We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All seriously good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AliKats Mountain Holidays - Ferme a Jules

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
AliKats Mountain Holidays - Ferme a Jules
Save
You added AliKats Mountain Holidays - Ferme a Jules to your Saves list
Le Lavanchy, 74110 Morzine, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 48 Morzine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“All seriously good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I think all the other reviewers have said it all already! Just in case you missed it, the best bit by far was the food! Even as a veggie, there was absolutely no scrimping on effort or taste. Watch out though, it's easy to put on weight here!! ;p

Then, of course not forgetting, there's the hot tub, the fire, the snacks, the friendly faces, the cleanliness, the lifts, the views, the chalet, the.... list goes on and on. We had a great time and wouldn't question either returning and / or recommending it to friends / family. Thoroughly awesome trip :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlJudge, Owner at AliKats Mountain Holidays - Ferme a Jules, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Hi Sinclair,
Thank you so much for all your kind words - it really means a lot to us. It was great having the 4 of you to stay and getting to know you all and we would love to have you back!

See you next year!

Al & Kat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
26
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is a rave review. The food, service and accommodations were wonderful. Start with the food: Kat is a superb chef who provided a varied menu of consistent high quality and interest. In addition, there were always delicious homemade cakes and cookies available for snacking. Did I mention the wonderful pre-dinner snacks? Or the after-dinner cheeses? And the wine was plentiful and good.

We were a large family group ranging in age from 6 months to 70 years and every evening there was a separate pre-dinner for the children with its own menu. The kids were happy and so were the adults who enjoyed dinner without the worry of feeding the children.

The English-speaking staff is young, eager and able to please. Everything went smoothly and well. Transportation to and from the airport, to town and to the slopes was competent and reliable. Given the scope of the Porte de Soleil area, this is both difficult and vital.

The rooms are modern and comfortable. Everything worked reliably. The sauna and jacuzzi were welcome as were the robes and special towels provided.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlJudge, Owner at AliKats Mountain Holidays - Ferme a Jules, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hi Frank,
Thank you so much for your rave review - it is hugely appreciated! It was a really great week and we really enjoyed getting to know you and your extended family. We hope you are able to make it back again soon.

Take care,

Al & Kat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our group of 24 spent a week with Alikats at Ferme a Jules over New Year - the location is idyllic; the chalet very spacious (even for such a large group); the hosts and staff very helpful and accommodating; and the food absolutely faultless!
The chalet is about 10 minutes drive from the Ardent lift, with access to a huge ski area - transport to and from Ardent was provided by the chalet team, with times to/from very flexible.
The hot tub, sauna, home made cakes (and free wine!) were all much appreciated at the end of a hard day's skiing (or shopping in Morzine!), being followed by evening canapes and some truly delicious meals.
The food highlight was definitely the 7 course NY Eve dinner - a selection of stunning dishes with plenty of refreshments - real top end catering.
If all that wasn't enough, one evening over our pre-dinner drinks we were serenaded by chalet team member Leo, singing and playing guitar - all the way from Brazil to La Lavanchy - perfection!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlJudge, Owner at AliKats Mountain Holidays - Ferme a Jules, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Hi Sarah,
Thank you for such a thorough and complimentary review, we really appreciate you taking the time to write it! And thank you for asking Leo to sing for you as we'll, it was a real treat for all of us. We have put the video of him singing on our YouTube channel....

Stay in touch and hopefully see you next year

Al
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our family, extended family and friends had a fabulous New Year with AliKats. The chalet is delightfully located in the quiet part of Montriond a few minutes drive from the Ardent lift. The traditional accommodation is well appointed, clean and very comfortable with a living room big enough for us all to gather for pre dinner aperitif and canapes in front of the log fire. We had an absolutely superb and varied menu during the week which deserves special mention. Kat and her team even managed seven courses for New Years Eve, but every evening was excellent, with an ample supply of good wine. On our last evening we were entertained by Leo (one of the Chalet hosts) who is a very talented singer / guitarist. All in all we had a superb holiday and would love to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlJudge, Owner at AliKats Mountain Holidays - Ferme a Jules, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Hi Richard,
Thank you for taking the time to write such nice things about our chalet, we really appreciate it. It was a really fun week and we would love to have you back - perhaps next Easter?

Speak soon,

Al & Kat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Our entire family enjoyed a fantastic week at Alikats Chalet. Very comfortable and clean rooms with a spacious living room for everyone to hang out. In a charming area where we enjoyed hiking to the lake and into town. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Kat's dinner's should be Michelin rated - they were delicious and beautifully presented. This chalet was the perfect place for our family vacation!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlJudge, Owner at AliKats Mountain Holidays - Ferme a Jules, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Hi Bee,
Thank you so much for your fantastic review, we love hearing comments like this! It was so nice having you and your extended family for Christmas and create a lovely festive atmosphere. I really hope you can come back again soon.

Stay in touch and have a great 2014!

Al & Kat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Our entire family, which now includes grandchildren as well as cousins, enjoyed an extraordinary Christmas at La Ferme a Jules. The food was superb, and the friendly and knowledgeable staff went out of their way to accommodate us, skiers and non-skiers alike. We had an unforgettable holiday together.

Room Tip: The chalet is divided down the middle, with separate staircases on either side. The dining room sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlJudge, Owner at AliKats Mountain Holidays - Ferme a Jules, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Hi Ellen,
Thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our chalet. We are so pleased you and your family were able to join us for Christmas - it was such a great festive atmosphere and fantastic to have so many happy children running around as well.

We hope you will be able to come back and stay with us in the future

All the best

Al & Kat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Every now and then you come across a place when writting a review you wish you could give them extra points on the rating scale as it really stood out for a particular reason. This is one of those times and places. We looked so very much forward to our stay with Kat and Al and the team over Christmas 2012. Everyone was so cheerful, accommodating, friendly, provided good advice and AWESOME food. Despite getting a cold during our stay and not feeling 100% we still enjoyed ourselves and regularly reminisce of our time at the chalet. You truly will not regret staying with the team at Alikats!

Room Tip: Upstair rooms were spacious with a window for fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlJudge, Owner at AliKats Mountain Holidays - Ferme a Jules, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hi Team Bostock!
Thanks for writing such a glowing review - we really aprpeciate it. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your honeymoon and hope that you can make it out again when you are next in Europe!

Stay in touch

Al & Kat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AliKats Mountain Holidays - Ferme a Jules? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AliKats Mountain Holidays - Ferme a Jules

Address: Le Lavanchy, 74110 Morzine, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AliKats Mountain Holidays offer stays in their luxury catered chalet in Morzine, France. Ensuite bedrooms, hot-tub, sauna, bar, great food and pistes only 5 mins from the front door await you.. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AliKats Mountain Holidays - Ferme a Jules, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.