We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money, clean & friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Hotel StarLight

Chalet Hotel StarLight
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Hotel StarLight
Save
You added Chalet Hotel StarLight to your Saves list
Route de la Combe a Zore, Morzine, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 44 Morzine B&B and Inns
Northern Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Value for money, clean & friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

This hotel does exactly what is says on the tin...and some. Clarissa and Elderon offer very good value-for-money accommodation here and their hugely friendly service goes beyond this.

The rooms are basic which you expect in ski resorts, but essentially they are clean and comfortable and steadily being improved. New mattresses this year meant great nights sleep although being an old building it can occasionally be a little noisy with people coming in late at night. The food is quite basic, although welcome and really plentiful.

Clarissa & Elderon and the staff are so friendly, helpful and keen to make your stay as nice as possible. The hotel is within 10 mins walking distance of the slopes and town or there's a [free] bus stop outside the front door. I would definitely recommend this to groups of friends travelling together.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    8
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

Have stayed here twuce now for ski holiday. Elderon, Clarissa and staff are brilliant. They are always ready to help and offer advise. Will definately be staying again. Rooms are good size and are clean and bright. Both stays (in different rooms) we had a balcony and slept really well.
If you want a relaxing and peacefull break this palce is worth a visit.
Food for our December stay was not the best we have had but a new chef was about to start and judging by the reviews this has now been resolved and will ot stop us going again

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

Warm and Friendly atmosphere. Rooms are clean and comfortable.
Food is good, as are the homemade cakes in the afternoon.
Nice large lounge area with supply of films, TV channels and Wii.
Free WIFI is good too.

Swimming Pool (Summer Only) and Hot Tub all year round is just what you need after a day on the slopes.

Hotel is great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

I run Snowboard Club UK and stayed in the Hotel on the Saturday night before moving on to Chalet StarSki up the road. The Hotel is warm and welcoming with everything we needed for a great trip away for 50 here and 35 elsewhere. The main room hosted our Welcome Meal and Pub Quiz and Elderon and Clarissa couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating. The separate TV room was a comfy escape. If only the snow could have been a touch better the rear of the property would have allowed you to ski right off the mountain too. All good stuff.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

We have stayed at Chalet Hotel Starlight in winter and summer. The hotel is situated in Morzine, outside is a free bus service to the town and slopes, ( the town and slopes are actually within easy walking distance.
The hotel is a great addition to the Chalets run by Elderon and Clarissa where their high standards are maintained.
The hotel itself is a rustic building with some lovely features.A comforable dining area where good food is served, a lounge with tv, including sky and a smaller quiet lounge to relax with a glass of wine or two.
Meals are served by friendly staff where nothing is too much trouble. There is a small bar area, nicely furnished for that pre and post dinner drink.
The rooms are simply furnished with the most comfortable of beds and lovely linen. All are ensuite with either a bath or shower. A great bonus is the Avida or molten brown accessories.
The hotel offers a fabulous alternative to the well known expensive ski trip. Skis and boots can be pre ordered and fitted on arrival at the hotel, a real time saver.
Morzine is a lively town with night life aplenty for the energetic. During the summer months there is great walking or mountain biking. There is a bbq and swimming pool in the garden for summer visitors.
Over all the hotel is a wonderful place to stay and I am looking forward to a planned visit in February this year. wonderful value for money for all the family.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

For a trip to the mountains that is stress free, with warm hospitality and fine cooking, look no further. It is a small walk to all the lifts and centre of town, though you will find it hard in the evenings to pull yourself away from the cosiness of the place. The owners are beyond kind and hospitable, with no question or task too big or too small.
I cannot find one fault with the place, but can applaud the bar, hot tub and chocolate Labrador that greats you at the front door. Morzine is paradise in the alps and these guys are the gate keepers. Book it now!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-on-Avon
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

My daughters and I stayed over Christmas and had a lovely time. To be fair I messed the hotel about a bit over numbers but they stuck with me and sorted things out! The staff were constantly polite, helpful and fun. The food was great and Christmas dinner was glorious. Nothing was too much trouble (whatever the time). Our room was clean, warm and tidy and they went to great lengths to ensure we were happy. The hotel is within a comfortable walk to the main gondola up to Avoriaz but there's a free bus that stops right outside the hotel so that pretty much caters for everyone anyway! We were looking forward to using the hot tub but there was a problem with the pump and sadly the local tradesman wanted to enjoy Chrismas to........so we'll have to wait until our next visit to experience that! Also, great undercover parking if like us, you drive there. Can't really think of anything negative to say other than our room was a bit too warm if anything! As ever, Morzine and Avoriaz were great places to visit and the skiing was superb.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Hotel StarLight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel StarLight

Address: Route de la Combe a Zore, Morzine, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Morzine
Number of rooms: 18

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Hotel StarLight, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.