We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very acceptable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Petit Cheval Blanc

Le Petit Cheval Blanc
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Petit Cheval Blanc
Save
You added Le Petit Cheval Blanc to your Saves list
20 Chemin de Ressachaux, 74110 Morzine, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 48 Morzine B&B and Inns
England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very acceptable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for one week in March 2013. As remarked elsewhere excellent dinners - 4 course with some fabulous dishes and a great cheeseboard. Breakfast typically French - you are given croissant and piece of baguette and ham, cheese, jams to add on table along with cereal/yoghurt/fruit. Rooms OK. Wifi - constantly dropping/non-functioning - you had to pick time of day carefully - only functioned in public spaces when it did function.

Location up hill slightly out of town and thus very quiet - previously stayed at Le Soly and found that was better for location and even better for food - it was fully booked for the week I wanted. Bus down path from hotel was only half hourly but by ascending through someone's garden behind the hotel one could get up to the main road to the Les Prodains lift and very frequent (10 minute) bus service.

Hotel heavily used by UK tour operator - Crystal. The proprietor spoke OK English and was very welcoming - the fact that a lot of the staff did not is representative that you are out of the UK - if you worry about these things go to Scotland for your skiing or US or Canada.

Wine on the dear side but that is typical of France and their cheap cote du rhone (although bottled and not carafe was dreadful) - my own fault - the local wines were much better (another of my rules of France - always drink the wine of the region or, if it is Brittany/Normandy stick to the cider....).

Would I return - quite possibly, if I go skiing in Morzine again, as the dinner was so good - but my jury is out on skiing in the Portes de Soleil - the extent is amazing - the travelling is irritating with bus rides (Chatel/Morzine), walks across village (Morgins), some horrendous old lifts and climb up hill to gondola station in Chatel.

Room Tip: I suspect some of the attic rooms as it is a chalet hotel do not have much in way of view as they ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    23
    13
    8
    9
See reviews for
19
16
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have stayed at his hotel a number of times when our children were younger and always enjoyed it. We returned after many years to a warm welcome from the owners, to meet up with family and to ski. The food is really good and individually cooked each night, if you are unable to eat what is on the menu an alternative will be available cooked specially for you. We would always prefer good quality French cooking like the PCB to the mass produced big but poor quality selection that is available in large package hotels. The owners Pierre and Regine are welcoming and courteous - the hotel is in a good position away from the noise of Morzine but an easy walk back.
Handy for Avoriaz and Morzine slopes the pool was nice to relax in after a day on the slopes and Regine helped us out very kindly when one of our party was unwell.

This would be our first choice in Morzine if we are to return for a ski break.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

British Tour opperators risk there reputation with this hotel ,only French speakers where welcomed never stayed at two star hotel before but if this is the bechmark , then pay more for a decent hotel its your one week of the year for winter sports
what this has going for it is a bus stop outside , A suppermarket down a very steep hill along with a few bars . bed was ok room was basic, but warm
breakfast a cheap continental , evenings meals was hit or miss somtimes uncooked
going out in the evening is not encouraged through key issue , but must say was a quiet hotel at night no drunken yobs

morzine is a good resort had excellent conditions , the bus and lift are very busy a lot of pushing

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Le Petit Cheval Blanc. Pierre & Regina run a very French Hotel and provide a totally French experience which is fantastic for those who appreciate the fine culture of France. I would most definitley stay there again as I really did enjoy the traditional French experience and they were very friendly towards me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This hotel was perfectly suited to what my husband and I wanted from our skiing holiday. Pierre and Regina were extremely welcoming and friendly throughout our stay, despite them having to deal with some very difficult clients. The rooms are basic, but scrupulously clean. The shower in the bath was a bit of a challenge as our room was in the roof so could not accommodate a full height shower hose but plentiful hot water once you worked out to duck under the shower head. The food far exceeded our expectations with a lovely 4 course dinner every night - no choice but we enjoyed every meal and this was not a problem for us. A nice touch was if you didn't finish a bottle of wine it was labelled with your room number and miraculously appeared on your table the following evening. Breakfast offered a nice choice of the normal continental options. Although about a 10 min walk uphill from town the hotel is right next to the bus stop, and once you've worked out the buses you can easily choose to walk or bus each way. This hotel made our hotel very enjoyable but - and this is a BIG but - it is not suitable for big drinkers and party goers. Unfortunately we had a couple of groups who partied hard and whose behaviour towards Pierre and Regina, and the rest of the hotel guests, was appalling with late night parties and unreasonable expectations of what a small family run hotel is able to provide. If you want friendly, personal service, nice food and wine and relatively early nights this is a hotel for you. If you want a 'Brits abroad' booze and party hard option please stay somewhere else in the middle of town. That way everybody will be happy!! Ps I've rated sleep experience as good as our room was in a location that meant we were less bothered by the partying than most other hotel rooms

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed here with my 15 year old son a year ago and have specified it to return to when we go back in February 2013 because I liked it so much. The best think about it was how French it was. Nearly everyone staying there was French which as far as I was concerned was a very good sign. I don't think anyone's was English was brilliant but for me that was the charm as it got you practising your French. The evening meals were amazing, elaborate 5 course affaires cooked to a very high standard and the breakfast buffet, varied and generous. It was basic but very cosy and exactly right for our needs. It was well connected to the town centre by a regular bus service.

If you want your holiday to be like anywhere else in the world or you require your every need to be met and a certain amount of luxury don't go here but if you want to get a taste of real french life this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the valley. It is a lovely peaceful place generally
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Spent great weeks skiing in Mozine. Went with friend and his 10 year old son.

Pierre & Regine (the owners) were delightful and extremely helpful.
Went skiing with Pierre on the Thursday which was excellent and managed to cover over 120kms of piste. His local knowledge ensured we were always at the right place at the right time. He can also recommend the best restaurants to eat in when on the slopes (very handy)
Food at hotel was excellent.
Quiet at night, not disturbed by an noise.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Petit Cheval Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Cheval Blanc

Address: 20 Chemin de Ressachaux, 74110 Morzine, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Morzine
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Le Petit Cheval Blanc Hotel Morzine-Avoriaz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Petit Cheval Blanc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.