We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the food and the skiing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalets La Roche & L'Isere- Skiology

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalets La Roche & L'Isere- Skiology
Save
You added Chalets La Roche & L'Isere- Skiology to your Saves list
2311 Route de Ardoisieres, 74110 Morzine, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“It's all about the food and the skiing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We had a fantastic time staying at Lisiere for New Year 2012. Katy was our chalet host, who looked after us with fab cakes in the afternoon, morning cups of tea, pancakes an bacon muffins for breakfast and feasts for dinner. All washed down with plenty of free wine. The chalets are homely and comfy, with spacious bedrooms and plenty of space in the boof room for ski equipment so you don't have to store your jackets, helmets, boots etc in your bedroom. We would definitely book with Skiology again, maybe La Carroz next time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Esher Surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Recently returned from La Roche - what a fabulous chalet! We went as 2 families and we all had a brilliant time. The Skiology staff were friendly and helpful. Rose, our chalet girl was a great cook and had our kids eat food they probably wouldn't even try at home! (thats another star for Rose!) All food was excellent. Clodagh the ski rep was extremely helpful and patient and very knowledgeable of the area - thanks for skiing with us in the rain! We will almost certainly go again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiologycouk, General Manager at Chalets La Roche & L'Isere- Skiology, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Hi Sue,

So happy to see that you have re-booked to come and stay with us again. We are busy constructing a loyalty scheme which as a repeat client you will no doubt benefit from :)

See you next Winter

Dom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed at La Roche over new year and loved it. Great location for skiing in Avoriaz, could ski back to within a few minutes walk of the chalet and the lovely Clodagh gave us a lift to the Telecabin every morning (all of a 3 minute drive but still very welcome!). Not far from Morzine/LesGets ski areas either (thanks for the lift again Clodagh!). Chalet is beautiful and a great layout for our two families. Lots of board games, wii, books dvds etc available which was about all we were up for in the evenings after the long days skiing. We were so well looked after by the lovely Rose our chalet host - nothing was too much trouble. Food was amazing - kids had their dinner early which they loved and we had fantastic three course dinners while the kids vegged in front of the telly. Overall great chalet, fantastic hosts and a lovely ski area - couldn't be better!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiologycouk, General Manager at Chalets La Roche & L'Isere- Skiology, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear Anneke

Just quick note to thank you for your review and very happy to read what a great time you guys had.

Looking forward to seeing you again next winter

Dominic Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

Bit of a delay to my review..however....we really liked Chalet Lisiere. Decorated to appeal to British tastes- modern, stylish, boutique hotel -esque, but also extremely cosy and comfortable.
Great food too with some delightful afternoon cakes and lovely, well thought out menus.
Good storage areas for skis and boots, close to the honesty fridge where yoiu can help yourself to snacks and beer if needed.
Extra touches are appreciated - DVDs (when getting a bus into town just isn't that appealing) and games
Though close to avoriaz, in the evening the buses into morzine are very infrequent which is a bit annoying and makes staying in post dinner rather appealing

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiologycouk, General Manager at Chalets La Roche & L'Isere- Skiology, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Wow ! Thank you ! I am really happy to read that you had such a good time and only hope we can match or surpass it when you are fully recovered.

Wishing you a quick and healthy recovery

Dominic Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

We stayed at La Roche with our friends and their 2 kids. We had an amazing time. Many thanks to Mitch our Chalet host who made our stay very memorable. Mitch cooked us excellent 3-course meals every day (they were so good we had to ask for the recipes - so that we can try them at home!). All the staff were really friendly and helpfull. Skis were delivered to our door! lift passes were arranged and on the first day we even got a lift to the Ski Gondola up to Avoriaz. After the skiing there was a lovely fresh cake waiting for us each afternoon. The Chalet was very nice and even had a real wood fire. We will recommend this place to our friends!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011 via mobile

Stayed Christmas week and had an excellent time. Room was good not enormous but very comfortable. Service was first class and quality of food very high. Location perfect for Avoriaz lifts 10 min walk to warm up in the morning and can ski most of they way back in good conditions. Bus to Morzine very frequent during the day but after 6pm only 3 until 8pm. The only slight reservation would be that the size of the living area, when we went there were 6 adults and 2 toddlers which was fine, but with 8 adults it could be a squash. Overall excellent holiday and would certainly go again.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

We stayed four days in La Lisière with our two kids aged under 12 and two friends. The staff went out of their way to make sure that everything was perfect and everyone comfortable, kindly purchasing our ski passes for us and assisting with a door-to-door ski-hire service. The food was really very good. Mitch prepared us some truly delicious 3-course meals - nothing ever seemed to be too much trouble - even cooking a separate meal for the kids every evening. A lovely, home-made cake was there every day when we came back from the slopes. The only true problem was the amount of calories absorbed in four days!!!

The chalet was very comfortable and well-equipped with DVD's, Wii games, books and games. The linens all beautiful quality with super-absorbent bath towels. It was also very conveniently located close to the telecabine, a short ride from the slopes of Avoriaz. We really had a lovely, relaxing break.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalets La Roche & L'Isere- Skiology? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets La Roche & L'Isere- Skiology

Address: 2311 Route de Ardoisieres, 74110 Morzine, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described by previous visitors as 'Beautiful boutique ski lodges,' Chalets Lisiere and La Roche are in a great position to explore the Portes Du Soilel. The chalets sleep 8 individually or can be let together to sleep a total of 16. Each chalet has 4 bedrooms to 3 bathrooms. We provide a free shuttle to the lift in the morning or a lot of clients choose to walk the 450m to the main telecabine. The chalet(s) are only 100m from the free regular public bus stop. Normally it is possible to ski back to within 200m from the chalet. The chalets are operated by a tour operator who specializes in good food and were recently reviewed as 'Chalets with the best chefs' by Food and Travel magazine. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalets La Roche & L'Isere- Skiology, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.