We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad little hotel a real shame about one member of staff!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Balladins Annecy/Cran Gevrier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Balladins Annecy/Cran Gevrier to your Saves list
Balladins Annecy/Cran Gevrier
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38 Avenue de la Republique, 74960 Cran-Gevrier, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Cran-Gevrier
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not a bad little hotel a real shame about one member of staff!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I think this sums up our stay at Balladins:
Dear Didier,

I think this email to the manager sums up our stay @ Balladins

Dear Manager,

I need to write because despite my group of 29 persons staying at your hotel as paying guests very happily for 3 nights on the last evening (Sunday) your desk staff upset me greatly.

After returning from the restaurant opposite at roughly 8pm I was confronted by your desk staff who aggressively told me: "they are playing around in the lift again ... They are breaking the lift again ... It will break!"

I had already spoken with my group about not being silly around the hotel and behaving properly, for example not pressing every button in the lift. However it is NOT the place of your staff to be rude to paying guests, just because we are part of a large party of guests who happen to be children does not make us any less important or deserving of respect & good manners!

We were in a difficult situation on the evening of July 21st the weather was very bad - meaning that rather than as we had planned - walking the group down to Annecy until maybe 10pm and thereby not disturbing your other guests we were forced to come back early and the children had to stay around the hotel watching TV, talking etc... This is difficult and, as a teacher, I better than most realise that the children will quickly get bored and might make more noise than some other guests. But ... just like every other guest they paid to stay at the hotel, they should be allowed to use the hotel's facilities (including the lift), no one "broke" the lift earlier this week it "broke down" making access to the breakfast room for one of my party a wheelchair user rather awkward! Your staff member was aggressive and rude in his manner toward me, he dismissed this as being solely down to the language barrier! Yet the young lady who was on duty the previous evening was far more pleasant and helpful! Nothing was too much trouble! On the 2 nights that he has worked the gentleman in duty on July 20th was in my opinion rude and difficult! Yes the students occasionally locked their room keys in their rooms and yes on occasion the electronic keys needed reprogramming - but ... I'm 100% sure this happens to other guests as well, secondly they are children and should be forgiven a mistake or 2 and thirdly they are paying customers and in the service industry the customer is ALWAYS right!

I wish to make clear that the problem is NOT with your hotel - just this individual staff member, indeed the other staff we have spoken with have been pleasant & helpful! The same gentleman was also on the desk on the evening we left, I hope this allows you to identify the person I'm talking about!

I would appreciate your response to this email, outlining the steps taken to avoid other guests being similarly upset and offended by your staff? I await your response as this will directly affect any return business a and the trip-advisor review of our stay at Balladins Cran Gevrier

Yours

It's a real shame as especially on a budget you access a fantastic region of France. Annecy (lakeside) is a 15/20 minute walk away (more than acceptable!) and the facilities are while basic - clean/tidy and most staff approachable & helpful!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    13
    27
    18
    15
See reviews for
19
26
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Attention! In the adjoining building is home to a crazy man who tried to kill occupants of the hotel throwing heavy objects from the window. The Manager of the Balladins is not interested in care! Very dangerous to stay there! Especially kids!

Room Tip: Stay away !
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurigo, Svizzera
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

A really terrible hotel. I have been there with my family just for one night at the end of June, so I have rented the room for 4 person on 2 floors. Some how I have trusted some reviews and I have thought was fine for us too . Well what a experience!! The room was maybe something else, maybe a depo before, and has been adapted to be a room. Is dirty, long and narrow as corridor, there is not frigobar, the sink was broken and before to go in the toilette you have to ask the Mold to go in.
The second floor has really steep stair, so you cannot live the kids upster if you do not want let them die during the night. The stair as well was really noisy. The bed are with not laterals, just two mattresses leaning on the floor. To notice that the water pipe from the other rooms stick to this one, so is like to sleep next to a public WC.
The dust is somehow all over and the curtains are plastic ones, never seen before in an hotel , maybe just in in a bath. The man that works there is absolutely oblivious and not polite. The WC was really noisy, and in the Shower over the mod there is not soap or whatever you would normally find in an shower hotel. To Forget.

Room Tip: nevr get the room for 4 on two levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

A terrible little hotel with small rooms, lousy doors, poor soundproofing, lousy breakfast and poor cleaning.
Who ever gave a three star rating to that hotel, should be an idiot or he must have been bribed to do so.
Avoid it...

Room Tip: Avoid the rear facing rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Booked a family room with mezzanine floor at this hotel. On arrival the room was dusty and smelt damp. The windows were filthy and the curtains were falling off the wall. The bathroom has mould around the shower.

We only stayed in the room for 20mins before leaving.
The hotel then took the full charge from our credit card, despite leaving before the cancellation time and them confirming no payment would be taken

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel IS NOT IN ANNECY!! Cran Gevrier is a suburb of Annecy, and not the best one either! It only takes between 10/15 minutes to walk into Annecy but you walk on a busy road with no views or anything of interest. There is nothing else around, no shops or eating places, just a residential area all with metal shutters! Annecy is a lovely old French town. Lots of hotels in the centre & others dotted around. If you are just on a late night stop over & want a bed for the night the Balladins is fine. If you are on holiday & want to experience a taste of France DO NOT stay here! The breakfast is basic. No nice cheese or meats. Fresh bread & croissants & coffee are ok but for 7.50 eu you could get more at a cafe. The reception staff were very friendly & helpful though, which was the only plus point. My advice, pay a bit extra & stay central!

Room Tip: No tip for a good room as location is everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I would give the hotel a 2 star. It was hard to drag the suitcase in the room, because very little space. Clean enough. Bus stop close by, but walk to the lake and about 20-25 minutes. Great atmosphere of smoothed impression of the hotel.) Driving through this part of France, be sure to stop in Annecy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balladins Annecy/Cran Gevrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balladins Annecy/Cran Gevrier

Address: 38 Avenue de la Republique, 74960 Cran-Gevrier, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Cran-Gevrier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Cran-Gevrier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Balladins Annecy/Cran Gevrier 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balladins Annecy is a 5-minute drive to the centre of Annecy and its lake. It offers comfortable and affordable rooms perfect for a short stay or stopover in the area. Guestrooms are modern and equipped with en suite facilities. Wi-Fi internet access is available in the entire hotel and is free of charge. At Balladins Annecy you are welcome 24 hours a day. All public and private spaces are non-smoking and parking is available onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Balladins Annecy/Cran Gevrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balladins Annecy/Cran Gevrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.