We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and French owners were lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Bergerie

Save Saved
You added La Bergerie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Bergerie
103, route du Telepherique, 74110 Morzine, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 50 hotels in Morzine
A TripAdvisor Member
“Lovely and French owners were lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here having walked out of the worst hotel in Morzine the Rhodos. Caroline the owner was lovely with us and tolerated our attempts at French even though her English is zmazing. Cost small lounge with open fire. Superb breakfast. I had a dated 80's style room but my friends were lucky and had a modern refitted room. Comfortable bed. Underground free parking, superb location. Would definitely go back

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    10
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
31
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

stayed in la bergerie, morzine, with my partner in march 2010. The hotel is a fine looking building, especially at night when lit up. Inside its a warm and cosy combination of savoyard charm and modern touches such as solid glass doors and marble flooring. Board is room only with breakfast available for a sur charge, with the usual array of breads and cerials offered in the morning. The rooms have a kitchette in the corner so evening meals are either home cooked or the pricey eating out option. The room itself was quite spacious with the most comfortable bed i've slept in, in a hotel. The location was also very good just a one minute walk from the main chair lift. The added benifit of la bergerie was a fantastic outdoor heated swimming pool which was heaven after a long day on the piste. The staff were all friendly and helpful and spoke good english. The only possible downside was the price. 1400 euros for the week with an extra 160 euros for breakfast seemed a bit exessive. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2008

Hotel recommended by trusted friends with whom we travelled as part of a large group aged 8 - 65. Always self-catered before in Morzine which is a great place and where the stereotypical haughty French attitude does not exist........except for Grandmere in this hotel who spent much of her time eyeing us with a mixture of disdain and distaste and who subjected me at breakfast one morning, via the interpretation of the horrified and embarrassed receptionist, to a loud and angry cross-examination of some of our party's movements the previous night because an interloper had gained access to the hotel through one of the bedrooms containing the two teenagers of another family. Said family was sitting at the next table throughout! Apart from the fact we had nothing to do with it - indeed could have had nothing to do with it because of the time of the incident, didn't know how to get to the part of the hotel where it happpened and NONE OF US would never have behaved in such a way even in moments of extreme drunkeness - the way in which it was addressed, in public and when I was on my own, was a disgrace. It took me some time to even realise there was a problem and to ask why I was being asked so many questions. On raising it with Caroline, the owner, it turned out Grandmere was in charge overnight and had freaked because she didn't want a security scandal and had hoped it was one of us returning late! Needless to say, Grandmere's attitude towards us stiffened to the point of unconcealed hatred and icy watchfulness and altogether ruined an otherwise super holiday in a lovely hotel. I disagree with the comments about it being dirty. For a 3* I would describe it as at the top end and although it is a little chintzy in decor so what? It's an Alpine traditional building and Morzine is a farming village into which the skiing industry has been fairly seamlessly incorporated. Everything written by the reviewer praising it I agree with. Would I return? No; Grandmere's attitude and behaviour were unforgiveable even if her fears and hopes were understandable. Which is a great shame as we have been regular visors to Morzine in the summer, this was our first ski trip to France - we had always favoured Austria - and decided it will be our destination for at least one of our two ski hols each year. So we lose out on staying in a welcoming and well appointed hotel and the hotel loses out on regular repeat business. C'est la vie.

  • Liked — Location-minutes away from Pleney lift, friendliness save as described above, breakfast accommodates adults, kids, veggies, pool, cleanliness.
  • Disliked — See review!
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austrlian
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2007

I was a bit nervous about staying at this hotel after reading this review after I'd made the booking. However as soon as I walked into the hotel and our room - all of my fears melted away. It was just what we were after. The staff were also really lovely and spoke good English & did anything they could to help us. For instance I mentioned we coudln't get our radiator on - and they immediately brought a heater up after explaining how the radiator worked. We weren't actually cold at all - the hotel is always warm.

Our room was very spacious and clean and had great views. We had a family room and I highly recommend this option. It comes with a kitchenette and a bunk bed with a curtain that separates the 2 rooms. The decor is very cute with matching curtains, bedspread and pictures and all with the lovely wooden theme - exactly as you see on their website.

Morzine itself it great - lots to do and see and so many wonderful restaurants and coffee shops and a large well priced supermarked - Champion.. Unfortunately when we were there for the week of 7th January there was very little snow at Morzine but lots of snow up at Avoriaz - which is just a bus ride away further up the mountain. Morzine has free busese running up to the cable car at Le Pleney which goes up to Avoriaz every 10 minutes. La Bergerie is very well placed for catching the buses to Avoriaz as it is just across the road from the tourist information centre and the main bus stop. If however like us yoiu arrive on a bus from Geneva that only stops at La gare routiere - probably best to catch a taxi to La Bergerie if you have lots of bags like we did - otherwise it is about a 10 minute walk.

Caroline - the owner of La Bergerie is very welcoming & helpful and full of information. On the first night of our arrival they organise a free welcome drink in the sumptuos & cosy bar with nibbles with other new guests which was a really nice touch. Caroline gave us useful information about where to ski and hire our skigear from a shop that provides hotel guests with 20% discount. She also went out of her way to help us get to the gare routiere on out last day when it was hard to get a taxi - she got her husband to come and pick us up very early and drop us in his car to the station and wouldn't take any payment for this. In addition they have paid internet access which was very helpful & as we were getting regular calls from Australia so Caroline kindly organised a special direct line to our room.

The other great thing about La Bergerie - is that they have an outdoor heated pool - 26 degrees which was very refreshing and novel after a day on the slopes and something my 8 year old daughter just loved! For those who like pampering they also have a spa down at the basement level - which looked great I just ran out of time before I could try it out.

So I highly recommend La Bergerie - it is a 3 star hotel as are most other hotels in Morzine, but provides really good value for money with their week deal in a family room ( the single room was nowhere near as nice or spacious - well worth the expense of the family room ) - has great facilities, is well located but quiet, staff and owners are lovely and welcoming and our room was very clean with lovely fluffy bath towels and a beautiful view with a good sized balcony. So whatever you do - do stay here!

  • Liked — Thegreat view
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2006

Our family stayed at La Bergerie in Morzine in March 2006 and we will never go back to this hotel. The hotel rooms are dirty and the cleaning is leaving a lot to be desired (go here if you would like to clean the room yourself). The hotel claims that it is a paradise for children but unfortunately this is far from true. The hotel management is not pleased to see children at their establishment and the so-called "play room" is quite dingy and the few toys left are old and broken.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Bergerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bergerie

Address: 103, route du Telepherique, 74110 Morzine, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Morzine
#2 Family Hotel in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your La Bergerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bergerie Hotel Morzine-Avoriaz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bergerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.