We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chilly Powder

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chilly Powder to your Saves list
Chilly Powder
2740 Route des Ardoisieres | Les Prodains, 74110 Morzine, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Morzine
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Absolutely lovely holiday, my family and I really enjoyed our time in Avoriaz staying at Chilly Powder. This team are focussed on making sure you want to come back again and again. The food was excellent, the communal areas are really well done, and the kids loved the hot tub out the back, where there was a regular posse of twenty 5-9 year old children "relaxing" after skiing. Although it does cost a lot, circa £6k all in for a family of 5, at least its amazing and expensive rather than just expensive.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
941ChillyPowder, Owner at Chilly Powder, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review about us at Chilly Powder, I am so sorry it has taken so long to send a management response to thank you for writing a review about us. It is scary that the summer has already flown by and there is only just over 100 days until the winter season starts again. We are so glad you had such a good stay with us and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again at Chilly Powder

Take care

Francesca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    13
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
103
25
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
abu dhabi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Travelling with kids is rarely relaxing but Chilly manage to accomplish this! We just had our second visit and will go back. Our kids (age 3,6,8) love it and are very happy to go to the crèche/ski school every day. The nannies are lovely and keep the kids busy with lots of outings. The chalet is small enough that the kids can find their way around and feel comfortable in. I didn't fancy going to a big, noisy hotel.
The adults dinner served after kids are in bed is amazing and good wine selection also.
The road there involves lots of winding so give kids travel sickness tablets. Transfer from Geneva around 1.5 hours.

Room Tip: Safari suite had lots if space and would choose that again for our family of 2 adults & 3 kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
941ChillyPowder, Owner at Chilly Powder, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review about us at Chilly Powder, I am so sorry it has taken so long to send a management response to thank you for writing a review about us. It is scary that the summer has already flown by and there is only just over 100 days until the winter season starts again. We are so glad you had such a good stay with us and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again at Chilly Powder

Take care

Francesca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was the best holiday I've had for a long time.....and to say that a skiing holiday with a 5 year old and a 2 year old was relaxing and enjoyable will sum it up for you if you too are a parent of little ones. I actually got to have long relaxing lunches with my husband safe in the knowledge that my litte ones were well cared for and having buckets of fun. The attention to detail is second to none, the food devine, the nannies lovely and caring, the bar well stocked, the fire toasty, the faces all friendly. We will be going back....

Room Tip: Spend the extra pennies if you can to get a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
941ChillyPowder, Owner at Chilly Powder, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review about us at Chilly Powder, I am so sorry it has taken so long to send a management response to thank you for writing a review about us. It is scary that the summer has already flown by and there is only just over 100 days until the winter season starts again. We are so glad you had such a good stay with us and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again at Chilly Powder

Take care

Francesca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We chose chillypowder having read the reviews online and it exceeded expectations in every way! The chalet is beautiful, the service is friendly, patient and exceptionally organised. everything is sorted before you even have a chance to ask for it making this the first entirely stress-free holiday since we had children. Even though I'd forgotten to book ski school for my eldest and managed to book my ski hire for the wrong week this was all sorted with no problems once we arrived by the hotel manager nick. The food was delicious even the children's menu which managed to be nutritious and appealing to them. The wine was great with a good choice every night - the barman was even happy to open a bottle of the Rose I had enjoyed the first night for me on the evenings it wasn't on the menu. The nannies were fantastic (my usually clingy 2 year old was happy to be left every morning without the slightest objection and everyday they took them out on a different excursion, the highlight of which was a horse and sleigh ride). My four year old had an amazing time and was devastated to leave. The room was very comfortable and decorated in the same beautiful style as the rest of the hotel.

The skiing was fantastic with fantastic snow and a great selection of pistes for beginners and intermediates, the highlights being the well laid out beginners area for the children and adult beginners which even tempted my non-skiing husband onto the pistes for a few days.

The relaxed atmosphere and great facilities and service meant that even the non-skiers (children and adults) had a fantastic holiday.

We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My wife and I went here for a week last summer. We had a fantastic time, although CP can be a little hard to find for the first time!

The rooms are ample and very comfortable, with all mod cons. Cleaned every day as you'd expect but each has a different theme which is a nice touch and is very well thought out. The building is deceptively large with lots of seating and dining areas inside and out, an outdoor jacuzzi and a sauna downstairs. The staff were all English or English speaking, the owners, Paul and Francesca were always around with numerous children and pets and this made the entire trip very easy and leisurely, almost like being at home!

The staff were excellent too for ideas of where to go on trips out. Clearly they enjoy working in the area and had experienced some of the madcap things there are to do here. Brilliant for a restaurant recommendation or for booking some activities.

In the wider area there is plenty to do, Morzine has lots of good restaurants and there are plenty of trails available for walkers and mountain bikers, plus good rivers for rafting or aqua-planing nearby.

Would wholeheartedly recommend CP as a base to stay and explore the area and your stay will be delightful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Lovely chalet with very friendly staff. Excellent food. Great location for lift straight up to Avoriaz and skiing straight to the back door at the end of the day. Staff happy to arrange for rental skis and boots to be delivered to the chalet. During my stay there was a great mix of people including families and couples. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have just returned from an 8 day stay at the Chalet Hotel Au Coin Du Fue, it was our first time there and will definitely not be our last. As others have said it is like a home from home, only the food is much better. The whole team are brilliant, especially Nick and Richie. As a couple we were a little concerned that this is a Chalet/Hotel for families but with clever room arrangments and separate eating times we hardly knew the children were there and we never heard them at night. The general mix of guests was great, most had stayed several times before which reflects the great service. The location is fantastic as it is very close to 2 lifts into Avoriaz which then gives you plenty of choice, the area is great for all skiing abilities and I really loved Morzine and Les Gets. Well done to Francesca and Paul for setting up such a relaxed atmosphere and to the whole team for making everything appear so effortless. We could not have wanted for more. See you again soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chilly Powder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilly Powder

Address: 2740 Route des Ardoisieres | Les Prodains, 74110 Morzine, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Morzine
#2 Romantic Hotel in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chilly Powder is a hotel but with the personal touches of a chalet. We have been operating ski chalet holidays of excellence since 1995. The genuine ski to the door location of our 2 luxury catered chalets with unrivalled in-house We are a 4 stachildcare facilities sets us apart from other ski chalets in Morzine.The pistes from Morzine Avoriaz descend straight into the garden and the main cable car opposite the chalet takes you to the heart of the Morzine Avoriaz skiing with the best access to the vast Portes du Soleil ski area. There are well over a hundred catered chalets in Morzine but only a handful can boast ski to the door locations. With all en-suite bedrooms, outdoor Jacuzzi, sauna, massage and in-house childcare in our crèche, the chalet is absolutely unique in Morzine for small or large groups or families with children or babies. The truly excellent cuisine, friendly staff and relaxing atmosphere of the chalet make it the perfect holiday destination and for our many returning guests it is considered a real home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chilly Powder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chilly Powder Hotel Morzine-Avoriaz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chilly Powder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.