We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem in the mountains” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Petit Coq

Le Petit Coq
Chef Lieu | Saint Jean d'Aulps, 74430 Morzine, France
0450796679
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 104 restaurants in Morzine
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Morzine, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A real gem in the mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

In a gorgeous location, set back from the main road in St Jean d'Aulps, this restaurant is a short drive down the valley from Morzine. Wonderful charm and ambience, quite unlike some of the larger establishments in the main resort. Although the eclectic menu may be small, it has a surprising degree of variety. Noodles, curry, steak, fondue, and so on. The four of us shared a lovely tapas starter, after which I had the beef stroganoff, with my fellow diners plumping for satay, steak, and scallops on a bed of noodles. Your choice is clearly in good hands: all were agreed that the food was first-rate - well cooked, inventive, and generously portioned. Overall, we had a lovely evening, with attentive, friendly staff, good food and wine, at a reasonable price. Unless you prefer the cheese-heavy in-and-out approach in the main resort, give it a try!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    10
    3
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best little secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have recently eaten at a great little restaurant in a small town near Morzine. The restaurant is called le petit cq and is tucked away off the main road in st jean d'aulps. The place was recommended and we weren't disappointed. The internal decor is cosy, quirky alpine. The food is great and very reasonably priced. The relaxed and friendly environment means it is also great for kids. Overall it is a great find and we will be returning

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great 5 years of eating at the Petit Coq”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We eat regularly at this restaurant during the ski season and have done so for now over 5 years -always great, freshly cooked food, friendly personal service and a lovely cozy atmosphere - always friendly and welcoming. Usually book an adult table and a childrens table - the kids love it....their Morzine favourite. Great Thai and other spicy food...a fantastic change to the cheese overload.....The pate included the tapas (old family secret I'm told !) is glorious. Absolutely recommended...................always book.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Not only did they accommodate an early booking for us but they even gave our daughter her starter just how she likes it. The food was well cooked, well presented and tasty. Service was great. Personal and attentive. After a hard days skiing the portion size was great and every plate was licked clean I do not usually eat puddings but had to try the sharing platter. A must if dining out in st jean or the valley D'aulps.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“'Great Place To Go'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We came here as a large family group, with young children, and they catered for all our needs. The waitress was very attentive, and the owner very welcoming. The restaurant itself has a lovely atmosphere and is suitable for everyone. We will definitely be coming again. A lovely restaurant.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Petit Coq also viewed

Morzine, Haute-Savoie
Morzine, Haute-Savoie
 
Morzine, Haute-Savoie
Morzine, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Le Petit Coq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Petit Coq, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.