We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but with mixed experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Nyon

Save Saved
You added Chalet Nyon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chalet Nyon
Route du Vieux Moulin, 74110 Morzine, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 40 Morzine B&B and Inns
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good value but with mixed experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We travelled with Alpine Elements to Chalet Nyon for one week this August. Overall it was a fairly good holiday, although after having taken in all the information on the Alpine Elements website of a ‘Premium Plus luxury chalet’ and the good reviews on Trip Advisor since its refurbishment in 2011, I have to say I was expecting a better overall package.

There were some very good aspects of the holiday. First and foremost the friendliness and dedication of the chalet hosts (Daisy and James). If you decide to travel with Alpine Elements and get them as hosts then I can assure you you’ll enjoy the hospitality. Also the range of summer activities available in the Morzine area is good, and the local towns and attractions are well worth visiting. It also has to be said that the overall package is price competitive which perhaps had a bearing on some of the less welcome points of the holiday !

The chalet itself couldn’t really be described as ‘luxury’, I would say it is ‘adequate’. The rooms are quite basic. We had rooms 1 and 2 on the ground floor which seemed to be larger than those on the top floor – which were too small. We found the beds really hard and not comfortable and there are no windows in the downstairs bathrooms, nor balconies, so getting things dry was awkward as the heating was not on in summer. That said, the shared accommodation of the middle floor is quite pleasant although if the chalet was full with 12 guests could become quite crowded.

The immediate surroundings of the chalet are quite unremarkable. I’d suggest that the pictures on Alpine Elements website have been carefully cropped. The grounds of the chalet are quite scruffy with a lot of weeds and the hot tub is partially overlooked from the road above. We used the tub twice and it was okay, but certainly not in a luxury surrounding. The chalet faces out onto a very large car park used by walkers and companies taking people canyoning at the nearby waterfall. This seemed to be okay, or so we thought, read on…..

Probably the most disappointing aspect of the holiday was the lack of organisation of the reps (not the chalet hosts !),. One of the attractions of this holiday is the inclusive 3 day bike hire. We had extended this to 6 days before travelling, this itself required a very frustrating phone call to the team in the UK. Anyway when we went to collect the bikes in resort the local reps had no knowledge of our extended booking and asked me if I had a receipt to prove my booking ! Thankfully I did. We subsequently had to take one of the bikes back next day for repair as the brakes were barely working and unsafe – brakes being very important on these mountains ! The brake pads were worn out and so were replaced. Clearly the bike had not been properly checked before being hired out.

Another of the attractions of the holiday was white water rafting which we’d heard good reports of and were looking forward to. Anyway we waited, and waited, in the chalet for the bus to collect us, but it did not turn up. A mix up between Alpine Elements and the rafting company meant that we were left with no transport and could not get to the rafting. Now I know that these things can happen but the only way we found out what was happening was via our chalet hosts phoning around on our behalf as to where the bus was, no proactive contact from the reps. In fairness the company have provided compensation for this. I might not have mentioned this if it had been a one off but things were really confirmed to me on the last day of our holiday….

On the last day we were due to fly back late afternoon, and collected by bus early afternoon. We spent some of the morning chasing a mouse around the chalet that had made its home there – I hope they’ve caught it by now. Then for the bus, once again we waited, and waited. and it did not come. Again the only way we found out what was going on was by our chalet hosts phoning around for information., nothing proactive from the reps. The cause was a 7 hour flight delay, aagghh ! Anyway we decided to make the best of it and headed into Morzine for some afternoon tea. All was fine until we were walking back to the chalet and were surprised by a large convoy of trucks, horns blaring, heading in the same direction as us. On returning to the chalet we were confronted by the trucks, about 20 of them, in the aforementioned car park It was ‘Cirque Celine Zavatta’ setting up for business in the car park right in front of the chalet. Apparently this happens every few weeks in this car park in the summer. Anyway we were well entertained for the rest of the afternoon as the big top was erected about 20 yards from the chalet and the lions, camels, horses, llamas and goodness knows what else were brought out on show. The sights, sounds and smells around the chalet were certainly going to be interesting over the next few days, although my feelings would have been different if I’d been arriving rather than departing that day !

After yet more phoning by our chalet hosts we were taken by surprise when the bus eventually turned up. So that was it, an adventure holiday in some ways that I wasn’t expecting.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Date of stay 29/01/12 - 05/02/12

Stayed at chalet nyon with alpine elements and, despite a few small issues, had a fantastic break.

The chalet had just been refurbished and is in great condition with an outdoor hot tub.

Location is great for skiing, just under the gondola and almost ski back to the door. It is about a 20 minute walk down the river into town though. There is a shuttle bus during the day but not at night.

We had the 2 large en-suite rooms on the ground floor - the rooms on the upper floor are all smaller.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Date of stay was 5 Feb to 12 Feb 2012. It's a lovely, newly refurbed chalet at the foot of the Nyon slopes; a short walk to the Nyon lift, or a 4 minute bus ride into Morzine where the larger lifts go from. You can ski all the way back to a stone's throw of the chalet. Food was outstanding - we wished we could have taken some of the receipes, it was truely wonderful food all week. Rooms were clean and beautifully presented. Hot tub is a very welcome addition, which you can enjoy overlooking stunning views! The heating in our room (tripple on ground floor) was not working, but the chalet hosts quickly got us a little electric heater which did the job. Only other negative was the service we received from the Alpine Elements rep - apparently all activities (pub crawl, quizzes etc) were cancelled that week - not that we wanted to be hasstled into going into these nights but it's nice to have the option and enthusiasm from the rep which unfortuantely we didnt get. Overall, a lovely chalet and a fantasic family ski holiday.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012 via mobile

Date of stay 22/01/12 - 29/01/12

Stayed at chalet nyon with alpine elements and, despite a few small issues before departure, had a fantastic break.

