We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chalet des Montagnes Jan 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Simply Morzine - Chalet des Montagnes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Simply Morzine - Chalet des Montagnes
Save
You added Simply Morzine - Chalet des Montagnes to your Saves list
50 TDM du Pied des Nants | Les Nants, 74110 Morzine, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 49 Morzine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Chalet des Montagnes Jan 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Having booked our trip 15 months in advance, I had plenty of communicaton with the Simply Morzine team and found them very helpful and flexible at every stage. As a party of 19 travelling from all over the UK & Eire, we had complex transfers from Geneva but the arrangements went smoothly.

We found all the staff delightful and attentive, from the resort manager Bee and rep Peter through to the chalet staff, nothing was too much trouble and the service and food first rate.

The chalet itself is spaceous enough to cope with 19 adults, but also cosy by the fireside after skiing. Dave the chef also coped with two birthdays and produced couple of cakes for the occasions!

All in all, a fabulous week. The chalet and the travel company are fully endorsed.

Room Tip: Top Floor rooms seem the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    6
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
50
8
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have just spent Christmas 2012 with 22 of our family and friends at the Chalet des Montagnes in Morzine booked through Simply Morzine and had a truly wonderful Christmas

The chef was exceptional and all the staff were so friendly and helpful I would recommend this chalet to anyone. The Chalet itself is really homely and plenty of space for us all to have a really lovely break with everything you need and lovely views from all rooms.

The teenagers in our group particularly loved coming back from a day on the slopes to the homemade cakes followed by the lovely hot Jacuuzzi

No complaints from 22 people , cant beat that. On top of that Morzine is a really great resort
Win Win

Room Tip: They are all good , the flat downstairs is really cool All the rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

If you are coming to Chalet des Montagne and looking forward to spending some time in the French Alps soaking up the French culture and indulging in delicious French cuisine you may be a little disappointed. The chalet is owned/run by a UK based company and this has a significant impact on the product that is provided to guests. It is certainly NOT French.
The chalet staff are entirely imported from the UK (including the cook). Not a "bonjour" or "merci" in sight. I mention this not as a criticism but so that others have realistic expectations of what to expect unlike my wife and I who found this particular aspect of the chalet very disappointing.

Rooms: The rooms are small with little space for much more than a bed and chest of draws. This was emphasised by the fact that our bathroom door and the door onto the balcony could not be opened more than half way because they hit the bed. the walls are very thin. We could clearly hear conversations (and snoring) of the guests in the room next to ours. The rooms were clean and serviced regularly during our 6 night stay.
There is a guest lounge in the chalet which provides a good space to mix and chat with others staying at the property but if you want to have some space away from your fellow chalet dwellers then your room is it.

Food: Whilst others have raved about the food at Chalet des Montagnes I would describe it as good without being memorable. The cook certainly presented some very nice dishes without ever managing to nail an entire meal. There was a disappointing lack of representation of local French cooking on the menue which possibly reflected the cooks English origins.
If you are looking for meals to simply refuel you for the next days skiing then you will find the portions geneous and the meals varied. If however you are wanting to sample local cuisine and enjoy French dishes you may be quite underwhelmed. The UK bias was exemplified when at breakfast one morning instead of being offered "French" toast we were told that the the cooked breakfast that morning was "eggy bread".

Location: The chalet is well located on the Morzine / Les Gets side of the town. It is an easy 5-10 min stroll into the town centre. When we visited it was possible to ski to the back of the chalet when returing in the afternoon but it is not possible to ski to the lifts in the morning. The chalet provides transport for those that want it to the lifts located in town.

Staff: Despite the above mentioned English flavour of the staff they were all very helpful and seemed to be genuinly keen to ensure that guests needs were met and people had an enjoyable stay.

General: I guess it depends on what your priorities are. If you are seeking a chalet that provides a good base from which to enjoy a week (or more) of skiing in the Alps and things like the food and local culture are secondary then you will probably be quite happy here. If however you are wanting to actually feel like you are in France and enjoy French food and engage with local French people then you would be best to find another chalet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimplyMorzine, Owner at Simply Morzine - Chalet des Montagnes, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting such a comprehensive review following your recent ski holiday at Chalet des Montagnes. This reply is just to explain why your holiday experience was not ‘authentically French’.

Coming from Australia to Europe to ski in a major resort, it seems that you were not aware that catered chalets are a unique concept largely for the British and Irish. French catered chalets simply do not exist as there is no market amongst the French people (the same applies for other alpine countries). The staff who work in catered chalets are almost entirely British/Irish, known as ‘seasonaires’ working a winter season in the Alps.

If you ever return to France to ski, the only accommodation that provides an authentic French experience would a small independent hotel (check they do not work with tour operators as most reply on foreign tourists due to weak domestic French demand). It is unlikely you would be served a daily hot dish at breakfast as in French ski resorts this is almost unique to catered chalets. For example if you asked for 'French toast' the waiter may give you a strange look and shrug their shoulders.

If your priority is to engage with local French people rather than international guests, you may want to stay in a more unknown village with a smaller ski area where the proportion of French clients will be much higher, as opposed to one of France’s renowned large resorts such as Morzine/Avoriaz.

