We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better the second time around...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Simply Morzine - Chalet des Montagnes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Simply Morzine - Chalet des Montagnes
Save
You added Simply Morzine - Chalet des Montagnes to your Saves list
50 TDM du Pied des Nants | Les Nants, 74110 Morzine, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 44 Morzine B&B and Inns
Farnham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Even better the second time around...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We were a bit nervous of repeating a successful family holiday but the whole family enjoyed our week this August even more than last year. A week wasn't long enough and we all were sad to leave.
We repeated the cycling, canyoning, rafting from last year but added new experiences with zipwiring, new walks and outdoor & indoor swimming (in new pools from last year).
The Simply Morzine staff were a mixture of new and familiar faces and all, without exception, friendly and helpful - not too 'in your face' but always there when needed and providing a degree of care that always felt personal and never a box-ticking exercise. Each member of staff had different skills and experience but they felt to us like a team who were determined to make sure that everyone enjoyed their stay as much as possible. When the situation called for them to go that extra mile they did with good humour and boundless patience.
As we have three boys (14, 12 and 10) with different levels of energy the Simply Morzine flexibility & choice of daily activities allows for mix and matching. Good weather was a bonus but a lot of the activities would have been just as fun in the rain.
What was better this year?
1. The major improvement was the new covered outdoor dining space on the first floor. This meant that each evening meal was a relaxed event with the gathering twilight always changing the view of the mountains around you.
2. The food was even better than last year - less cream & more flavour with a spectacular midweek bbq and the best onion bhaji on the last evening. There was always a good supply of fresh fruit in the fruit bowl and a delicious cake to look forward to in the afternoon.
3. There seemed to better integration with the chalet and hotel guests next door so that there was a larger group of children for our boys to hang out with rather than their 'embarrassing' parents.
4. The overall costs of the holiday were the same as last year (when all spending was taken into account). It's not cheap but it did feel like improved value for money.
5. The average age of the children on our week was a little older than last year which was a better fit (and obviously complete luck). It was fun to have a family from the States in the chalet with us rather than being an all Brit affair. In our experience, if our children are active and happy then it makes for a much more relaxing time all round.
What could be improved?
1. The bycycling is quite extreme which is great for experienced riders but a beginners introduction would be a good addition.
2. Breakfast is finished at 9am. An extra half an hour would feel more like a luxurious lie-in!
3. There are loads of additional activities on offer in and around Morzine and although the Morzine Visitors Centre is impressive it's quite difficult to navigate through what's on offer, particularly in the excitement of arrival. Maybe a simple weekly guide along the lines of 'You might also like to do this...' sent with the initial information.

All in all, we can't recommend this holiday enough. It's not a quiet, romantic, ultra-luxurious getaway but a family chalet holiday in the traditional sense of fun, laughter, friendship and many happy memories. Simply Morzine made it this way and we're very grateful!

Room Tip: Go for the top floor - not the biggest rooms but the quietest in the mornings. The ground floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    5
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
44
8
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have a 7 and 10 year old who need action holidays otherwise they soon get bored and then they wind one another up!!!! This holiday was perfect for them..... they had a fantastic time, especially making friends with the other children in the chalet. We walked, swam in lakes, flew down water slides and so much more. The Simply Morzine staff are superb and accomodating. Nothing is too much trouble. Thank you Will, Bee, Paul, Katie & Emma. The food is excellent too... thank you Dave (Chef). We did not have a car but still found plenty to do. The Mulitpass for activities in the area is a bargain and the acces it gives you to the huge public pool is fantastic. (Gentlemen remember your speedo's... swim shorts not permitted!) We intend to return again once the youngest is 10 so that we can be even more adventurous!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Recently back from a week's holiday at Chalet des Montagnes c/o Simply Morzine. Trying to find a holiday that both our daughters would enjoy was proving difficult until I discovered Simply Morzine's website. Our girls said they wanted an activity holiday and that's certainly what they got! They did everything from paragliding, white water rafting, kayaking, swimming, rock climbing, ice skating and more. They said it was the best holiday they ever had and it was certainly one of ours too. All of the Simply Morzine staff were great, from Dave the chef cooking our delicious 3 course dinners, cooked breakfasts and not forgetting scrummy cakes (banana and chocolate to die for...), the reps taking us on activities (Will, Lucy, Bee) and Katie and Rachel looking after us in the chalet. The chalet was extremely comfortable, with lovely balconies to sit on and read a book, watch the paragliders float overhead or just admire the alpine scenery. Morzine is a great town, very buzzy, clean & with so much to do - you could never get bored here. We drove down from the UK and the journey was hassle free, though we did it in two days. You certainly could get by without a car as we only used ours once while we were there. All in all a great holiday for all the family, whether you're into action filled activities or just gentle walks and admiring the scenery. We'd definitely like to return. Thank you Simply Morzine for a great trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Our family (2 girls aged 11 & 12) have just returned from a 2 week stay with Simply Morzine at Chalet des Montagnes (July 2012). Simply Morzine were incredibly helpful & efficient in dealing with our booking & their airport transfer service was so convenient & stress free! We were met at the airport by one of their staff & driven door to door in around an hour.

