We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ski hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Aubergade

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel L'Aubergade to your Saves list
Hotel L'Aubergade
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   567 Av. de Joux plane, 74110 Morzine, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 55 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent ski hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Friendly hotel, excellent service, super location overlooking slopes. Lively friendly bar and reasonable prices.
Hot tub not too appealing-bizarrely housed in greenhouse
Recommended for both families and friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    29
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
27
11
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cookham Dean, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The team at the L'Aubergade have created what is in my opinion the ultimate Ski/Snowboarders Hotel. The Bar is the perfect spot for Apre Ski with its chilled vibe and great live tunes. The restaurant is quite simply incredible. Our room had been modernised in a simple style with new comfy beds and a re-furbished bathroom. The best thing of all though has to be the Staff - they are a great crowd, who see nothing as being too much trouble, and had great insight to all the best fresh powder spots. Can't wait to come back next year. So much so that I plan to take my family there for a summer break.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I booked the accomodation at the L`Aubergade through Mountain Mavericks and had a most wonderful stay in this efficient hotel. We were agroup of four adult men and wanted an end of season ski trip to remember and the hotel and Mountain Mavericks delivered in bundles!! Arrangments through Rowena were excellent and she made the booking and paying process so very easy to follow. we stayed in a room with one double and three single beds all very comfortable with lots of heat and hot water for the shower. Transfers from Geneva were waiting on our arrival and transported us to the hotel in about 65 minutes. The location of the hotel is excellent just by the Plenney lifts in Morzine and only a short stroll to the countless collection of nice little bars in Morzine. It was easy to ski into the hotel after a day on the slopes and just walk through the garage area to the drying and ski storage room (remember to take a pair of slippers to walk up to the room feet feel soo much better).The food was really good and consisted of cereal and fruit with pastries and bread and ham and cheese with lashings of tea and coffee for breakfast, and a hot selection at a small extra cost we never needed too due to the plentiful supply of pastries and the like! Evening meal was a choice of starters and mains with a sweet dish to finish, all were cooked so very very well by the chef clearly visible from the dining room if you wanted to watch your meal being prepared? The bar area had a live band playing and a good mix of local French visitors and the normal British party seekers. Bar prices were average compared to the resort although going to the strip of bars gives you the chance to sample happy hour on the beer front? Overall the price we paid and the service we got in the hotel from all the staff made this trip better than the previous years catered chalet and would be happy to recommend this hotel to all for a stress free break!(Ps the Hot Tub in the outside shelter was bliss for resting those aching legs enjoy!) Ski lift passes were booked through Rowena and were sat waiting for us on arrival and well worth the time of asking Rowena to arrange, go on give this hotel a go!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Having never been to Morzine before, we decided on it this time round due to the short transfer time (1 hour), and accessibility and variety of runs available across the Porte Du Soleil area.
The hotel couldn't be in a better position. Board in, board out, from the Les Gets area and a short walk to the Super Morzine lift for Avoriaz, it is bang in the centre of town, but about 150 yards from the noisy area. That makes me sounds old, but given the fact the more often than not I want to sit in front of a fire with an ale (limited in France!) or red wine, perhaps that shows good self-awareness! You can choose from a number of great restaurants and reach pretty much any area of town within 5 mins. We ate at L'etale a few times and it was really good. Cracking atmosphere and pretty reasonable French food. That said our main frustration was not eating at the Hotel L'Aubergade more often. We went for 3 nights and ate there on the last, and it was the best meal we had. In the food sense a move away from the traditional large scale chalet hotel catering towards the A La Carte end of the spectrum, but with incredibly reasonable prices, it is clear Ollie and Emma have really focused on keeping people in the hotel. They are getting this bang on, and try the restaurant first so you know to eat there again. Beef carpaccio to start and Beef tornado on rosti bed with ox tail cottage pie was superb and could of nailed pretty much everything on the menu given the time.
Nice touches like get your board waxed free if you spend 10 euros at the bar on a Monday night, a hog roast on the Wednesday which we missed and some good beer on tap, as well as superb facilities for kids, and a great environment for them, without it feeling like kids are around too much! That and I have 2, so good to get some adult time. Rooms are basic but clean as a whistle and comfortable, which given the price range is what you'd expect. If you want luxury try one of their chalets. For a really good convenient ski/boarding break, this has everything and I will be coming back probably twice next year.
In town check out Robinsons, and a pint of Mutzig. As a good friend said to me, 'the first pint is rank, and after that its like nectar', Coyote bar and Dixie bar for a beer and some shapes, and slope style for some shopping and you've got 4 days to a week of joy! MOrzine has a wicked vibe about it and I feel its kind of the place to be in the Alps right now. Cheers, Matt Lowe

Room Tip: Room 8 was fine and take some trunks as there is a hot tub out the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at this medium sized hotel recently and were very impressed by the staff and the location of the Hotel. This hotel has recently had a change of management and is undergoing re-decoration to the rooms to bring them up to date which should be the last piece to improve our rating to 5 rings. The location is at the foot of the slopes on the main road through town. Get a room at the back if possible as these overlook the mountain. There is a very nice deck area at the back of the hotel with comfy sofas for those sunny afternoons. The food both evening and breakfast was very good with plenty of choice together with good and friendly service.
I was pleased to receive a follow up email from Rowena to see what we thought of the hotel, these guys obviously want return business and in our opinion are going the right way about it. Keep up the good work, communication and standards guys and we will be happy to stay again.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back as these look over the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice , fun bar with lots of people. Barman produced an excellent tonic and Angostura with orange slice without a quibble. Good red wine by the glass too. Restaurant is off the bar and could be noisy ?
Great loos as well !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The whole vibe of the hotel is great all down to the amazingly friendly, sociable and willing staff. The team spirit that Emma and Ollie (owners) have engendered throughout makes for such a great feeling.
The restaurant food was excellent - don't be put off by the fact that it is not a chinzy little restaurant - you've got views of the slopes, great staff, fantastic food and a lovely ambiance. The adjacent bar is great for chilling and having a pre-dinner drink or a post dinner session!!
Highly recommend it.
Have not stayed in the hotel but will be returning to Morzine and will stay at L'Aubergade for sure - the convenience of skiing back to the hotel for a hot chocolate or lunch is ideal. And it is then only a 2 minute walk to Le Pleney lift station.

All in all a great hotel/restaurant and I would highly recommend it. Wonderful - well done everyone for making the week.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel L'Aubergade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Aubergade

Address: 567 Av. de Joux plane, 74110 Morzine, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 55 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel L'Aubergade 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Aubergade hotel, at the heart of Morzine, at the bottom of the Pleney slope is the ideal location for your ski and summer holidays. A small family run hotel providing tailored, personal and honest accommodation in an incredible setting. Open for lunch, apres-ski and in the evening, our bar offers a great place to relax between your days activities and to enjoy the sun on our slope side terrace. We stock some great real ales and our cocktails are becoming legendary. Our restaurant is also open all day, with a menu that has been chosen with great care and passion by our chefs. Offering quick and tasty lunches and fine dining in the evenings we also organise regular gastronomic events from hog roasts to traditional savoyard evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hotel L'Aubergade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Aubergade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.