The chalet has just been refurbed and is in great condition.

Location - wise, it really is great for skiing, but a short (and nice) walk down the river to town.

All in all highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

We stayed here for a week in January 2011 with a group of 13 in total. The chalet is located near the Nyon telecabine so very handy and you can ski pretty much the whole way back to the Chalet, with a short walk at the end. To access Pleney, Le Gets or Avoriaz you can easily catch a bus from very close to the Chalet which is very handy. The chalet is about a good 20 minute walk to and from the centre of Morzine, failing that you can get a taxi for 15 euros. The buses don't run very late at all.
The chalet itself was very cosy, warm and clean. Most rooms had either an ensuite or a bathroom accessed by one room only. Whilst three of the rooms had to share bathrooms. We shared a bathroom with the staff but you would have never known that was the case! The rooms were comfortable, our particular room was quite compact and with little in the way of storage but all of the other rooms were of a better size with more furniture. You spend very little time in your room so it really doesn't matter!
The food and drink was fantastic, you couldn't fault it in terms of quantity and quality. There was a great selection at breakfast and for dinner in the evening with some yummy cakes made for afternoon tea. The chalet hosts were lovely and really friendly too!
We made use of the hot tub every night. I noticed other comments saying it wasn't working but it worked fine for us throughout the week and was invaluable for those without a bath.
Overall a lovely chalet!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

As the title suggests, really pleased with this chalet.
I generally go snowboarding once a year, to France or Italy, with a fairly large group of friends (10-14) and we always go for the catered chalet option. Chalet Nyon was without question the best chalet we have stayed in to date.
The chalet was run by Alpine Elements and the hosts (Holly and Joe) were exceptionally good - friendly, helpful and down-to-earth. The food was excellent and there was plently of it. Also the chalet in general was very clean and well kept. Even the hot-tub was well-maintained.
The chalet is located at the bottom of a blue run and is within a stones throw of the Nyon telecabine. Not quite ski in/ski out, but not far off!
Assuming there's a bit more snow next year, I'd be more than happy to do another holiday inthe chalet Nyon.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

This 14 person Chalet is based almost directly underneath the Nyon Gondola, so you do have very quick and easy access to the slopes. It's a 20/25 minute walk from the main town and since the buses dont run at night ,its a pleasant way to go for a few drinks. Failing that you can get a taxi (which we never did but heard were quite pricey) , or pop to the local bar which is 2 minutes away.

In terms of the ski area, we found the best conditions to be over towards Avoriaz and Switzerland, so you do need to get into the centre of Morzine to get the gondola. The bus runs from 50 metres up the road, and is free, so its easy enough to get to.

The Chalet itself is adequate for a weeks stay in a ski resort. There is an outdoor jacuzzi, but this stopped working part way through the week - I would expect this has been fixed now though. The rooms do not have locks on the doors - so make sure if you use the main door to use the locking mechanism. We had the triple room on the ground floor, which is right by the front door and had no problems with security. Up on the first floor is the kitchen/diner/lounge and it's worth mentioning that the open fire is no longer useable. It looks like it has been damaged from previous use (probably too much wood on) and doesnt look safe to use. Again this wasnt an issue for us but worth mentioning here if that is a MUST have on your holiday.
What really made the week for us was the 2 hosts. A young couple from the UK. They worked extremely hard for the duration - getting very little free time to go and ski themselves (they only got a few hours in for the whole week). They cooked every morning (apart from their day off and when we left at the end of the week), made a cake for when we got back from the slopes and a really nice 3 course meal. Wine was free with the meal, and the red was actually quite nice...which none of us were expecting!

I'd definately recommend staying here this season if you're after a chalet that's not too expensive - this was comfortable but fairly basic - and pretty good value for money. As I've mentioned the food was terrific! Your rooms get cleaned on a daily basis too - and bathrooms - so the chalet is kept nice and clean at all times.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chalet Nyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Nyon

Address: Route du Vieux Moulin, 74110 Morzine, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning chalet, renovated in 2011 and in a luxurious alpine style of modern fittings and an aged wooden interior. Chalet Nyon is situated right by the popular Nyon cable car and ski slopes. It further benefits with a hot tub on the sun deck, and an almost ski to door location with superb views of the Vallee de la Manche.The chalet sits next to the Nyon cable car that accesses the excellent slopes up on Pointe Nyon, which holds some of the best skiing and boarding in the area! The ski slopes of Nyon almost run back to the chalet, (within 70 metres), thus offering the ultimate in ski convenience. From the cable car, just 100 metres away, guests can quickly and easily access the whole Morzine and Les Gets sectors without the queues. The home run back to the chalet is also superb, wending its way down through the trees to offer exciting skiing for all levels. The town centre is around a 900 metre walk, but a free shuttle bus stops outside the chalet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Chalet Nyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Nyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.