We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge de la Combe a Zore

L'Auberge de la Combe a Zore
| 74110, Morzine, France
04 50 79 15 06
Improve this listing
Ranked #108 of 137 Restaurants in Morzine
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Onchan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Nice looking Restaurant, in main square. We arrived around 7pm and the place was pretty empty, it was filling up by the time we left. The Avocado and prawn starter I had was very good. Others had garlic bread as a starter which was sliced baguette and arrived almost burnt. I had the Fillet steak as a main which was 29 euro just for a steak, chips and a piece of lettuce. The pepper sauce was an extra 4 euro. Most of the rest of the group had pizzas, two of which were returned as they weren't what was ordered. Its expensive for what it is. There are better restaurants in Morzine.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    5
    6
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kettering
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not such good value any more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We eat here every year when skiing in Morzine, but this time were a bit disappointed... We felt that €23 each for fondue was a bit steep, can't remember how much we paid last year but it can't have been that much.... It was however excellent fondue, steak looked good too and much better value. Service was great, so really just the price that niggled. Another restaurant just metres away had fondue for €16, much more reasonable!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cashing in”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Very simple: 23 euros per person (min 2 people) for a fondue is a rip-off. No salad or charcuterie, just a basket of bread and a pan of melted cheese for 46 euros? We chose this over other restaurants because we've had good meals here before and they used to do fondue for one. They don't any more and they're overcharging for two people. To be fair the fondue was tasty and one of us had a steak which was very tasty- though 'salad' should be more than a lettuce leaf. A bottle of Malbec for 20 euros is steep too. Stick to the meat if you want to eat here- we think others are better not far away!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Fantastic service and atmosphere. Food is always of great quality. Great location in centre of Morzine. Must go!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Changed for the worse!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Having previously reviewed this restaurant as the best in Morzine we were very disappointed with a recent meal there. We took guests expecting it to be pretty much the same after the change of owners but we were wrong!
There seem to have been an extra 20 covers at least squeezed in - it was so crowded that it was impossible to leave the table once seated, and judging by the lack of a check back and the extremely slow clearing when we had finished, it was impossible for staff to reach us.
The food was not piping hot, side dishes arrived halfway through our meal, the garlic bread was inedible. Meals arrived on large plates with no garnish at all, pizzas were large but had a very mean amount of topping on, and a 6€ side salad was a handful of very limp leaves with far too much oil on.
The loos had not been serviced when I visited and there was paper all over the floor.
On the plus side the restaurant was buzzy and had a feel good atmosphere, and the staff were welcoming, but this did not make up for the disappointment of the food.
Sadly we will not be going back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Auberge de la Combe a Zore also viewed

Morzine, Haute-Savoie
Morzine, Haute-Savoie
 
Morzine, Haute-Savoie
Morzine, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to L'Auberge de la Combe a Zore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge de la Combe a Zore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.