We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing like advertised” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Famille

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Famille
Save
You added Chalet Famille to your Saves list
1912 Route de la Manche, 74110 Morzine, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Nothing like advertised”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We booked Chalet Famille for Christmas with exclusive use for our family and friends, a party of 9. To say that we were disappointed would be an understatement. If you have booked based on the website and previous trip adviser reviews then you are in for a shock! If you look most of the reviews are one of reviews by people who have never done a review before which is always suspicious.
They was no warm welcome when we arrived and we constantly felt like we were an inconvenience such as requesting pick up times that didn't fit in the hosts plans, asking for a 2nd drink or another bottle of wine. We were told on arrival the hot tub was broken, the first broken promise. Whilst we understand accidents and failures happen, the hot tub was broken before we arrived but they chose not to tell us or make any meaningful attempt to fix. We understand that other chalets had similar problems but through the local network they were able to get them fixed. To be offered two bottle of champagne total value EU25 after the fact does not go anywhere towards the disappointment.
This is no longer an owner run chalet, Helen and Matt now run the chalet but they do it to fit in with their lifestyle and guests are not their first concern. The website boast’s that you will be enjoying the hospitality of a great chef who would be preparing great dishes each day. Nothing could be further from the truth!
We had booked exclusive use of this 7 bedroom chalet – yet they had let the largest and best bedroom to a sublet. We could hear someone else moving around upstairs and he and his wife would walk into the lounge at varying times to use the kitchen.
The website advertised cannot be compared to the reality: Canapés at 7 pm once on Christmas day only, no nibbles at any other time. We had to buy our own. Then having to ask “Oliver” esk more please for a 2nd drink. Christmas week and we needed to ask if a Christmas tree was going to be provided. The total seasonal decorations were one set of fairy lights. Happy Christmas! No fire lit for arrival night and limited to one log and not at key times like Christmas afternoon, in the end we have taken control and lit ourselves.
Dinner menu’s 3 star at best and nothing like menu on website, for example a pepper that contained a chopped up tomato with two slices of baguette as starter, sausages on a plate of lentils with nothing else as a main course, a child could have done better. Christmas dinner Helen served new potato’s roasted not proper roast potatoes, no pigs in blankets, cranberry jelly or normal accompaniments. Vegetables served boiled straight from pan with no seasoning or butter. I could go on as the standard of cooking was basic at best and food hygiene standards certainly not complied with: In the larder most afternoons we discovered a whole array of food left out that should have been in the fridge. At no time was coffee offered after dinner.
Frozen cakes defrosted not fresh baked. To add insult to injury we only had three cakes during the week, raspberry & almond, christmas cake and coconut cake as Helen choose to leave out old cakes until gone even though we did not like them. No fresh bread in the mornings. Every Chalet standard of Chalet I have previously stayed in has provide fresh french bread. When we asked for french bread a supermarket cooked frozen baguette appeared!!! No cooked breakfast on Saturday morning and in fact no sign of Helen or Matt until 9 a.m! so we had to get out milk, fruit juice and butter!
With regards to the accommodation two bedrooms had bad smells from their drains, two had mould and mildew one had water dripping from the ceiling probably due to the bathrooms fans not working. You need to unplug the TV to play a DVD and to be within 5ft of TV to change the channel.
Overall this chalet was a great disappointment we have since made an official complaint on our return as we wanted to give Iain & Verity Lea (the owners) the opportunity to put things right but their lack of concern in the initial response and no contact since leads me to believe they don’t care as they now have the chalet up for sale!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletFamille, Owner at Chalet Famille, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to enumerate your concerns regarding your stay at Chalet Famille. We take all feedback very seriously and have acted decisively with regard to many of the issues you have identified. Primarily, we felt, your complaints relate to the service you received from Helen and Matt, a couple we hired in good faith (both of whom received thorough training) and who seemed to understand the levels of excellence we and our guests rightly expect. Upon receipt of your email last week and on the strength of your comments, we went to the chalet and observed Matt and Helen at work. We were not satisfied with their performance and both have been dismissed as a consequence. In their place, we have installed a general manager/host, an able and well-trained chef and another member of staff to look after house. We would have responded to your email sooner but these matters have taken a few days to sort out and we have not had an opportunity.

As for your comments relating to our other reviewers, you have done our previous guests a disservice – they were moved to go through the hassle of signing up and their comments were humbling in their praise; to suggest they are ‘suspicious’ is unfair on us and on them.

Additionally, we do not and have never advertised a ‘7 room chalet’; we ask that guests limit logs on the fire as it is a very efficient burner and to use more makes the accommodation uncomfortably hot (in your detailed complaint, there is no mention that you were cold) and your suggestion that we knew in advance of your arrival that the hot-tub was not functioning suggests we lied to you, which is untrue.

