We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Cheerful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ridge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Ridge Hotel to your Saves list
The Ridge Hotel
Route de Montriond, 74110 Morzine, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 55 Hotels in Morzine
Bucks, UK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Cheap and Cheerful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel is what it is, it's cheap and functional but certainly not luxurious. It's more stag do / boys weekend away than a family destination, however you could do a lot worse if you're on a budget.

Having said that, it was clean and modern (looks like it had been renovated in the last 5 or so years), but the rooms are small and sound does travel. I was on the top floor and used earplugs and didn’t hear a thing (in fact I had excellent nights sleep whilst I was there) but someone else in our group was by the stairs and they heard a lot of noise from the bar. The bathrooms are also small but again perfectly adequate for a week / long weekend away. Although don't drop the soap in the shower, you'll never be able to bend down to pick it up!

It is definitely slightly out of town and about 10-15 min walk to the SuperMorzine (nearest lift). They do have a shuttle bus in the morning and afternoon to drop you / pick you up from here or at the Pleney lift in town. If you're after the nearest lift location then this hotel is not for you.
The hotel has the advantage of a bar so you don't have to go into town at night if you don't want to, which was a good benefit. The evening meals were very good and better than you'd expect for this level of accommodation. The breakfast was ok, the hot option could have been a bit bigger portion wise and the sausages were well overcooked, but overall it was ok as start to the skiing day.

The staff although young, looked after us well and gave great service, they are an asset to the hotel.

Would I stay again? With an all male group maybe but certainly not with the family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineElementsTeam, Guest Relations Manager at The Ridge Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear JasonandSally,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your holiday. We are glad that you made use of the shuttle bus and the hotel bar during your holiday. It is lovely to hear that our staff provided a great service during your holiday and we have taken all of your feedback on board. We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Sarah Stewart
Customer Care Advisor
Alpine Elements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
20
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I booked a recent trip for myself and 3 friends. I booked accomodation only, not a package deal.

Found the staff to be very pleasant and the majority of them very helpful. There was one who I would say would be more suited to a non-customer facing role as he didn't really seem that helpful, quite possibly just his personality though rather than him intentionally being unhelpful.

The hotel itself is clean and has a new feel about it.

The room we stayed in was a room for 4 called Combette, this was above the bar facing the road and was a little noisy, but being 4 lads this didn't really bother us too much. The room was clean and the beds were comfy. The bathroom was small but perfectly functional with a good shower, we didn't experience any lack of hot water issues. It had double doors that opened on to a shared balcony, we found we had to sleep with one of the balcony doors slightly ajar as otherwise the condensation from the 4 of us would be enough to create a puddle by the door in the morning. It was nice to have the fresh air in the room overnight though (as you can imagine it was needed from 4 lads sharing!). The inferno of a radiator in the bathroom seemed to keep the room warm enough, the overnight temp whilst we were there was in the region of -2 to -4 degrees celcius (approximately).

Breakfast was fairly basic. They had the normal tea, coffee (fresh and instant), water, orange and apple juice for refreshments, 3 cereals and toast etc on the self serve table. The cooked breakfast wasn't huge 1 sausage, 1 hashbrown, 1 egg, 1 half of a tomato and baked beans, but it was cooked well so we just topped up from the self serve if we were still hungry.

We were never around for afternoon tea, so am unable to comment.

Evening meal. On the two evenings we ate they I have to say we all really enjoyed the food. We found it to be of excellent standard and very tasty. We weren't left wanting afterwards. The wine list is fiarly limited, but not too expensive.

Now what really did annoy us is the location description. The hotel is just outside the border of Morzine and actually in Montriond. The Alpine Elements website says the Hotel is 350m from the bottom of the Super Morzine lift, which is complete BS. Now knowing where the hotel is exactly on google maps I can confirm it is 750m from the bottom of the Super Morzine lift. Not a 4-5 minute walk as suggested either but easily 10 minutes if you have normal footwear on. One of our party ski's, so that walk in ski boots is a bit of a killer. Centre of town is just beyond the Super Morzine lift so approx 850m from the hotel.

The one, kind of, saving grace is the Hotel does run a shuttle and if your going to use the Pleny lift you will definitely need to use this if wearing ski boots. In boarding boots your looking at about 25-30mins walk. It runs every 15mins for for a period in the morning (think it was 8.30 till 10am) and then in the evening (I think 16.00 to 17.30). Although one evening we were at the stop to come back to the hotel at 17.10 and by 17.45 the shuttle had not returned to so we started walking.

Link to googlemaps that shows Hotel to bottom of Super Morzine Lift.
https://maps.google.co.uk/maps?saddr=D228&daddr=Taille+Mas+de+la+Passerelle&hl=en&ll=46.185714,6.704364&spn=0.011171,0.02135&sll=46.183894,6.704793&sspn=0.003506,0.008256&geocode=FYrIwAIdMEJmAA%3BFau0wAId-0hmAA&dirflg=w&mra=dme&mrsp=1&sz=18&t=m&z=16

The location wasn't a deal breaker for us, I just hate being misled and lied too if I'm honest!

