We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All things considered” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Highs Chalet Joran

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alpine Highs Chalet Joran
Save
You added Alpine Highs Chalet Joran to your Saves list
242 Route des Ardoisieres, 74110 Morzine, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
1 review
“All things considered”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

There was everything you could wish for. Tasteful, considered decor, fabulously comfortable beds, attention to detail. Even the sun loungers made you feel welcome. Masses of room for our family of 4, easy storage and access for our bikes. Dave & Steffi made it easy to have a fantastic holiday both with their pre holiday advice and guidance once we arrived. Perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffi B, Owner at Alpine Highs Chalet Joran, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Hi Sam and family!

Thanks for such a nice review! Very glad that you had such a good time and didn't get stuck in the luge, even if Rebel did have a bit of a spill!

See you soon.

Dave and Steffi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Relatively new chalet. Nicely laid out. Great location. Enjoyed the decked area which always got the sun. Beds where comfy, pillows where not! Main bathroom really small and no window. Great for a short break with not too many clothes, no washer/dryer or Sat Tv but we had a great time, even on the rainy days. Morzine was fantastic in the summer. Squeak squeak..

Room Tip: Bring extra towels if self catering and be prepared to go to the laundrette even to dry things!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffi B, Owner at Alpine Highs Chalet Joran, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review and glad that you had a good stay.

Sorry that you needed extra towels, during your short stay - we normally give two per person and have now decided to make more available for self catering guests during the summer. We also do have a washing machine and tumble drier - shared between both the Apartment and Chalet. Most guests inquire about at the time of booking, or on arrival, so we don't heavily advertise it as it can get somewhat clogged with mud if over used with biking gear!

Kind regards

Dave and Steffi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in apartment Joran which was fantastic. Lovely decor and very stylish. Beds were comfy and lots of extras such as wifi, apple tv, sauna etc. Our hosts Dave and Steffi were very welcoming and were always on hand for tips and suggestions regarding activities in the local area and sightseeing. We packed quite a lot into our week stay so opted for catered and certainly had no regrets! The food was cracking, great choice at breakfast including warm pastries, then afternoon tea and cake which was yummy and finally a very tasty 3 course meal, which I'm struggling to pick out the best dish as they were all great! The curry on the last night was grand too...thanks Dave. All of our dietary requirements were catered for with no problems. The vegetarian in our group was very impressed :-)

We will definitely be returning as we didn't fit in all the activities, at least another week required and recommend going catered in the summer. I believe it's much better value, especially as drinks are included and of course the food was great.

Location was good too, just outside of the town, only a few mins drive. And in winter, it's only a few mins drive to the Prodains lift for skiing in Avoriaz. We hired a car which was ideal for all our visits and a welcome bonus was that pretty much all the parking is free in summer...happy days!

Lastly we recommend signing up to the summer Multi Pass scheme which the apartment/chalet guests can take advantage of. It's such great value at €2 a day each. It gets you into a lot of places for free including swimming in Morzine and the recently opened Aquariaz in Avoriaz which is great fun! And it also offers 20% off the slightly more expensive activities such as the High ropes course or summer luge.

Thanks again Dave and Steffi, we hope to stay again soon :-)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffi B, Owner at Alpine Highs Chalet Joran, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Hi Matthew,

Thank you for such a great and detailed review! We really enjoyed having you to stay at Apartment Joran and are glad that you liked the food so much! I think that you got 110% out of your time here and must have taken part in nearly every activity going! Brilliant weather too!

Really looking forward to having you back with us in the future and good luck with the baby prep!

Kind regards

Dave and Steffi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We have just spent a week in Chalet Joran with our 4 young children and I honestly could not fault it. The accommodation, food and especially our hosts Steffi and Dave were fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble and the activities available in Morzine are really great for young children. We will definitely be visiting again!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffi B, Owner at Alpine Highs Chalet Joran, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your review, Mandy.

Great to have such well behaved little ones and grown ups at the chalet! We had a great week with you and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again next summer!

Dave and Steffi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

A group of 12 of us stayed in both the chalet and apartment for one week in July. This was our second stay in a catered chalet in Morzine and I can honestly say that the accommodation was streets ahead of where we had previously stayed. Dave and Steffi are great hosts and will do what they can to enhance your stay. Morzine is excellent for mountain biking in the summer and it was good to see Dave join us for a days riding, he makes a real effort to get to know the guests. We enjoyed our visit that much that we have already booked for next year and I would recommend Chalet Joran as an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffi B, Owner at Alpine Highs Chalet Joran, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thanks for such a good review Richard! It was great to have you guys stay and I have since been doing training laps on Super M to keep up with some of you! We were glad that you enjoyed the Chalet so much and I'm loking forward to riding with you all next year!

Cheers

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

A group of 8 of us went mountain biking around Morzine and had the pleasure of staying at Alpine Highs. Being my first experience of staying in a catered chalet I can honestly say the service was second to none. Especially being met with a home made cake after a hard days riding. The food was absolutely delicious and restaurant quality. If you're going to Morzine then I really don't think you can find much better than this... I am sure we will be back again soon. Thank you Dave and Steffi for making us so welcome and for cooking up a feast every night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffi B, Owner at Alpine Highs Chalet Joran, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thanks for such a great review Simon. Wow, what a weeks biking that was! I think we really discovered some new corners of this amazing place for riding and the uplifts proved to be very worth while for everyone! Looking forward to having you all back out next summer!!

Dave and Steffi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

This was our first time in Morzine, a group of 4 wishing to make the most of a short trip for some late season boarding. Steffi, Dave and Rob were the perfect hosts from pick up to drop off (and a few in between) they made us feel super welcome. Dave was always on hand to get us to the lift, the supermarket and back from apres ski. His knowledge of the area was really useful, and he made sure we got to the best snow in the area. The location is great for Prodains which is the gateway to all the best boarding.

The apartment is stunning, super clean, super modern (apple TV) really quiet, and perfect for good sleep, and relaxation. The sauna is great for soothing aches and pains from bad landings in the park.

Thank you for a great weekend, and without question, we'll be back with our new family :) very soon!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffi B, Owner at Alpine Highs Chalet Joran, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Hi Andy!

Thanks for the review, it was a pleasure having you to stay with us and congratulation to you and Shona on the little one! Really enjoyed being out on the hill with you guys and glad that Morzine's snow beat the US for you this year!! Looking forward to seeing you guys out again, soon.

Dave and Steffi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpine Highs Chalet Joran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Highs Chalet Joran

Address: 242 Route des Ardoisieres, 74110 Morzine, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Joran is a superb, new chalet in Morzine, at the heart of the Portes du Soleil ski region. We have a 12 person Chalet and a 6 person apartment both offereing an excellent and comfortable base for your holiday. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Highs Chalet Joran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.