We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mark & Jenny - Home from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Equipe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel L'Equipe to your Saves list
Hotel L'Equipe
Place du Telepherique, 74110 Morzine, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 55 Hotels in Morzine
london
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mark & Jenny - Home from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Having stayed in Morzine for the past four years and having various problems each year, it was a pleasure to find this little gem of a haven. ALL the staff were friendly, food, service and all amenities were excellent. A must for any visitor to Morzine, even as a non resident. My wife and I shall be going back, again and again. All my wife's accessable requirements were more than catered for, including the roll in, wet room, shower facilities. All we needed was provided by management on request.

Room Tip: Talk freely to the Management when you book, they will more than help you select your perfect room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    23
    8
    9
    4
See reviews for
31
25
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Our family recently stayed at this little gem of a hotel over half-term break in February. We had never been to Morzine to ski and as a family with 2 little girls, we were in need of ski in/ski out. We came upon L'Equipe quite by chance and upon arrival, were delighted with our choice. We travel frequently and usually stay at 4 or 5 star hotels and were rather uncertain about what to expect. We late-booked the last 2 interconnecting rooms, taking a gamble with L'Equipe and were incredibly pleased with the abundant charm and more-than-adequate comfort at this 2-star establishment. It is located a stone's throw from the Pleney ski lift and it is a 2 minute walk to the ESF Children's Ski School (excellent group of instructors and no one knows the mountains and the region better than they do.) The rooms were newly refurbished with a charming alpine sensibility, white pine, pretty textiles and excellent lighting providing both practical light and ambiance. Everything is switch-controlled from the main bed. The bathrooms were new and adequate, impeccably clean (as was the room). Each of our rooms had the capability of sleeping 3; one main bed and one single bed in a pretty pine daybed set-up. The only drawback to the refurbished bathrooms was that the size of the space precluded them from installing a bathtub. I am not sure if this applies to all the rooms or not. It may have been where ours was located. I always find it nice to soak in a hot bath after a long day on the slopes and this was not possible. That said, there is a Jacuzzi and pool (comfortable temperature) on premises and we did enjoy the use of both. There was a beautiful balcony in each of our rooms with stunning, modern (and silent!) sliding glass doors providing breathtaking views to the mountains.

TIP: Take your own toiletries / travel samples with you. The ones offered by the hotel are limited.

The food was surprising delicious; leave it the French to produce fantastic cuisine, demi-pension. The courses were inventive, flavourful and delicious making the stay at L'Equipe a superb value. You know you are in good hands when all the local French ski instructors (old-timers) come down from the slopes for a civilised lunch at L'Equipe's Restaurant and a glass of red in front of a giant fireplace (The hotel guests eat elsewhere in a private dining area in the morning and evening that has an adjoining Salon for relaxation) Btw, don't miss the fondue in their public restaurant If you need some variety, the owners are happy to make suggestions regarding some of the local restaurants and even ring to book the reservations for you. I'm certain that one will not likely encounter service of this calibre at any other 2 star Hotel ANYWHERE!! Just remember to brush up on your French language skills, as hardly any English is spoken at L'Equipe or in Morzine.

The staff was always polite, helpful and professional. The owners themselves were extremely nice and they are an attractive couple in their forties; Patrick and Annabelle. Don't miss the ski trip Patrick conducts each week to Le Mur (The Wall) if you desire some challenging skiing.

This may be a strange complaint, but the ONLY thing wrong with the set-up in their charming open-plan restaurant is that their bathroom needs a large updated modern sink or basin to make it easy to wash one's hands (the current sink is a tiny corner unit and inefficient for the space and number of people using the facility. The bathroom could also use a graceful mirror and perhaps some type of vanity or wall console. The bathroom could be charming, but isn't. This is the only fault I could come up with!! I'm sure that with the refurbishment that is nearly complete at L'Equipe, that the restaurant bathroom willl probably be addressed at some point.