Room Tip: Here is a room plan of the hotel http://www.alpineelements.co.uk/ski-holidays/resort/morzine/chalet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The worst thing about the room was the 8 spotlights in the ceiling and no other lighting - so no quiet reading of your book with a bedside lamp. And for a room with 4 beds that spells discontent in the ranks. By the way, one of the reviewers said the curtains were thin but if you opened the door on to the balcony you would discover shutters which very effectively kept the room dark during sleeping hours. Nice view across the valley. Walls rather thin so you could hear everything going on in adjoining rooms. Wine list rather lacking. Staff very friendly and helpful but the help somewhat haphazard. Having been told by Igoski that the chef's night off was Tuesday, it turned out it was actually on Wednesdays so didn't affect us as we only went for 3½ days.
Best access to skiing area from this hotel is to catch the M navette outside the hotel to Ardent and then ski the Lindarets/Avoriaz/Swiss areas. But Les Gets is nice skiing too - if you can rely on the lifts to and from Plenney the hotel staff is supposed to provide!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Knowing the area helped inform our awareness that we were not centrally located with regard to reaching lifts, but the fact that we could access the Port du Soleil area was important to us. The regular mini bus service made the journey to both the Super Morzine lift and Plenney manageable but for those wishing to finish early, it is a good trek back to the hotel.

The accommodation is simple and clean with bedrooms being split between two buildings. We were lucky enough to be in the dining building as the wooden flooring didn't absorb sound particularly well and we assumed therefore that sleeping in a room above the bar could potentially be rather loud. However, we slept well in very comfortable beds although we would have welcomed the provision of some hooks for hanging our kit up!

The food was simple and well presented although being served on cold plates meant that our food was regularly served at considerably less than 'piping hot' temperatures.

The challenge presented by low temperatures extended to the hot water 'burco' which failed to achieve boiling point throughout our week so a decent cuppa was sadly lacking!

The staff who, although young, were pleasant and generally helpful, did respond after two days of continuous fire alarms at breakfast time. The source had been identified as the DIY toaster positioned under the smoke alarm, however, as staff continued to serve breakfast without offering any guidance on evacuating the building we all assumed that there was no cause for concern on these occassions.

With realistic expectations concerning the location of the hotel we did experience an enjoyable holiday in the simple surroundings presented by The Ridge .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The conversations I had with Claudia on booking our trip was very helpful and friendly, offered personal service. For first timers to ski holidays this was invaluable. As a late booking Claudia suggested we leave booking lift passes/lessons till we get there. This was because we were unsure of what we required but also I believe, because it was half term, the lessons were all fully booked and it was left to the reps to deal with the fact that there were no lessons available and our dissapointment, which was unfair on them. At resort, we soon realised other 'last minute' bookers were told the same story, and realised they had bought a fairly duff holiday if they couldn't be taught how to ski!! We all muddled through and managed to get one lesson from EFS for 160 EURO (2hour lesson for two kids and two adults) which did not sound too bad if we had been taught anything other than following him down a blue run.
But with that lesson on the second day we managed for the following two days and really enjoyed our time. Lessons each day with a better tutor would have been preferable.
The reps did all they could to book our lessons, there just weren't any!!
The hotel was clean and our five bed dorm at the top of the annex was great, spacious, clean, warm with very comfy beds. No telly which was a bonus, but no tea making!!! Now that was hard!
The staff couldn't have been more helpful, Charlotte in particular, but all, I just cant remember their names. Yes all young staff, just told you where your room was and where food served but I recon you get what you pay for. They were more than happy to help with anything asked.
My kids thought the staff were fab. Would have been nice to eat a bit of French food, but we missed the nights where more French cuisine was served apparently. A daily visit to the 'Coup de coeur', near to the ice rink satisfied our need for local cheese platters and good bread.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Rooms very basic, bathrooms tiny. Rooms were not ready when we arrived although spoken to them the day before. Hotel staff half asleep, really didn't have the right information and no one seemed to be in charge. Never any hot water in the afternoon for tea and coffee - luke warm at best. Same for breakfast, luke warm water, poached eggs tasted of vinegar! Could be a lot better!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was clean and tidy, the staff were really accommodating , the food was second to none, 1st class food. It was a 10 mins walk to the town centre crossing a fantastic suspension bridge, which added to the viewing experience. Ours was an adventure holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ridge Hotel

Address: Route de Montriond, 74110 Morzine, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 55 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel enjoys superb mountain views and a fantastic location on the 'Sunny Side' of resort at the Morzine / Montriond border. It is close to the Super Morzine Gondola, and a 5-7 min walk to the suspension bridge which accesses the bars, shops and Gondola.We run private minibuses to shuttle you to and from the slopes during the day if you prefer not to walk. They are especially good for those that want to ski the Pleney slopes at the other end of town, but not so necessary for those that want to ski Super Morzine and the main Portes du Soleil area.The Ridge enjoys fantastic panoramic views looking out over the whole of Morzine and up into the mountains. The hotel has 30 ensuite bedrooms and a lovely modern, contemporary design with a rather chic looking bar and restaurant. There is a large sun terrace offering the same wonderful views of Morzine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.