time to time purely by accident I'm sure. Put one of your smelly socks over one of your skis and you shouldn't have a problem... well I didn't :)


The food, wow!! Not only at the hotel but the whole of Morzine was spectacular! From a simple buffet dinner all the way to the cote de boeuf. 


Again staff were great. Put up with my pathetic attempts at speaking French. Nice friendly service all in all and nice to feel welcomed after a hard day skiing at the sunset bar by Corrina. We taught her to make the perfect fire also. :p


To sum up. A 3 star hotel with 5 star service and 5 star food!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur-Manager1, Alexandre Hoarau at Hotel Le Viking, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Skooobz,

We would like to thank for your comment.
We are glad you had a good experience and we look forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Alexandre Hoarau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed in The Viking 22nd February to 1st March courtesy of Crystal holidays. Four adults in two rooms facing the piste.
The Good: Unbeatable location, ski to door, rooms compact comfortable and clean, hotel was always warm, staff very approachable and helpful, service was good, buffet breakfast was fine, great location, 100 euros each behind the bar per person is a great idea, nicely decorated (for the battering it takes all year round) buffet starters and sweet / dessert selection was excellent... Outside cafe / restaurant service was excellent...oh and did I mention the great location? At the top of the new Pleney Gondola = First on the slopes every morning! Fantastic views and fresh air.... wish I was back there.
The Not so Good: Main course food was a bit lacking, especially when it was not buffet, (cheese on toast and chips for the children?) and if you are vegetarian the choice is very very poor. If you are a non skier and do not have a ski pass that covers the Pleney gondola your choice is buy a 59 euro walkers pass or pay the reps 5.90 euro for a return pass, that they have to bring up, as you cannot get a pass from the hotel. The small Boot / Ski room is a bit of a battlefield.

Yes we would go back to the Viking just because of the location which I think I mentioned, is second to none.
The Pleney Gondola had a major malfunction on the Thursday which was not fixed for our departure down to Morzine however the Crystal Staff, hotel staff and the Piste Bashers pulled out all the stops and got us all down in time. Only disappointed that Bernard would not let me drive that beast of a machine down the mountain...oh well maybe next year. It snowed quite a lot whilst we were out there ...what an excellent holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur-Manager1, Alexandre Hoarau at Hotel Le Viking, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for you comment which helps us to improve our service.

We are glad you had a good stay and we look forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Alexandre Hoarau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

As per some other recent reviews, I was not expecting much but was very happy with what we found with the hotel. Staff were delightful and always pleasant, food was average and some some odd options, although as a fussy eater, I only had to chose off the childrens menu on the last night - so was very happy. If you are a dessert person - loads to choose from! Right on the slopes and great for the views of the sunset. Not much in the way of evening entertainment but there is a couple of late night options with the lifts staying available on the half hour till 2am - which we made use off. A very comfortable bed too. Only negative was that the cleaning of a day merely was your bed being made with no other cleaning which meant we had to take our empties down as and when we decided to take drinks to the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur-Manager1, Alexandre Hoarau at Hotel Le Viking, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for your comment.

We are pleased you had a good experience and we look forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Alexandre Hoarau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Viking

Address: Telepherique du Pleney, 74110 Morzine, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 55 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Viking 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located at 1600 meters of altitude. It is an unique experience to stay in our hotel which is located at the top of the mountain. You can access to the hotel only with a Pleney gondola. On arrival, during the check-in times, (from 10am to 7pm in week and from 10am to 9pm on saturday),You need to go to the ticket office of the Pleney gondola which will let know to are up there to pick your luggage up at your arrival at the top of the mountain. Outside of these hours, Luggage service is paid : €25 / room booked / course Your first way up is free but then you will have to buy ski pass or pedestrian gondola ticket. Pass will be available at the hotel reception on arrival if they have been reserved in advance. . The Pleney gondola is open : - Monday, Wednesday, Friday and Sunday 8.45 Am to 8 pm. After 8pm, no access won't be available to the hotel ! - Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday from 8.45 Am to 2 am. After 2am, no access won't be available to the hotel ! The Cable Car runs every 30 minutes from 5 pm onwards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Viking, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.