We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Avignon garden hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge de Cassagne & Spa

Save Saved
You added Auberge de Cassagne & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   450 allee de Cassagne, 84130 Le Pontet, Avignon, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Le Pontet
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely Avignon garden hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

While 20 minutes outside of Avignon by car, it was a delight to get out of the bustle of that busy town and melt into the garden setting of Auberge de Cassagne. From the welcoming refreshing drink to the helpful check-out, our stay was wonderful. Our room was immense, with comfortable chairs and a writing area, two large closets, a huge bathroom with soaking tub plus shower, as well as two sinks and a separate WC. We brought in wine which we chilled in the mini fridge and then later in a bucket of ice that we requested from room service. Their food was excellent, from the dinner menu, to appetizers served on our garden patio, to the fabulous breakfast buffet (salmon, eggs, fruit, carrots, potatoes and wonderful breads). We were able to enjoy afternoons by the quiet pool that had plenty of chairs and chaises. Such a beautiful idylic place with a friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    64
    22
    3
    2
See reviews for
32
189
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flayosc, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our stay at Auberge de Cassagne was outstanding in every respect. The hotel staff were charming and very welcoming throughout the hotel and spa. Efficient check in staff offered us a welcome drink of sparkling wine or chilled water - a lovely touch after our journey. The hotel is attractively furnished in provencal style, with beautiful drapes, and tasteful furniture and fittings. Our room, more like a suite in size and amenities, with large bathroom including a jacuzzi bath tub and separate shower ,and even TV in the bathroom, was equipped with very large bed, pleasant seating area, and, unusually for French hotels, a coffee machine. There was a balcony complete with tables and chairs for al fresco enjoyment.

The gardens are immaculate, and the hotel is quiet and restful. The indoor swimming pool is a joy - and exceptionally clean. The opening hours 7am to 11 pm are very welcome, too.

Finally, the restaurant. Wow! What a feast for the eyes and the palette! I have a shellfish allergy, but the maitre d'hotel was extremely accommodating and substituted a beautiful sole dish for the langoustine on our set menu. The following evening, instead of lobster, he proposed a delicious sea bream fish course. Nothing was too much trouble and I was not made to feel embarrassed by my allergy. Our two dinners were memorable.

We booked a special short break, which included dinner and breakfast, and we were delighted with everything.

Room Tip: Our room was 67, a first floor room with balcony and garden view. The colour scheme was pale yellow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, MD
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Upon our arrival and throughout our entire stay, the staff was truly outstanding. Any request that we had, was met enthusiastically.
The night we arrived, we had dinner in the restaurant on site and it was quite memorable. My wife and I shared the tasting menu (two items to choose from in each course) and we each choose different items so that we could try everything. I'm so glad we did as every dish was exemplary.
Our Sommelier was very helpful without being pretentious. Service was spot on.
Although we never ate breakfast in the restaurant, it looked to be quite extensive. The grounds were immaculate, room was bright, clean and well tended. In room espresso maker was a nice touch. Spa was available up until 11pm.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The hotel is a bit isolated and next to a school with loud playing children at times. The restaurant is very nice with excellent food but they know they have a captive audience and they charge a premium. 24 Euro just for dessert, assuming you don't do the 55, 65 or 95 Euro tasting menu. They do offer a child menu for 20 Euro as well. The rooms were spacious and clean. Staff were very friendly and attentive and we were upgraded upon arrival. Pools and Spa were small, basic but nice. Not a bad place to stay but you should know what you are getting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside England
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Excellent rooms and service with easy access to Avignon and surrounding areas by car (essential I think). The hotel is in an odd location - a mix of public housing, medical facilities and schools - not somewhere you would wander about at night. Restaurant is superb which is of course reflected in the price e.g. gin and tonic 18 euros. Meal excellent but we found that the menu did not change on a daily basis so if you are a non-meat eater you may not want to dine in too often.

Room Tip: Rooms are mostly shady which is a boon in hot weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandahar
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Beautiful place, part of the SLH group, which has always exceeded expectations over multiple stays around the world. Service is first rate. We got a big upgrade (off season), which makes the stay especially nice. Nice pool and spa. Restaurant is excellent. Need a car for sure, as location is a little outside of Avignon. Still, central to all the major destinations in Provence. When you have done the tourist thing, a great place to relax.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Avignon was the third stop of our honeymoon through France and Italy. When we arrived we were pretty tired after a busy week and a half exploring Paris and Lyon.

The hotel has a gorgeous sunny pool and indoor pool and spa plus a beautiful garden restaurant. Though we had planned to spend our time exploring the areas nearby we instead spent our visit swimming, getting massages and eating the beautiful food. We did visit Avignon one morning which was lovely (though a longish drive away).

I would give the hotel 5 points but do feel the experience wasn't as good as at some of our other hotels of a lower price range.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Auberge de Cassagne & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de Cassagne & Spa

Also Known As:
Auberge De Cassagne And Spa
Auberge De Cassagne Hotel Le Pontet
Auberge De Cassagne Hotel
Auberge De Cassagne Le Pontet
Address: 450 allee de Cassagne, 84130 Le Pontet, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon > Le Pontet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Le Pontet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Auberge de Cassagne & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five minutes from Avignon city center and the motorway A7 (exit n°23), a charming provençal home set in magnificent and peaceful garden. Internationally renowned gastronomic restaurant (chef Philippe Boucher, ex. Bocuse, Georges Blanc). Provençal restaurant and terrace overlooking on the garden. Extremely comfortable, recently renovated apartments and rooms with free wifi, coffee and tea maker, I phone station . Spa, Outdoor-swimming-pool, Indoor-swimming-pool, Sauna, Work-out room, Steam bath, Hormeta Treatments and Massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Auberge de Cassagne & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge de Cassagne & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.