We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Neige et Roc

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Neige et Roc to your Saves list
Hotel Neige et Roc
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2953 route des Ardoisieres | Pied du telepherique d'Avoriaz, 74110 Morzine, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 55 Hotels in Morzine
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I don't think the previous reviewers stayed at the same hotel as this one, as all the staff were friendly, helpful, and the service was excellent. If you are a skier, the location is very good as you get the cable car straight up to Avorias and ski all the way down to the hotel at the end of the day. The free bus to Moraine is by the hotel if you want to shop. The rooms are warm and with the balcony you can sit out, but if you ski you will only sleep in the room so it does not need to be bigger, and the radiators dry you gloves etc when wet. The food is good and breakfast is as expected in foreign countries, huge choice and eggs always available. Overall very good stay if you ski, but stay in Moraine if you don't.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    27
    5
    6
    7
See reviews for
17
29
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I'm not sure whether the people that wrote the bad reviews actually stayed there....Sonia never waitressed. The hotel has been in her family for 3 generations and she is a wealth of knowledge in the area, and there are no British employees, it is totally French. The food and the ambiance is of the region, and great. Ski in ski out. All together a great family resort. We will go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in adjoining rooms, very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay. Two families including two four year olds with lots of energy. Service was excellent. Food was great (breakfast and dinner) Sonia and the staff were great and very helpful. They were patient with our requests and poor French. We would go back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

This is Fawlty towers at its finest!!! I have never written a review on tripadvisor but our experience was so awful in this hotel that I felt compelled to warn other travellers.

Sonia who is the owner of the hotel is in the wrong job and clearly doesn't enjoy dealing with people. Every request seems to be an effort and an additional cost (which at 300 euros a night seems excessive). The most minor of questions receives a rude response.

We have stayed all over the world and have never experienced such poor attitude and value for money.

Real shame as due to the location and friendliness of the other staff it could be a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights on a ski break with freinds and it was okay and I would stay again. The single room I had was adequate, clean, and comfortable. The breakfast was disappointing , but lunch was fine. I found the service to be fine and had no problem whatsoever with the staff. Location was good for the Gondala but poor for apre ski in Morzine.

Overall the Hotel was cheap and served its purpose. I would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neigeroc, Gérant at Hotel Neige et Roc, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Our greatest is your satisfaction...

Thanks a lot for having appreciated your stay in our "home"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I totally agree with the review posted below.

I've never written a review on TA advisor before, but following a visit to this hotel, felt the need to.

My boyfriend and I had been staying in Avoriaz for a long weekend skiing with his family, which was utterly blissful. Unfortunately we decided to move to the Neige Roc Hotel for our last night once the rest of the family had left. Big. Mistake.

The hotel is situated in the most depressing town ive ever been too, thank god we were here only 1 night. The hotel rooms are incredibly old fashioned and ridiculoudsly expensive for what you get. The breakfast was poor (compared to other hotels ive been too for the same px per night) and the staff SO RUDE. I didnt catch the name of the 'lovely' woman i spoke to - i imagine it was Sonia (?!) - who told me that no i couldn't have shower to freshen up after a days skiing, before our flight home, unless we paid. Call me naive but i would have thought that after paying £150 per night, that we would of course been allowed to have a quick shower and change before our transfer picked us up, regardless of whether we had already checked out! this has never once been a problem in any other hotel ive ever stayed in. It wasn't necessarily what the delightful 'Sonia' said, it was the way she said it. I adore the French, but she gives them a bad name.

So the low light of our trip was getting changed in the cramped luggage room of the hotel!

Ive never had a bad Hot Chocolate in France, but the Neige Roc's was the worst. Perhaps it was the bitter taste that was left in my mouth.

Stay in Avoriaz!! we wish we had.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012 via mobile

Very poor value for money. Firstly, the non service attitude of the owner, Sonia. Unkind, and not welcoming. The rooms are crummy and look more like a cabin and cell than the junior suite we pay for ( the website photos are misleading).  Breakfast is standard on not very reach.  Should you have an omelet, you would be charged an extra. Dinner is excellent, the chef is five star quality. 

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Neige et Roc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neige et Roc

Address: 2953 route des Ardoisieres | Pied du telepherique d'Avoriaz, 74110 Morzine, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 55 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Neige et Roc 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Neige et Roc is a charming and characterful chalet hotel located in Les Prodains, at the base of the Ardoisiere cliffs, half way between the ski resorts of Morzine and Avoriaz. The new Prodains Express ski lift is located just opposite the hotel, allowing our hotel guests to be on the pistes minutes after leaving their bedrooms. We offer dinner inclusive accommodation packages throughout the winter and summer seasons. Our bedrooms are a mixture of doubles, twins and family rooms, while our hotel restaurant is well regarded for it's use of locally sourced produce and delicious restaurant dishes. Many of our guests have been staying at the Hotel Neige et Roc for many years. They enjoy our high standards and our personal approach to guest care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Neige et Roc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Neige et Roc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.