We acted as quickly and effectively as we could in response to your complaints, many of which could have been avoided if you had been clearer in communicating your expectations (we would not be mean enough to deny you pigs-in-blankets, for example) and more vocal during your stay. You say (unfairly) that we don’t care to put things right but we have committed a great deal of time, energy and finance to correct what disappointed you felt. By doing this, we trust all future guests will enjoy their stay at Chalet Famille in the way so many have before.

Again, we thank you for making us aware of your views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    2
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
2
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oman
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

My husband and I are one of those people who love food, so we were a bit nervous when we book a week at the chalet, because we were committing to have two meals at the chalet and were worried of what would we do if we do if we did not like the food; but like the good parents that we are and since this trip was a gift to our children we said we would sacrifice.... we were so wrong capital. It turned out to be one of the most memorable holidays we ever had and a culinary experience to be remember.
We villa is very well located, near all the action. the rooms at chalet are just as the pictures on there website, I found them to be really lovely. What is different about this chalet in comparison to others is THE HOSTS and the FOOD!
We were expecting your spaghetti , your average chicken nuggets ( No offense to chicken nuggets) this was gourmet food at it’s finest. Three/four course meal, they even cook separate meals for me I was the only person there who did not eat meat, let me say my meals were as elaborate and as delicious as the other dishes that were served. And plenty of wine may I say. Even the children food was so amazing, my children ate and repeated ( Who are this kids I thought?). Every night was a thrill , the suspense to come home , and see what Verity had created. AMAZING is all I have to say; Ian is also an amazing cook and that was another happy moment of the day was his breakfast....Delicious! .
I love the place because they made us feel home ( with better food of course) , the children watch movies in the living room, made snowman and had a snow fight with the staff, . In one occasion one of my children mention marshmallows , by the afternoon marshmallows and hot chocolate ....they were spoiled.
Ian and Verity spent time with us , we shared lovely stories and had good laughs, but they also gave us the right amount of privacy. I can not think of a better two people to have such as business than Verity and Ian. I recommend Chalet Famille to anyone who wants to stay in a beautiful place, with amazing food and wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed at Chalet Famille for a week during february and we couldn't be more happy with the stay.

The Chalet is beautiful and spacious, with nice rooms and a cosy livingroom. There is also a sauna and a hot tub which are really nice to use after a long day of skiing. The Chalet offers everything you can ask for.

The service at the Chalet is great. The owners, Verity and Iain, are very nice and friendly and make you feel like home. They make sure you get to the lifts in the morning and back to the chalet in the afternoon. They prepare nice breakfasts, afternoon tea with fresh baking and in the evenings they serve delicous three course dinners.

I would definitely recommend Chalet Famille to anyone going to Morzine. It's a superb Chalet run by very nice people!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Our group had the most amazing holiday at chalet famille! The food was to die for. Every day we felt totally spoilt by the lovely family hosts, who made us feel extremely welcome in their home from the beginning. Would recommend this chalet to any families, who enjoy geat skiing/snowboarding, great food (cannot go on about the food enough), and a lovely comfortable chalet with everything you need!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

What can I say that hasn't already been said. Chalet Famille is a great place to be; Verity and Iain offer a relaxed and very friendly approach. I can confirm that dinner was superb with a good variety of foods and a great choice of wines. The afternoon cakes were delicious and very welcome after a day on the slopes. Our bed was comfortable and the room clean and warm with plenty of hot water and tea/coffee making facilities.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Chalet Famille and would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone who is looking for quality.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This is the second visit to Verity and Iain and it won't be the last. The first trip was over the New Year and the second trip this year, 2 weeks later in the season. Regardless to amazing snow conditions on both occasions the holidays were terrific made extra special by the fine dining and attention to detail offered by our hosts. Nothing was too difficult and everything was very much to our liking - from the daly cooked breakfasts to the hot tub in the snow. On both trips we have been a small group of friends and on both occasions we have been the only people in the chalet. Of course this has made the trips rather special. That said, I think everyone would get the same honest, attentitive and helpful assistance from Mr and Mrs Lee, regardless to who else was in the chalet. One rather important factor is that the chalet always seems to be a home. Whilst Verity and Iain are always there, they are as inconspicuous as you want them to be. A most enjoyable stay on all occasions.
Doorstep ski hire is good, Iains taxi service excellent and the whole experience - one to remember.

Room Tip: All rooms are quite and the entire location is beautiful and tranquil.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed at Chalet Famille in Feb with two children, one 5 and one 10. The accommodation was lovely, very similar to the photos, and Ian and Verity were the perfect hosts. Nothing was too much trouble and they even managed to locate my phone which I had left on a local bus!
The food was superb and Verity was more than happy to cater to the needs of the children at an earlier time. We would definitely recommend Chalet Famille to any family. Even though it is a little out of the town, Ian ferried us to and from and it was perfect for us.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Famille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Famille

Address: 1912 Route de la Manche, 74110 Morzine, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Famille is our privately owned and run luxury catered chalet in Morzine. Offering wonderful food, comfortable accommodation and truly fabulous skiing. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Famille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.