Lastly, a huge bonus for L'Equipe is that they have free underground parking available to their guests. Again, added value to a stay at this cosy hotel. All-in-all, a fabulous 2 Star (should be 3 Star) Find! We wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

I've just returned from a week in Morzine with my partner and daughter, we staying the L'equipe hotel which has a perfect location for the Pleney ski lift. I have to say I was very impressed with the hotel, we stayed in room 308 which has been recently renovated and it was fantastic. Very very alpine, i understand from talking to a local ski instructor that the hotel is part way through a major renovation and only had scaffolding taken down in December. We stayed half board and the food and quantities were great, my only slight and very slight criticism is that it is a set menu, but having said that, it works out 4/5 courses and skippng one isn't a big problem !

I'd definitely go back to the hotel and would agree with some of the other reviewers with it being better than a 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. As in previous reviews the best thing about the hotel is the cracking location. The room was very comfortable, clean and warm. Great to have a swimming pool and hot tub to wind down in after a hard days skiing. Food was patchy, there was a few weird combinations (roast chicken and spaghetti) but for the star rating and price of the hotel it was perfectly acceptable. Previous reviews refer to a difficulty in communicating with the owners and staff, yes their English is not perfect but neither is my French. I had no issues at all, the hotel is in France afterall! All in all well worth the money and if we visit Morzine again we will certainly stop at this hotel.

Room Tip: Stayed in 210, a double and a single bed. Cracking for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night at the end of our ski holiday because we could not get the apartment we were staying in for the last night. The best thing about the hotel is the location - it is situated right next to the bottom of the pleney cable car. The staff are friendly, and the boot room is easy to get to.
The decor of the hotel is very nice including the decor in the rooms. However the hotel lets itself down on attention to detail. For example in our room the bed spread was stained, several lightbulbs weren't working in the bathroom, the safe didnt work, the TV remote didn't work. The bathrooms are very small and the shower head in our friends room did not stay on the wall attachment. Also our room was very noisy - we were woken at 3am by snow canons (I think) so didn't get a great nights sleep.
We would've preferred to be b&b rather than half-board but the hotel doesn't offer this (or definitely doesn't for short stays) and I think this is what really lets the hotel down. Restaurants in Morzine are fantastic, even the cheaper ones, so you really would be missing out by going half-board. We took a look at the menu and the atmosphere in the dining room and decided to eat elsewhere (there were only two choices on the menu and no vegetarian option. I know it's France but the other restaurants in Morzine we visited catered really well for veggies).
We had a drink in the bar and the prices were reasonable - 3Euros for glass of wine, 6Euros for a large beer (sounds a lot for the beer but that is the going rate in Morzine) and the bar is nice.

Overall, I wouldn't stay at this hotel again because it only does a half-board option and I prefer to eat somewhere different each night and also prefer more than two choices of main course, plus the bathrooms really let the rooms down. However, you can't beat the location.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Just back from a weekend in Morzine and have to say Hotel L'equipe execeeded all expectations. As stated by other reviews, it could not been in a better postion. Right by the Pleney lift. I am actually puzzled how it is a 2 star. Swimming pool, sauna, squash court, table tennis, pool table. Decent breakfast as well. Easy a 3 star in all but name in my reckoning. One of the group had his own room on the 1st floor. It was huge!!!! 114. Massive wet room, would recommend paying up for one of those. Other rooms fine...little small but all the basics. Staff were friendly as well. All in all a decent stay. Would highy recommend. Cannot be beaten for €75 a night h/b.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

Just got back from an excellent skiing holiday. The hotel could not be better located. One cable car is right outside the hotel. The train to the other cable car stops outside the hotel and runs every 10 minutes. Contrary to other reviews, we found all the staff very friendly - this might have been because we tried to speak to them in French. Breakfast was more varied than most French hotels I have stayed in and the evening meals were pretty good as well. For a 2 star hotel to offer a swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna was an added bonus. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel L'Equipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Equipe

Address: Place du Telepherique, 74110 Morzine, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 55 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel L'Equipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Equipe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.