We met quite a few staff members over our 2 weeks & found them all incredibly helpful, friendly & very accommodating - nothing was too much trouble really. Staff were available to organise local activities & transport too if required, or just to advise on activities, travel etc if you prefer to do your own thing. The chalet itself was very clean & comfortable with everything needed for entertainment whatever the weather - hot tub, sun loungers, decking area to sit in the shade, table tennis table, board games, sky TV, dvd player, pc for guests use, wifi throughout the chalet etc. We used both the family suite (2 adjoining bedrooms with a shared bathroom on its own situated just above the main dining room) as well as 2 separate double/twin rooms during our stay. Both were nice & comfortable - the beds were extremely comfortable - & showers were always hot. We were fully catered for the 2 weeks & had a gourmet 3 course meal every night - Dave the chef was just superb & very able to accomodate fussy children! It was so lovely to be waited on & not have to think about food, cooking or clearing up! Fresh home baked cakes were also on offer every day, as well as nibbles before dinner.

Morzine is a beautiful town with lots going on for all ages. The local multi-pass is a fabulous scheme - we bought the premium pass at E2 p/p/day & that then gave us free access to all lifts, local swimming pools & lakes, ice skating, tennis courts, trampolines as well as discounts on some other activities like the summer toboggan run, bungee jump etc. Younger kids will enjoy the local festivals & kids activities on offer in the main square & can swim, play in the lake or stream, go pony riding or use the various playparks etc while our kids had fun swimming outdoors & in local lakes, kayaking, splashing around under waterfalls, tobogganing as well as doing the more adventurous family activities like white water rafting, zip wire, paragliding, climbing, biking etc.

All in all a fabulous family summer holiday in a beautiful place with so many activities available to suit all ages - all made so much easier due to the incredibly helpful Simply Morzine team. Oh, & don't forget the fabulous food & the enjoyable experience of meeting & socialising with other groups during your stay. We all had a fantastic time & will no doubt be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Just returned from two week family holiday - two boys aged 7 and 11 - Simply Morzine gave us the best family holiday ever, self catering apartment perfect for the four of us, the staff made sure we had a great holiday going the extra bit to ensure all went well. Brilliant activities for the whole family - mountain biking, hiking, swimming in lakes, kayaking etc. You can either organise yourself or Simply Morzine offer a tremendous range of activities with a member of staff there to help.
Morzine itself was beautiful - swimming pools, chair lifts (great for exploring), local Market etc.
We shall definitely go back.........wish I was still there

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My family and I travelled to Morzine (via Geneva) to stay at Chalet des Montagnes. We booked our accomodation, which was half board, with Simply Morzine. We found the company on the internet and liked the range of activities they highlighted as possible on a summer holiday in the French Alps. We had a fantastic holiday, in a beautiful location, in a comfortable chalet, staffed by lovely people who gave us an exceptional service and were so attentive and patient with the children. The food was fabulous and plenty of it!. The children loved the hot tub, food and table tennis tournaments that they managed to rope guests and staff into (with no difficulty). All in all, a wonderful holiday. Our thanks to Mike, Will, Bea, Dave the chef and all the other staff. We would return without a doubt.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

An amazing stay at Chalet des Montagnes, excellent food, friendly staff and we had a most enjoyable stay. The staff really made a real effort to make sure we had a pleasant stay.

Two small negatives. For our ski transfer the driver didn't know where the chalet is, and somehow expected us to direct him to the chalet in Morzine, which was a bit strange, given he is the local and us the tourists. The ski in ski out is not easy, I wouldn't recommend it, it's better to take the chalet shuttle.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Simply Morzine - Chalet des Montagnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simply Morzine - Chalet des Montagnes

Address: 50 TDM du Pied des Nants | Les Nants, 74110 Morzine, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply Morzine's privately-owned flagship Chalet des Montagnes is one of Morzine’s finest chalets. The chalet is perfectly located in Morzine; on the piste with stunning panoramic views yet an easy 10-minute walk from the resort centre. The chalet operates on a catered basis in both the summer and winter seasons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Simply Morzine - Chalet Des Montagnes Hotel Morzine-Avoriaz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simply Morzine - Chalet des Montagnes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.