We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below Basic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel le Soly

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel le Soly to your Saves list
Hotel le Soly
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   234 route de la manche, 74110 Morzine, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 55 Hotels in Morzine
Hove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Below Basic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Arrived here for a wedding travelling from Monte Carlo, so was expecting something of a culture shock. I chose this hotel purely for location and for the price I was paying I knew I'd get basic. Having looked at the pictures on the website I expected my room to look vaguely similar however the room we were given was below basic to the point of being funny. We stayed 3 nights during this time our towels which smelt stale anyway weren't changed once. The bed was rock hard and shared a pillow. I didn't know that the basic continental breakfast would include warm orange juice either. If your a mountain biker or skier on a budget and don't care about basic comfort then this is the hotel for you if your anything other than that then there are better hotels for a similar price - you live and learn !!!!
Oh but they didn't have good wifi hence the 2 stars.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
10
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
chester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I booked last minute as I decided to join pals for a couple of days skiing, I arrived late and was a little worried about collecting the keys, but spoke to a helpful girl on the opine and she explained how to get in if the staff weren't on front desk, my room was a single but had a double bed and the bathroom was quite large, hot water, and the sound of the river ensured I had a good nights sleep, I opted for breakfast and all of this was delicious with a pot of strong hot coffee to kick starts my day.....would recommend this little hotel, especially if you are a solo female traveller as I happily ate on my own at breakfast, the owner was kind and gave me a lift to the hotel my pals were staying in so I could grab a lift on there transfer bus...

Room Tip: At the back to hear the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Over the last 12 months , I've stayed here 3 times. It's family run and has been for over 30 years. You are made to feel very welcome. The rooms are adequate, with most balconies over looking a beautiful River. Wet snow gear , was taken, dried each night. A lovely little hotel I would go back to again and again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We've been to Morzine many times but this was our first stay at Hotel le Soly - but it won't be our last.

This was a last minute trip and, still being in-season, all our usual places were still very expensive for short stays. Hotel le Soly was very reasonably priced so we didn't expect too much - but were very pleasantly surprised.

We received a friendly welcome, our room was clean, comfortable and with a lovely view of the river and towards the mountains. There was a flat screen TV in the room with a couple of English channels and the bathroom was very good.

We didn't eat at the hotel, but one of the other guests told us that the food was very good. There is a hot spa, so next time we will be sure to pack our swimmies!

Finally, the hotel gives easy access to the lower half of the town, is on the bus routes and had a good amount of free parking - quite a rarity for Morzine!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The twin room maybe basic but it is well cared for and clean.

I arrived after midnight and by communicating by e-mail and mobile I was able to gain access and locate the allocated room which was good.

The bathroom is basic but does the job well on a budget and I was only looking to stay the night before moving on.

Excellent breakfast which I would strongly recommend at Euro 10 over going somewhere else locally as good very value with plenty to eat by way of fresh hot drinks, warmed breads, freshly cooked or cold buffet options.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Got back a week ago having had a lovely time in morzine. We drove to france and arrived well before check in but they made arrangements for our rooms x2 to be cleaned first to allow us an earlier check in time. Hotel is exceptionally clean. rooms cleaned every day. leave towels on floor if you want new ones! location wise it was a 5 minute walk to shops, cafes and bars. 1 mins from free bus service which takes you either into morzine centre or to avoriaz. lots of free parking. we didn't get to use the pool due to the time of year but did make use of sauna which you need to book a slot for in the morning. also a table tennis table and running machine all free. 10 euros per person for continental breakfast a day which is pricey on a budget for a week, carrefour is down the road for a grab and go munch! all staff we encountered were helpful and friendly. you only have one room key and they lock front doors from 10:30pm so you have to use back door which isn't a problem unless you come back separately from your partner then you have to let them in when they get back if after this time! could do with being a key pad lock rather than key. boot room was safe and has boot warmers.our balcony was shared with people we didn't know but this was not a problem luckily and nothing was taken from the balcony if we left it out.would definitely stay there again as price matches the accommodation and location.

Room Tip: choose a bedroom that backs onto the river as it sounds very peaceful and you get more sun throughou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed in Le Soly for New Years and few days of skiing. For a 2 star hotel, this is a very good deal! The price is cheaper than everything else around, but the service is friendly and nice, the room is bit plain but cosy and has a wonderful view on river and snowy forest. Recommend to take the breakfast at 10 euro at hotel, it is cheaper and much better than u ll end up paying outside. They have a sauna, which is perfect after skiing- but you need to book the time slot in advance

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel le Soly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Soly

Address: 234 route de la manche, 74110 Morzine, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 55 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel le Soly 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a lovely France hotel, the Le Soly Varnay Hotel is a great choice. It is located in the Avoriaz ski area, which is part of the peaceful town of Morzine. You can stroll here to explore the many quaint shops, restaurants, cafes and bars. Mainly, however, people travel to this area in France for the outdoor activities. The winter in Morzine is perfect for skiing as the Portes du Soleil ski area is close by. Guests can also find snowboarding, alpine and downhill skiing, lessons are also available. There are over 650 km of ski slopes and trails that connect through France and Switzerland for your enjoyment. In the summer, many enjoy mountain biking, hiking, canoeing, kayaking, rafting and more. No matter the season, you will simply love the invigorating nature of Morzine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel le Soly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel le Soly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.