We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect budget accomodation in Morzine!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bois Vallons

Bois Vallons
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bois Vallons to your Saves list
Bois Vallons
202 taille de Mas des champs de la Plagne, 74110 Morzine, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 44 Morzine B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect budget accomodation in Morzine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

If you're looking at budget b&b for a ski or snowboard holiday in Morzine or the Portes Du Soleil area, then look no further than the Bois Vallon.
The host was friendly, the room and all ameneties were clean and tidy and the bed very comfortable. The shared bathroom is a little dated, and could do with a hook on the wall for the shower head at the very least, but there was plenty of hot water when needed! Breakfast was a simple/limited affair of orange juice, tea/coffee, bread with jam, yoghurt and fruit (not ideal for someone avoiding bread and dairy!) - but for the price we paid I wouldn't have expected a hot buffet breakfast!
Situated on the quieter side of the Super Morzine lift, you can be on the gondola in less than 10 mins, and the Pleney lift is only slightly further on, on the right hand side - a gentle walk back from the après bars that line the road back.
The well stocked "Ed" supermarket is 5 minutes away, and I can also recommend La Chaudanne restaurant at the end of the road.
I'd definitely book again!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Hotel very centrally located and although a little basic it is very good value for money. Madame Baud looked after us very well and I will definitely return to stay here again. Literally 5 mins walk from town centre and main pleney ski lift

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Thie Bois Vallon is very handy for skiing - positioned 5 minutes walk from Pleny lift for Morzine and Les Gets and 5 minutes from Super Morzine lift which gives you acess to Avoriaz and rest of Portes des soleil.
The accommodation is basic but clean, warm and quiet and good value.
We had a three bedded room with a balcony with a view of town and mouttain for the two of us so plenty of room. Never had to wait to use shared shower or toilet.
The lady who owns the place was lovely and helpful and she is french speeking but speeks it simply and clearly enough that we could always understand. Would recommend to others and go back ourselves.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Was a little concerned before travelling due to earlier reviews of the hotel. The Hostess was extremely friendly and helpful (even arranging a breakfast tray for our room on the day of departure as we left before breakfast started). The hotel was immaculate and more than adequate for our needs - our room contained 2 single beds, wardrobe, basin, bidet, table & chairs and bedside cabinet. Breakfast consisted of bread, jam, honey, fruit, juice and yoghurt - again more than enough. Yes ensuite facilities would have been nice but hotel was not full and limited bathroom facilities did not prove a problem for us. As to the comments regarding the hostess's lack of English - why was this an issue? This is a French woman, living in France! Neither my friend or I speak French but the three of us got by with a mixture of sign language and the odd word of English and French. This hotel was very good value for money and we would not hesitate to use it again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill Surrey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Four of us stayed at The Bois Vallons for a cheeky 3 day ski trip. My wife and I shared one double room, and my son and his Uncle shared a twin room. We chose this B&B because it was the best price I could find in the region, and it was significantly cheaper than other hotels in Morzine.

Now Morzine is a fantastic skiing area which links into neighbouring Les Gets and the Porte Du Soleil skiing region.

It is true that the accommodation is basic, and the facilities are shared as others have commented, but Mme was very helpful to us and allowed us to change into our travelling clothes on our last day of skiing. I can understand why some people may think she is abrupt, but I genuinely think this is due to only speaking French, and why should she speak English!

Our only criticism was the breakfast, it was a bit bland with french bread, and some home made spice cake, but there were preserves, honey and nutella, as well as fresh fruit and coffee. (It is true that the thermos jug of coffee was shared). It was just that the odd croissant would have been nice.

All in all we were satisfied with the hotel, it was exactly what we expected, and its location more than made up for any slight shortcomings the more sophisticated traveller may expect. We would return there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We booked very (very) last minute and were happy to find such a good deal for a guesthouse in the centre of Morzine. We stayed there for two nights. The rooms are basic but they suited our purpose as we were out most of the day. We were the only guests in the house and did not mind the lack of en-suite facilities as we had them to ourselves anyway.

The owner was a very friendly lady who did her best to accomodate us and to show us around the house. To me, the highlight of the stay were the two resident cats. I love cats and - as we were the only guests in the house - we would ask the lady to let them out while we had breakfast or when we were around.

We may normally be 5 star addicts, but I am of the opinion that when you go to the mountains for a weekend of ski and nice dinners out, you book your accomodation only 2 days before arrival, the fact that you have got a well located hotel with clean and quiet room to go back to is all you need.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

Positives first.... it was cheap and it's in the middle of Morzine! We got there at 1pm as planned and couldn't check in until 4 (she had gone out and wasn't answering her mobile) and it went down hill from there... The rooms are hysterical, you get a bed and a sink - no towels no soap, no shower, no toilet, no tea/coffee no NOTHING! The loo is down the corridor and it shared by all on the floor and the bath/hand held shower is on the second floor (which you can only get into before 6 and after 8). The walls are made of paper which means everyone can hear you doing everything - so be careful! The lady who runs the show isn't overly friendly and can't speak any english - we got told off twice and were told to take our shoes off before entering and they were too 'clonky'?! Breakfast is one pot of coffee shared by everyone in the joint ,so drink fast, and a french stick which she 'bread sweeps' from all the other tables. All in all it's not great BUT it was cheap and it is in the middle of Morzine, however my advise would be... pay a bit more!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bois Vallons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bois Vallons

Address: 202 taille de Mas des champs de la Plagne, 74110 Morzine, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bois Vallons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bois Vallons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.