We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le Dahu, Morzine, Summer 2013: Poor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Dahu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Dahu to your Saves list
Hotel Le Dahu
293 Chemin du Mas Metoud, 74110 Morzine, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 55 Hotels in Morzine
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Le Dahu, Morzine, Summer 2013: Poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed in Le Dahu for three nights. Le Dahu wasn't what we were after but accommodation was hard to come by. At the time of booking it was all I could find but my expectations were high in advance, based primarily on the cost of the three-night stay.

I found le Dahu to be a pretty hotel but it was over-priced with a rude and arrogant front desk.

I've stayed in hotels and chalets in Morzine before (in a great place called Fleur des Neiges). I won't be returning to le Dahu although I will be returning to Morzine later this summer.

Room Tip: Don't accept room 103 - smelly loo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    28
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
43
39
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We arrived very late for a 3 night long weekend and were immediately made welcome. There is a quality feel about the place and we would have no hesitation in booking another stay.

The staff are friendly, attentive and speak excellent English, the answer was always "Oui". Breakfast buffet was excellent quality (particularly the homemade yoghurt compotes) and represents good value for money despite the 17 euro pp charge.

A mini bus is available to access the Super Morzine lift (nearest the hotel) and Pleney lift but we found it a pleasant 10 minute walk across the river bridge. (Tip: By choosing a ski hire shop near the lift you intend to use there is no carrying of boots or skis to/from the hotel if you opt for overnight storage.) Ski passes can be purchased at Reception.

We did not try the restaurant in the evening (40 euro pp), choosing to sample the village restaurants instead. Personally we think the owners are missing an opportunity, a wood fired pizzeria (say 20 euro pp) would do very well and would create a great evening atmosphere in the piano bar afterwards.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is a very homey hotel where I always feel welcome. Having come here many times, many of the staff knows me by name, and the owner always greets me as a friend.

The hotel is located across the gorge from Morzine, so it's a bit of a walk across the pedestrian suspension bridge to get to the Avoriaz gondola, and it's a walk clear across town to get to the Pleney side of Portes du Soleil. The hotel runs several shuttle vans though, so you can usually get a ride to wherever you want to ski for the day.

The ambiance is classic haute savoir, with lots of natural wood and stone. There is a small elevator that serves all floors. The bottom floor has a small indoor pool perfect for kids, a hot tub, saunas & steam room, as well as some fitness equipment. There's also a large room for storing your ski equipment and a game room with a ping-pong table. The main floor has the hotel restaurant, a spacious lobby, a bar, and another game room with billiards, video games, and computers.

Some of the rooms can be small, at least by American standards, but others are spacious, with vaulted ceilings and lofts. I believe they all have outside balconies as well.

One of my favorite things about staying here, however, is the food that comes with demi-pension. Every night the restaurant serves remarkable French cuisine. Each week, one of the meals follows the savoyarde tradition of large family-stlye dining, usually serving Raqulette. Friday evenings feature the gourmanderie, with a very fine 5 or 6 course meal.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Morzine enjoy very nice views. Best would be rooms on the southeast corner which also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I’ve never written a negative review... on this occasion I feel some of our experiences are important for potential travellers. Having had many wonderful family holidays in France summer and winter I decided to ignore the negative reviews. However, I must now agree with them. Decoratively this is an okay hotel (our toilet was very smelly rm 103) but I wouldn’t say our arrival was very welcoming. We were a party of 4 adults and 3 teenagers. When we asked if our teenagers (13,13,15) have some fries with their steak – as was offered to 12y and under – we were told NO (no great difference between a 12y and 13y old eating habits and my daughter does have a very varied palate!) When we arrived for breakfast at 8.30 (breakfast to finish at 10.30) and asked if we could have more pancakes we were once again told NO. We actually had complain! The evening menu was very sophisticated for teenagers and without menu examples online and absolutely no flexibility from the chef I would suggest if you are travelling with your children I would think twice about choosing this hotel. I found this hotel to be stuffy and unwelcoming which is unfortunate as I am not a fussy traveller nor do I like to complain and I absolutely love good food.... but rudeness is not an easy thing to complain about. The hotel is also some distance and uphill – fine for our party but if you want to be more central this is again not the hotel for you. If you are looking for a relaxing skiing holiday with your children/teenagers where you can ALL enjoy the beauty and produce/food that the area has to offer I would not suggest Le Dahu. The only saving grace was that they agreed to change our booking to B&B – perhaps the feeling was mutual!

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel... which was perfectly fine but no view.... our toilet had an unfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Le Dahu is a wonderfully run hotel. It is a real pleasure to find that wonderful mix of great service, efficiency, comfort, hospitality and superb food.
We were a small group of friends and Le Dahu offered a good mix of different sized rooms and also was unusually flexible in offering a 3 or 4 day stay instead of a full week. The communication with the front desk team who helped me organise things were friendly, fast and exceptionally efficient. The hotel is located about 5 minutes walk up the hill from the Super Morzine lift via a cable bridge and about 10 minutes walk from the centre of town. The hotel have an arrangement with the Intersport shop opposite this lift so you can leave your skis and boots in their boot room overnight which was very handy. The hotel does have it's own boot room as well and operate a shuttle bus down to the main lift if you don't want to walk.
The dining room and bar/lounge areas were lovely. Open fires and lots of wood created a very relaxing space and the bar area was also very pleasant. The spa area is nice, but the indoor pool is very small and the gym equipment not very good. Access to the steam room and sauna had to be pre-booked and was charged (9 euros) which was annoying.
The restaurant is superb with an imaginative menu and some very well cooked food. Breakfast was good, but more cereals/porridge and cooked food would have made it even better.
Our bedrooms were very warm, clean and comfortable with a lovely balcony to enjoy the superb view over Morzine. The staff were really great and very friendly/efficient and the owners superb hosts. Overall, a real treat.

Room Tip: Valley view side overlooking Morzine
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This Christmas was our third visit to this lovely Family run hotel. It has now been given an extra star, to become 4 *, as it should be, the only downside is that its now really busy!
The staff are really friendly, food is fabulous, rooms comfortable, though some are on the smaller size.
Great ski room where boots are on heated shelves. Minibus service to lifts and town.
Very good hotel for families, the children have a separate meal time, which is great when you don't have children and enjoy eating without small people running around, however we now find that it's more of a family hotel and we will probably go elsewhere closer to town, so we can always escape the little people. It's a great shame as we love the hotel, but as we get older and grumpier its best to keep us away from small children!

Room Tip: Room 104, lovely and spacious with good storage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Nice atmospheric hotel with super good and friendly service. Not as fancy as the Hiltons etc (we came to Dahu directly from Hilton Evian Les Bains), but overall much better.

I just cannot think a better ski holiday hotel for a family with small kids.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Dahu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Dahu

Address: 293 Chemin du Mas Metoud, 74110 Morzine, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Morzine
#4 Romantic Hotel in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like all the members of the Hôtels Chalets de Tradition chain, Le Dahu gives you the cosy comfort of a mountain chalet with lots of character, and a very high quality of service. You’ll get a warm welcome and the atmosphere is relaxed; the Heu family and their team will do all they can to make sure that you have an extremely pleasant stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Le Dahu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Dahu Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Dahu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.