We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing and expensive mistake” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Neige et Roc

Save Saved
You added Hotel Neige et Roc to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Neige et Roc
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2953 route des Ardoisieres | Pied du telepherique d'Avoriaz, 74110 Morzine, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 50 hotels in Morzine
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointing and expensive mistake”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

This is Fawlty towers at its finest!!! I have never written a review on tripadvisor but our experience was so awful in this hotel that I felt compelled to warn other travellers.

Sonia who is the owner of the hotel is in the wrong job and clearly doesn't enjoy dealing with people. Every request seems to be an effort and an additional cost (which at 300 euros a night seems excessive). The most minor of questions receives a rude response.

We have stayed all over the world and have never experienced such poor attitude and value for money.

Real shame as due to the location and friendliness of the other staff it could be a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    24
    4
    6
    7
See reviews for
15
25
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights on a ski break with freinds and it was okay and I would stay again. The single room I had was adequate, clean, and comfortable. The breakfast was disappointing , but lunch was fine. I found the service to be fine and had no problem whatsoever with the staff. Location was good for the Gondala but poor for apre ski in Morzine.

Overall the Hotel was cheap and served its purpose. I would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neigeroc, Gérant at Hotel Neige et Roc, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Our greatest is your satisfaction...

Thanks a lot for having appreciated your stay in our "home"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I totally agree with the review posted below.

I've never written a review on TA advisor before, but following a visit to this hotel, felt the need to.

My boyfriend and I had been staying in Avoriaz for a long weekend skiing with his family, which was utterly blissful. Unfortunately we decided to move to the Neige Roc Hotel for our last night once the rest of the family had left. Big. Mistake.

The hotel is situated in the most depressing town ive ever been too, thank god we were here only 1 night. The hotel rooms are incredibly old fashioned and ridiculoudsly expensive for what you get. The breakfast was poor (compared to other hotels ive been too for the same px per night) and the staff SO RUDE. I didnt catch the name of the 'lovely' woman i spoke to - i imagine it was Sonia (?!) - who told me that no i couldn't have shower to freshen up after a days skiing, before our flight home, unless we paid. Call me naive but i would have thought that after paying £150 per night, that we would of course been allowed to have a quick shower and change before our transfer picked us up, regardless of whether we had already checked out! this has never once been a problem in any other hotel ive ever stayed in. It wasn't necessarily what the delightful 'Sonia' said, it was the way she said it. I adore the French, but she gives them a bad name.

So the low light of our trip was getting changed in the cramped luggage room of the hotel!

Ive never had a bad Hot Chocolate in France, but the Neige Roc's was the worst. Perhaps it was the bitter taste that was left in my mouth.

Stay in Avoriaz!! we wish we had.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012 via mobile

Very poor value for money. Firstly, the non service attitude of the owner, Sonia. Unkind, and not welcoming. The rooms are crummy and look more like a cabin and cell than the junior suite we pay for ( the website photos are misleading).  Breakfast is standard on not very reach.  Should you have an omelet, you would be charged an extra. Dinner is excellent, the chef is five star quality. 

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

A sweet property while you see all reviews and pictures everywhere. We have chosen it due to its charm pictures everywhere and it's perfect location 50 yards from Avoriaz Telepherique, in psite of being quite expensive, average 100 euro/night/person in a room with sunny balcony, no extras included. Breakfaast was on top 14 euros/day, quite average, very french:croissant, gems, boiled eggs (some days), ham (some days only), cheese (some other days only). Beware of taking any sandwich from breakfast on the slopes, there is a person watching you and the sandwich will be charged 5 euro to your bill. The demi-pension is an option of 56 Euros/day (includes breakfast and dinner), is a good option for those 100% ski oriented, as it's an easy way to handle your ski-vacation, everything being on site and not too many options in the area (only another one-two restaurants and one pizzeria). The unnaceptable thing with the demi-pension is that once you booked it, you can not "escape" it! I do not know any laws (legal or simply self-understood) that could force you into such an agreement that you can not drop for any reason. What if you are ill, or you have friends to join for dinner in another place, or if you do not like the food? You are bound to pay in full the whole period of time, regardless you eat or not! Seemingly this is illegal I believe. The rooms are small but nice, the bathroom and toilet are small but functional, the towels are lousy/old/dirty appearance and the bedsheets were not changed at all during 7 nights sleep. The Sauna is great, opened between 16:00-19:00, as well as the hydrotherapy jacuzzi. There is wireless internet, against 3 euros/hour. But if you really want free wireless, you simply cross the road to Les Prodains Restaurant or across the road to Pizzeria Le Cable, you buy a beer and enjoy hours of free internet. Elodie is your host everyday a great person, kind and always welcoming guests. The seating facilities in the lobby are great, a small bar is welcoming in the entrance and a chemney is burning your evenings creating a cosy atmosphere. The sunny outdoor terrace is enjoyable for a nice lunch in the sun, with an outdoor grill.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony are sunny and larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is charming and clean. Personnel is kind and helpful.
Restaurant is good with variety of daily menu (did not try a la carte but the half board offer was great)
Rooms and bathrooms are small but nicely decorated and functional.
Location is very convenient for access to avoriaz ski area.
I recommend it for families, i went there alone with my children and found it the perfect balance beween comfort, price, easiness of logistics.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neigeroc, Gérant at Hotel Neige et Roc, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Google Translation
Notre plus grand plaisir est votre satisfaction ...

Mille mercis d'avoir aimé notre "maison" !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

stayed with two friends for 3 nights pre Christmas.
We were very lucky with great powder skiing for every day so always gives good memories but this hotel suited our needs. It is 50 yards from the main cable car into Avoriaz.
We booked half board, it was really good value and the food was really well done. With any fixed menu there is going to be the odd course you don't like but overall really good.

We had the better rooms which were perfectly fine and probably a bit bigger than other ski resort hotels. Staff mostly friendly and their English was a lot better than my French!

The only downside is that this area is really quiet, so if you want more than a quiet beer in this bar, it's a wait for the bus for a 10 min drive into Morzine where the choice of bars is plentiful.

Seemed to cater well for children as well.

There is a ski shop over the road from the hotel that is friendly and cheap ish but the range of kit is more intermediate than expert/ latest models.

A great base for a ski trip and would stay there again if we did the same sort of trip again.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Neige et Roc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neige et Roc

Address: 2953 route des Ardoisieres | Pied du telepherique d'Avoriaz, 74110 Morzine, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 50 hotels in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Neige et Roc 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Neige et Roc is a charming and characterful chalet hotel located in Les Prodains, at the base of the Ardoisiere cliffs, half way between the ski resorts of Morzine and Avoriaz. The new Prodains Express ski lift is located just opposite the hotel, allowing our hotel guests to be on the pistes minutes after leaving their bedrooms. We offer dinner inclusive accommodation packages throughout the winter and summer seasons. Our bedrooms are a mixture of doubles, twins and family rooms, while our hotel restaurant is well regarded for it's use of locally sourced produce and delicious restaurant dishes. Many of our guests have been staying at the Hotel Neige et Roc for many years. They enjoy our high standards and our personal approach to guest care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Neige et Roc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Neige et Roc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.