We hope you find this of help if you ever return to the Alps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

If you haven't ever thought of going to the alps in the Summer, think again! I took my family to Morzine and stayed in the beautiful Chalet Des Montagnes (owned and operated by Simply Morzine) and had a fantastic time. Accomodation was excellent, food wonderful and the atmosphere in the chalet was great. There is a huge amount to do, we are quite serious Mountain Bikers so this was heaven to us, but we also did loads of beautiful alpine walks, swam in lakes, went scrambling down waterfalls and there was never a dull moment. The town was lively day and night and it was just a great place to spend the Summer - rest assured we will be returning next year.

Room Tip: Book early to get the best accomodation and look at catered chalets as they offer excellent value..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Morzine is popular for its skiing, but its a haven for outdoor activities in the summer. This place transforms to a place full of fun and adventure with beautiful sunshine beeming over the Alps. Chalet de Montagne is nicely located with a superb staff.
We went for the catered option and were spoilt with delicious food and free flowing wine for the evenings. Since the weather was warm food was served in their balcony which was very relaxing with a great view!
The weeks activities involved a trek up to Lake Montriod - superb walk and the scenary is stunning. Then we also tried the Fantasticable and white water rafting, that was great fun too. Paragliding on one of the days...but it is recommended to book this one really early as it is weather dependent.
One of the day we were taken to Evian which sits on Lake Geneva and visitors can also take the opportunity to swim in the lake.
A wonderful place to visit and there is something for everyone to do. Oh forgot to mention the Lugge rides and canyoning...yet another adventure! The holiday can be as active or as relaxing as one wants it to be.
And the Simply Morzine folks make it a very warm stay with a lot of help and guidance. They are very cheerful and friendly and the kids love their company.
The Chalet also has a outdoor hot tub, a luxury to chill out in after a long day out. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for the room right at the top of Chalet de Montagnes, it has its own balcony with great views ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We were a bit nervous of repeating a successful family holiday but the whole family enjoyed our week this August even more than last year. A week wasn't long enough and we all were sad to leave.
We repeated the cycling, canyoning, rafting from last year but added new experiences with zipwiring, new walks and outdoor & indoor swimming (in new pools from last year).
The Simply Morzine staff were a mixture of new and familiar faces and all, without exception, friendly and helpful - not too 'in your face' but always there when needed and providing a degree of care that always felt personal and never a box-ticking exercise. Each member of staff had different skills and experience but they felt to us like a team who were determined to make sure that everyone enjoyed their stay as much as possible. When the situation called for them to go that extra mile they did with good humour and boundless patience.
As we have three boys (14, 12 and 10) with different levels of energy the Simply Morzine flexibility & choice of daily activities allows for mix and matching. Good weather was a bonus but a lot of the activities would have been just as fun in the rain.
What was better this year?
1. The major improvement was the new covered outdoor dining space on the first floor. This meant that each evening meal was a relaxed event with the gathering twilight always changing the view of the mountains around you.
2. The food was even better than last year - less cream & more flavour with a spectacular midweek bbq and the best onion bhaji on the last evening. There was always a good supply of fresh fruit in the fruit bowl and a delicious cake to look forward to in the afternoon.
3. There seemed to better integration with the chalet and hotel guests next door so that there was a larger group of children for our boys to hang out with rather than their 'embarrassing' parents.
4. The overall costs of the holiday were the same as last year (when all spending was taken into account). It's not cheap but it did feel like improved value for money.
5. The average age of the children on our week was a little older than last year which was a better fit (and obviously complete luck). It was fun to have a family from the States in the chalet with us rather than being an all Brit affair. In our experience, if our children are active and happy then it makes for a much more relaxing time all round.
What could be improved?
1. The bycycling is quite extreme which is great for experienced riders but a beginners introduction would be a good addition.
2. Breakfast is finished at 9am. An extra half an hour would feel more like a luxurious lie-in!
3. There are loads of additional activities on offer in and around Morzine and although the Morzine Visitors Centre is impressive it's quite difficult to navigate through what's on offer, particularly in the excitement of arrival. Maybe a simple weekly guide along the lines of 'You might also like to do this...' sent with the initial information.

All in all, we can't recommend this holiday enough. It's not a quiet, romantic, ultra-luxurious getaway but a family chalet holiday in the traditional sense of fun, laughter, friendship and many happy memories. Simply Morzine made it this way and we're very grateful!

Room Tip: Go for the top floor - not the biggest rooms but the quietest in the mornings. The ground floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have a 7 and 10 year old who need action holidays otherwise they soon get bored and then they wind one another up!!!! This holiday was perfect for them..... they had a fantastic time, especially making friends with the other children in the chalet. We walked, swam in lakes, flew down water slides and so much more. The Simply Morzine staff are superb and accomodating. Nothing is too much trouble. Thank you Will, Bee, Paul, Katie & Emma. The food is excellent too... thank you Dave (Chef). We did not have a car but still found plenty to do. The Mulitpass for activities in the area is a bargain and the acces it gives you to the huge public pool is fantastic. (Gentlemen remember your speedo's... swim shorts not permitted!) We intend to return again once the youngest is 10 so that we can be even more adventurous!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Simply Morzine - Chalet des Montagnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simply Morzine - Chalet des Montagnes

Address: 50 TDM du Pied des Nants | Les Nants, 74110 Morzine, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply Morzine's privately-owned flagship Chalet des Montagnes is one of Morzine’s finest chalets. The chalet is perfectly located in Morzine; on the piste with stunning panoramic views yet an easy 10-minute walk from the resort centre. The chalet operates on a catered basis in both the summer and winter seasons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Simply Morzine - Chalet Des Montagnes Hotel Morzine-Avoriaz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simply Morzine - Chalet des Montagnes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.