We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not one complaint” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Barn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Barn
Save
You added The Barn to your Saves list
513 Chemin de La Vieille Plagne | La Villaz, 74110 Morzine, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not one complaint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

We had the most amazing experience at The Barn, aside from the great location, being spoiled rotten by Gabi and Rob, troughing John's gourmet food, we actually ,managed to get some skiing in. The Barn is so close to the SuperMorzine lift where the choice of slopes cater for all standards. Apres ski is fun in Morzine but more often than not we headed home for a jacuzzi and sauna and aperos before John's gastronomic feast. Slept very well, good transfer time, beautiful resort, superb hosting. This trip could not have been better

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Had a great week here in cosy surroundings,fine food cooked by the entertaining John,well looked after by Rob and Gabi and expertly planned and run by Antonia.Perfectly placed for the super morzine lift,quiet location,wonderful scenery an all round great place to stay when skiing...Thanks guys..!!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

What a great week in the Barn. We couldn't have been looked after any better. The food is simply incredible and far more interesting (although no less filling!) than the usual chalet fare you often get. The chorizo and chestnut soup, duck confit and orange polenta cake with chocolate sauce being my stand out favorites. John is just an amazing chef, whilst Antonia is efficiency herself answering with total charm and helpfulness all the initial random queries organising a holiday for 12 plus people brings. Current chalet staff Gabi and Rob completed a perfect set up and were just so easy to be with as well as the ideal hosts. The chalet is A1 location for the centre of Morzine and so easy to both ski lifts (a 2 minute walk to the super morzine where you can also pick up the little train to the Pleny). Literally any closer and you would need to sleep in the Bubble... But unlike chalets on the main strip far quieter. The overwhelming feeling is that at the end of your day, you're in the cosy family home on the slopes that you would Our only gripe? We wish we were back there!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

We has a wonderful week here. The chalet was everything that a catered chalet should be - attractive, cosy and convenient, with plenty of space for sociable evenings. The food was delicious, and our hosts (Marilyn and Pete), as well as the owners (Antonia and John) are some of the most charming and friendly people I've met.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

This was our first skiing trip as a family and there were 16 in the group. Everthing was absolutely perfect, from the help from Antonia in arranging transfers, ski passes, equiptment hire and dietry menus to the owner chef, John in absolute first class catering.
Hosts Jenny and Kieren were most attentive and dealt with a number of wierd requests made by members of our party.
the location is ideal and getting to the ski lifts made easy by the free train that runs 2 minutes walk from the chalet.
I would strongly recomend this accommodation to all prospective travellers!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

The chalet has a lot going for it: the location is great, the food was phenomenal, the hosts were attentive, the accommodation was excellent.

The location is great as it is a 2 minute walk (or 5 mins in ski boots!) to the main Avoriaz lift. This is also the stop for the free 'train' that runs across town to the bubble lift that runs up the Les Gets side of the valley. The sheer quantity of resort accesible easily and conviniently from this chalet was actually a little daunting! Morzine as a resort has a great range of pistes for all levels of skiers - we had beginners right through to very experienced skiers in our group and everyone was catered for.

The food was amazing. I cannot emphasise this enough: the food was AMAZING! We also had different wine with each meal and there was more than enough of both food and wine. the menu was well thought through and covered a wide variety. The skiing was great, but dinner was a real highlight of every day for me!

The hosts were great, the chalet owners, John and Antonia, and our chalet hosts Trev and Cat were all great. They were attentive but not intrusive and dealt with the many and varied demands of our group competently and with ease. Antonia also worked very hard before we arrived to organise childcare, ski hire, lessons, ski passes and transfers for us, which made things so much easier for us.

The accomodation is good, beds were comfortable, showers had plenty of hot water (i've stayed in previous ski chalets where this was not the case!!), the living areas were great and well set up for our group. Internet access is free and the honesty bar is very reasonably priced. The greatest asset, however, is the hot tub and sauna - our group made regular use of these and they seriously helped after a long day on the slopes with Trev as a ski guide!

I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

This was our first stay at the Barn, but I'm sure we'll be back.

The stay was well organised from the beginning. Everything necessary was arranged for us, including airport transfers, ski hire and lift tickets. All of the staff were very happy to give good advice on anything from the best bars to the best runs.

The accommodation was high quality and convenient and the main living space was comfortable and homely. The evening meals were consistently great and the chalet hosts Trev and Cat were friendly and helpful, no matter how put upon.

The location of the Barn is ideal for skiing, being an easy walk from the main Avoriaz bubble lift and the free "train" across town to the Les Gets bubble. There's plenty of terrain to suit any ability in those two main ski areas, but the scale of the Portes du Soleil is daunting, so it was fantastic to have two days of ski guiding with Trev as part of the deal.

All in all, an excellent place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barn

Address: 513 Chemin de La Vieille Plagne | La Villaz, 74110 Morzine, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of Morzine, The Barn is divided into two semi-detached ski chalets run by a professional chef and his wife. Chalet La Ferme sleeps up to 15 in 5 ensuite bedrooms, and Chalet L’Ecurie up to 16 in 6 ensuite bedrooms. Both have stylish living accommodation with L’Ecurie benefiting from an indoor sauna and Jacuzzi, and La Ferme a hot tub in the garden. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.