We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good food, lovely place for a mountain break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Aubergade

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel L'Aubergade to your Saves list
Hotel L'Aubergade
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   567 Av. de Joux plane, 74110 Morzine, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 55 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sheffield
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great location, good food, lovely place for a mountain break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Just arrived home from a 5 day trip to Morzine ( End of March 2012 ). I would be happy to recommend this hotel. Location is excellent, about 100m to the main Pleney telecabine lift for access to the Morzine/Les Get slopes. It's terrace opens out on to the nursery slopes and the main ESF Piou Piou kiddie ski-school is right next door so perfect for parents.

Only Rooms 2 - 6 have access to the huge sun balcony, so try and ask for one of those. Rooms ( we were in number 2 ) are small, though average size for most ski resorts, furnishings are simple, though the bed was very comfortable and the ensuite shower room was a decent enough size.

There was an added advantage of an hdmi tv, not for watching but for playing back our photos and videos we had taken during the day.

Breakfast is simple, just bread, cheese, ham, cornflakes, juice, tea and coffee so perhaps something extra could be added to the menu. We were staying half board and were not dissappointed with the evening meals. Most were 3 course, local savoyard fare, very tasty and always more than enough to eat and I have a huge appetite. We had lunch at the restaurant one afternoon and the price was favourable compared to the mountain area eateries.

There is also a large undercover jacuzzi/hot tub. We were the only ones to make use of this and yet it had enough room to seat 6 or 8.

We took advantage of the paragliders that land in the grounds and had an amazing 1 hour flight over Morzine and Avoriaz. Unbelievable experience.

Staff speak french with very very little english, but they are helpful and friendly. The manager speaks a modicum of english

Room Tip: Room 2 to 6 on the first floor have access to a large private sun terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    29
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
27
11
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Location location location!
Right on the Pleney slopes beside the kids ski nursery, this hotel provides good lunches and post skiing crepes in the afternoon. The owner allows paragliders to land on his plot, which adds to the wonder and excitement for kids and adults.
The staff were friendly and helpful, and the place was very clean.
On the down side, the place has not been redecorated since about 1975, and although the food was great most nights, there were a couple of meals that were quite disappointing. Milk was on request, one litre at a time for the whole room at breakfast, so the breakfast system probably needs reviewed.
It's clearly a family enterprise, where they work hard to deliver a good holiday, but where a few odd habits have developed without anyone realising it.
It could so easily be a great Auberge-hotel, once there is a refurbishment and a review of the evening menu.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Great location, 100m from one main lift station and 600m from one going up to other side of valley. Ski hire and ski school next door. Rooms pretty basic but clean. Very small bathrooms but also clean. Breakfast a bit spare but dinner very good. No choice but decent cooking and friendly server ( owner?). Not glamorous but not bad as a place for a ski weekend with friends.

Room Tip: Malke sure you ask for ensuite, as there seem to be communal toilets on each floor so that may mean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Our party of 7 stayed 4 nights half board for a ski holiday. It was the cheapest hotel by quite a gap that I could find for the location.
It's location was great - ski rental right next door, 3 minute walk to gondolar or the town centre, and you can ski right to the back door of the hotel. Perfect.
For half board you don't get a choice of food, which we found very refreshing, as it was a surprise and the food was consistently good, with a waitress we had fun with.
Rooms are basic and on the small side but were ensuite with balconies, but this didn't bother us for the other plus points.
Staff were friendly and it was clean.
We would recommend it for a ski trip.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Please note that I did not stay at the hotel, and this review solely reflects our experience at the hotel restaurant.

We had two excellent meals here while on a family ski trip. Although we were unable to get in to many nearby hotel restaurants, which only catered to guests, the hotel graciously accepted us on short notice here. The dining room is sparse but has a nice open kitchen with a good view of the two chefs practicing their craft. Most in our group had moderate French fluency, and the waitress was very accommodating, friendly, and helpful in communicating with us.

The food was well-priced and fantastic. The specials on each night, chicken and roast beef, were both fresh, well prepared, and of good portion sides. Each night, fondue was ordered at the table and it was really quite excellent - one of the best we had during our stay. Everyone enjoyed their salads and appetizers. Additionally, the creme brulee for dessert was pretty unreal.

The menu is a bit limited and not too fancy; that being said if you are interesting in a well-priced, casual, but very solid meal, this place is a good bet. The food and the service is what brought us back for a second visit, and we were not disappointed with out choice to return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Just returned from a ski holiday with a group of friends staying at the Hotel Aubergade. We booked it for the half term week. The main reasons for choice were location, price and availability over this week. This hotel is French and unashamedly so. It is run by a French family who all seem to work in the business. The location is excellent, a short distance from ski lifts, next door to ESF, ski in the back door in evening and a short walk to the town centre in Morzine. For the cost, accommodation is adequate with en suite bathrooms, clean and comfortable beds. Breakfast basic but evening food substantial varied and local. Accommodation a little dated but part of the charm. Plumbing could do with some work! Wouldn't want to see this place change greatly and we very much enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Rooms 2, 3 and 4 have nice balconies overlooking ski slopes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

We had a four night stay in the hotel on a half board basis. The rooms were basic but clean, the first night there was not enough hot water for a shower which was annoying for a ski holiday, but a short wait saw the position rectified. The breakfasts were a little too simple, but the dinners were wonderful. Very tasty home cooked food. The location was brilliant - a short walk to the Pleney lift and the more trendy bars in an evening and the staff were very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel L'Aubergade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Aubergade

Address: 567 Av. de Joux plane, 74110 Morzine, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 55 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel L'Aubergade 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Aubergade hotel, at the heart of Morzine, at the bottom of the Pleney slope is the ideal location for your ski and summer holidays. A small family run hotel providing tailored, personal and honest accommodation in an incredible setting. Open for lunch, apres-ski and in the evening, our bar offers a great place to relax between your days activities and to enjoy the sun on our slope side terrace. We stock some great real ales and our cocktails are becoming legendary. Our restaurant is also open all day, with a menu that has been chosen with great care and passion by our chefs. Offering quick and tasty lunches and fine dining in the evenings we also organise regular gastronomic events from hog roasts to traditional savoyard evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hotel L'Aubergade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Aubergade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.