We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Morin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Morin
Save
You added Chalet Morin to your Saves list
718 Route Des Grande Alpes, Morzine, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great place to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were part of a large group that stayed from the 7th to 14th April, 26 in all. At the outset, catering for this size of party requires a great deal of patience, understanding and skill, especially as half the party was children all of varying ages, food tastes, etc.

I have to say that Paul went out of his way to accommodate everyone's requirements, I imagine it must have been hard work ferrying everyone up to the lifts and back everyday, sorting out the minor breakdowns and leaks resulting from one of the heaviest winters in recent time. The food was fantastic, great variety, tasty and well presented.

The children really enjoyed the downstairs facilities, ping-pong tournaments a plenty against Paul who lost graciously, pool too. The hot tub was great after a long day on the slopes too. The chalet has everything, broadband access, games, TV, not that we used the Xbox or watched much TV as we were all out from 9-5.

Thoroughly enjoyable, would love to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We recently a booked 5 day/nights trip to Morzine, staying at Chalet Morin. During the organisation we were in constant contact with Helen who made sure that all aspects of the trip were planned prior to our arrival (transfers, lift pass and ski hire).

We arrived at the Chalet around 9 in the evening to be greeted by the team (Paul, Claire and Gary) and were made to feel welcome straight away. We were shown to our room (ensuite), this was cosy and clean. The ski hire guy then arrived and fitted our gear, once he had gone we settled down for our meal (during the intial communications, we thought we would miss the evening meal this first night, Helen mentioned however that they had catered for arrivals as late as 12.00pm), this was excellent and saved us fending for ourselves on our first night.

Breakfast the following day was again excellent followed by Paul dropping us to the lifts also arranging to pick up at the end of the day. As the other reviews have stated, nothing was to much trouble for the staff and they really did help to make this a most enjoyable holiday.

The Chalet only had 6 of us staying on our visit, this meant that on the Wednesday (the staff's day off) Paul took us in the minibus to Mt Cherry. We arrived before the lift opened and had a 1.5 hours on the slopes before other people were able to get over via the lifts, what a morning!

If you have a need to be right in the town centre then this Chalet would not be for you, if however you enjoy beautiful surroundings, brillant food and being looked after and don't mind a short walk to town, then Chalet Morins comes very highly recommended. We hope to return again with our families in the coming years.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great chalet, 30 mins walk from the lifts in Morzine. However, this was never a problem as Paul went out of his way to drop us off in the morning or pick us up in the evening. Holiday was for 6 guys in their forties! Chalet is split in two areas, which means family accomodation can be split from larger groups if required. Gary cooked us a fantastic 3 course meal every night, including a seperate cheese course, which was a treat, not to mention the excellent cooked breakfasts. Wine was included with dinner and was plentiful. There's an honesty bar in the evenings if you choose, after dinner. Nothing was too much trouble for Paul and Claire who looked after us whilst we were there. Paul will offer plenty of advise on best places to ski or board. Having a hot-tub was a luxury bonus every night - although I'm not sure the nightly ritual of rolling in the snow was really necessary! The chalet has plenty of space with a huge open plan sitting room with open fire if required and several seating areas. A seperate sitting room including play station and wii means that kids are also catered for. The big kids just used the downstairs games room with pool table and table tennis! The chalet has everything you need for a really pleasant stay with towels and bath robes provided, tea and coffee available all day and a lovely garden (including Claire's family friendly rescued dog ... just don't start playing fetch - you'll be there all day!!).
The chalet is not in mint condition, but it was warm, clean and the beds were comfortable. With that and a decent meal inside you, what more could you ask for?!
Can't wait to organise next year's trip to go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Fantastic staff who really made is all feel very welcome. The food was excellent every night. Will defiantly visit again. The chalet is not in pristine condition but is comfortable and homely and loads of space for large groups with children to spread out and relax.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Just had another week at Chalet Morin mountain biking. Paul (eyeball) looked after us as if were kings, his food is brilliant and when he's cooking for 12 big hungry bikers it's not easy. Anything that you needed help with Paul would be there and I'd he couldn't sort it he knew someone who could. The Chalet feels like home as you can just relax when your there.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh On Sea
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We have stayed at Chalet Morin regularly since 2008 both in winter and summer - with family and also with friends. We would heartily recommend it to skiers or boarders in the winter or to anybody fancying a summer holiday in the mountains, The chalet is massive and has all the facilities that you would expect from more expensive accommodation. Our highlights are the hot tub (in winter and summer), the games room, the huge living room and wifi and in the summer - the huge parklike garden which must be almost an acre in size. We always stay in room 1 which has a great view of the garden and the kids love rooms 6 and 7. The food is great - a cooked breakfast every day - with Heinz baked beans! - really set us up for a day on the mountains and dinner was always fabulous and plentiful. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, Paul and Claire who have worked at the chalet ever since we started going 4 years ago. The children always are well looked after and eat well, even the fussy ones. The chalet is not in the centre of town but just a short minibus ride to the slopes which is fine. We often see the same faces as many guests seem to return time and again like us. It is a very well kept secret - not luxury - but very comfortable and homely and excellent value for money. We have always received superb customer service both in resort and out - nothing is too much trouble and if they can do it for you, they will. I recommend the chalet to families with kids (you'll never see them) and friends.

Room Tip: Rooms 1, 2, 3, 4have great views of the garden. Rooms 6 and 7 are great for kids. Rooms 8, 9, 10 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We've now stayed twice in this chalet. Loved it so much the first time that we came back and we have certainly no regrets that we did! Paul can not be any more helpful if he tried. Nothing was too much trouble and believe me when I say we are quite a fuzzy bunch when it comes to dietary requirements etc.
Before the holiday equipment hire and passes were all sorted out by the chalet as well as airport transfers - making everything a lot easier from our end.
The chalet is excellent value for money. Although it is a 25 minute walk into the centre of Morzine there was never any issue with transport as Paul was able to drop off an pick up on request. The food was truly delicious and each day Paul made sure that everyone was catered for and was able to adapt the menu if someone couldn't eat anything. Exceptional all round and a very relaxing (if tiring) holiday. Would even be tempted to go back a third time!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Morin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Morin

Address: 718 Route Des Grande Alpes, Morzine, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
450m2 of living space 11 bedrooms some with triple / quadruple occupancy 7 bathrooms, 4 of which are en-suite Extra large lounge 550 sq foot with inglenook fireplace Separate large dining room seats 28 Modern Fully equipped kitchen (Self Catering) Additional large TV room / lounge with Sky TV and Wii games console. Large garden over 2500m2 Hot Tub with large deck area. Games room with Pool, table tennis, table football, and PS2 games console. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Morin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.