We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chalet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chilly Powder

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chilly Powder to your Saves list
Chilly Powder
2740 Route des Ardoisieres | Les Prodains, 74110 Morzine, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Morzine
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Chalet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We had a fantastic week at Chilly Powder. Staying in their three bedroom chalet next to the main hotel.
8 month old niece and two year old nephew were very well looked after in the creche, while the big kids skied.
Easy access to the lifts to maximise ski time, sleds for the kids in the back yard and a great hot tub to ease the aches and pains from the day.
Food at dinner was excellent - thanks Curtis!
Chat, hospitality and breakfasts kept everyone happy - thanks Quill.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    13
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
103
25
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

There is so much to say so i will just jump in. From the moment we arrived until the early morning check out the service, facilities and most importantly the people involved with the chalet are just amazing. the parents are pampered with five star service but not in a pretentious way more like part of the family. I cant describe it really but with other companies the kids are taken to lessons etc etc but you feel its like clock work with less of a human touch, interaction and care. If you do not have kids you dont feel that more than 14 children are residing with you in the same place. and if you have kids you will enjoy the skiing and not feel guilty for leaving them behind. most of the previous comments talked about daily routine and fun so i wont go into it i just want to thank the team running the place Paul & Francesca for having such a place and for still being involved. Nick thank you for you care and sorting every request and Ben for helping along. Richi not just for the drinks but for telling us about the ins and outs of the villages and ski runs. the ladies at the crech for caring and running a tight ship especially Laura for taking care of our little monster Bader! rooms 10-10 service 10-10 the only issue which many commented on in previous reviews was the food but this is mainly due to the legacy Francesca left when she was doing the cooking! looking forward to going back

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

If you re looking for ski holiday with the below requirements, then don't hesitate to go with Chilly Powder! We just spent the best ski holiday ever in Chalet des Amis with our friends, and already booked next year!
1) your kids are taken care of (either in the ski school or in the own creche of Chilly powder)
2) you are served a 5 meal course dinner every night in your own chalet (meaning your kids are sleeping upstairs and you don't have to go out just enjoy your meal)
3) your breakfast is also served in your own chalet
4) you can jump into your own hot tub whenever you want
5) the ski cabin lift is just a 5 mins walk from your house
6) you will have the nicest and most flexible staff ever helping you out with whatever request you have

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Loved staying with Chilly Powder. All the staff were friendly, kind and incredibly professional.
The food in the evening was delicious and breakfasts were ideal. We stayed in Plans des Rochers, a perfect chalet for our family of 11 - bathrooms, beds, living area all spotless and very comfortable. Our host, Callum, couldn't have been better. Sophie's treatments were wonderful. Francesca and Paul worked incredibly hard all week - it was busy and there were one or two technical problems in the chalet - but they sorted these out as soon as they could. And they were very generous in giving us a couple of bottles of champagne which was unnecessary but hugely appreciated.
Skiiing was great, children loved the small ski school classes and learnt a great deal, mostly about going off piste and getting air.
Thanks to Chilly Powder for a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast,Queensland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This was our first family ski trip (two adults, 7yr, 9yr old girls). We stayed for two weeks in the winter room in January which gave us a bit more space which was great. We had a fantastic trip all round. The Chalet was really homely and in a great location in terms of ease of access to Avoriaz and also into Morzine as well. The staff are a real asset to this Chalet - all of them. We were made to feel instantly welcome, help/advice for anything was always at hand, nothing was ever a bother. Our girls loved Nick the ski helper, he was so lovely. Can't name everyone, but Ritchie the barman was great and deserves a special mention, as does Nick the manager who helped the girls set up their "movie night". Nothing was ever a problem from the friendly kitchen staff to the cleaners who magically transformed and freshened our room each morning. Francesca and Paul have done a wonderful job with this chalet which is why the reviews continue to rate it so highly, it really does tick all the boxes. Thanks guys:)

Room Tip: With a family of four, we really liked the extra space of the premier family room (winter room), mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We have just had the most spectacular time during our stay in Chilly Powder's Des Amis chalet (we left on 22 Jan 2014). Our chalet host, Quill, catered to our every need. Not only did his cheerful welcome warm our hearts, he also ensured that he warmed the hot tub too! Our personal chef, Curtis, served the most amazing 5 course evening meals, accompanied by excellent wine. Most importantly, the morning chaos of getting four kids ready to meet ski school instructors on the mountain seemed to glide by effortlessly thanks to Quill's early morning breakfast followed by Nick's chaperone service. Our kids (aged 7, 10 and 12) loved Nick, the coolest "ski dude"/ski nanny, ever! He escorted the kids from the chalet and efficiently handed them over to their ski school instructors whilst my 15 year old caught the hop on - hop off bus to Morzine for snow boarding lessons. We all loved the skiing, and the amazing views that Avoriaz has to offer, but we all particularly enjoyed returning to the chalet and nipping over to the hotel to catch up with the most friendliest people we have ever met, staff and guests alike. We have been home for three days now and we are still buzzing about our great holiday. I can't wait to go back, I have booked next year and the year after that.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
941ChillyPowder, Owner at Chilly Powder, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
I am so so late with my reply so I really apologize but thank you so much for staying with us at Chilly Powder and I am so glad you had such a great stay with us.
We are trying to get the amazing, coolest dude Nic to come and join us again in the future soon - Maybe next winter - fingers crossed! We will have another great team to look after you during your stay again.
It's now the summer season so we are already getting prepared for next winter and thinking of new improvements for the chalets. See you next season we hope
Best wishes
Francesca and Paul and the Chilly Powder Team xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We escapes for a short week away from Friday to Wednesday. It was a very easy transfer to the chalet and we were greeted warmly. The food in the chalet was excellent and the staff for always very helpful, especially Richie. I was slightly worried that having no children with us we would find it irritating having children around but actually we saw very little of them and those that we did see we're charming! Very easy to get to the Prodains express and we could ski straight back to the chalet. I would highly recommend this chalet two couples and families alike.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
941ChillyPowder, Manager at Chilly Powder, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
I am so so late with my reply so I really apologize but thank you so much for staying with us at Chilly Powder and I am so glad you had such a great stay with us. Even though as you say we are family friendly we also have adult only areas so that you can have your time as well

It's now the summer season so we are already getting prepared for next winter and thinking of new improvements for the chalets. See you next season we hope
Best wishes
Francesca and Paul and the Chilly Powder Team xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chilly Powder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilly Powder

Address: 2740 Route des Ardoisieres | Les Prodains, 74110 Morzine, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Morzine
#2 Romantic Hotel in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chilly Powder is a hotel but with the personal touches of a chalet. We have been operating ski chalet holidays of excellence since 1995. The genuine ski to the door location of our 2 luxury catered chalets with unrivalled in-house We are a 4 stachildcare facilities sets us apart from other ski chalets in Morzine.The pistes from Morzine Avoriaz descend straight into the garden and the main cable car opposite the chalet takes you to the heart of the Morzine Avoriaz skiing with the best access to the vast Portes du Soleil ski area. There are well over a hundred catered chalets in Morzine but only a handful can boast ski to the door locations. With all en-suite bedrooms, outdoor Jacuzzi, sauna, massage and in-house childcare in our crèche, the chalet is absolutely unique in Morzine for small or large groups or families with children or babies. The truly excellent cuisine, friendly staff and relaxing atmosphere of the chalet make it the perfect holiday destination and for our many returning guests it is considered a real home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chilly Powder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chilly Powder Hotel Morzine-Avoriaz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chilly Powder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.