We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“phil” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Thomas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Thomas to your Saves list
Hotel Thomas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 - 27 Route de Valbonne, 06110 Le Cannet, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Le Cannet
washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“phil”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed with national holidays august 2013 the meal and general attitude was terrible no menu to choose from just take it or leave it ,I would advise the latter,leave it,no coffee available with evening meal one thirteen year old boy was treat in a very indifferent manner receiving no food one evening because he left his meal?the previous night never again

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Combres P, Directeur général at Hotel Thomas, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Sir,
Being in France we make a point of serving french food adapted slightly to the european taste. Unfortunately this was not to your liking. As for the youngster we tried to meet his special wishes as much as possible, it is clear that fish and chips are typically british and are not available in France.
Pierre Combres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    17
    17
    9
    13
See reviews for
5
34
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 6 nights with my family and we were very disappointed. The food had no choice and was sub standard and cheap. We have never been on a holiday where you have a three course meal and are still hungry. What was worse was that they could not cater for my 13 year old son with no childrens menus and no choice for him. The service was poor and the staff were ignorant. I would not recommend this hotel at all!

Room Tip: Don't bother!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Combres P, Directeur général at Hotel Thomas, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Helen,

We always try to meet our customer's special request as best as possible. It is quite unusual to receive youngsters in the National Holidays groups, but of course there is no objection.
As per your request your son was served the dishes without sauces and with tomato and cucumber.
The culinary differences between Great Britain and France do exist of course and the french meals do have different ingredients.
We are sorry that these were not to your liking.
Pierre Combres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Le Cannet hotels

stockton on tees
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Considering what we paid we could not fault this hotel, the accommodation was basic, but clean and comfortable exactly what we expected in order to stay near Cannes. I actually preferred Le Cannet to Cannes, We followed directions to the local art gallery and discovered wonderful atmospheric winding streets full of Gallic charm and character. We did eat out a couple of times and the local restaurants are excellent. The hotel staff were friendly and spoke good English, I would definitely return, as we loved it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Combres P, Directeur général at Hotel Thomas, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Mrs Andrea K,

Thank you so much for having taken the time to report your comments.
We are delighted that you were satisfied with your stay at the Hotel Thomas and that you were positively surprised by the old town of le Cannet.
Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Yours sincerely,
Pierre Combres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

first of all, the hotel, the staff were great and very friendly and spoke very good english
the hotel room did need a little few touch in the bathroom ups, but the room was clean and serviced every day, it was also clear to see that the management were making improvements as the reception and other areas of the hotel were in great condition.
the beer selections were bottled heinken at 4 euros a bottle or leffe, and a wine for the ladies.
i said a honest review so here it is, i wasnt to keen on the food, there is no choice on the food. you get what is served, however if you do say you dont like the food served,to you they do try to give you somthing different.
remeber tho it is a french hotel and there custom. our meal was at 7.30pm and were still sitting there at 9pm as they do serve drinks before food is served.
if you wish to go into cannes you need to turn left as you come out of the hotel and follow the road down. however this is a fair walk to the bus stop wich is down bank by the way, and you need the no 1 bus at 1.50 euro, but it up bank on the way back dont foget, you can however get a no 13 bus wich stops outside the hotel, but this bus runs off early, but we couldnt find were to get this bus, but members of our hotel party did find it and used, they said this was available as you got off the no 1 bus from cannes, again at 1.50 euro.
we went by national coach travel. and found this area of france not to be missed.
the women went looking for a supermarket, and were told that there was a small one about 10 mins away. but came back empty handed and later got what we needed in cannes.
room wise 4 out 5
staff 4 out 5
food 2 out 5
transport into cannes after a fair walk 4 out 5
beer prices 2 out 5
dont be put off by some reviews tho, i have tried to be honest, but this is only my opion from a man who likes a pint,and wasnt keen on waiting for mymeals however this is a fantastic coast , and not to be missed a loved this trip.

Room Tip: we had a end balcony room which was great, however it also had a air condioner unit, which made it n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Combres P, Directeur général at Hotel Thomas, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for having taken the time to write this review.
We acknowledge your remarks concerning the timing of the meals, we always try to find a suitable compromise between the british and french habits.
The village of le Cannet is a bit complicated with all the little intertwining streets, once you find the bus stops going downtown Cannes is less of an adventure as it was for you, we regret.
The renovation of the hotel will be continued during the winter-months, including air conditioning and refurbishment of the rooms.
We sincerely hope you keep good memories of your stay and hope to see you again,
Best regards, Pierre Combres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel as part of national holidays coach tours. Having read previous reviews i was apprehensive. However i found that the hotel was clean and the food was very good. The staff were also very helpful and friendly. The only negative is that the hotel is quite far cannes. The old town nearby has nice bars and restaurants though

Room Tip: Request a balcony in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here for one night July 2012. Hotel was easy to find with SatNav but without it would have proven difficult. Nice reception area and helpful staff. The room was somewhat tired and in need of redecoration but it was clean and tidy. The en suite bathroom was also in need of modernisation. The corridoors were dark, eben when the lights were on and this needs improving.
Positives were that the hotel had great parking facilities in an area that was tight for parking. The use of the underground garage is a must. It was secure and offered peace of mind. The staff were very helpful. We arrived late on a Sunday night and too late for food at the hotel but were directed to a square about two/three hundred meteres away with a number of restaurants providing al fresco dining, which was excellent in terms of both food quality and location. When we returned to the hotel we made use of the small bar area, and were able to drink outside in an enclosed courtyard, which was very nice and the service was good.
In the morning, buffet breakfast was taken on the roof terrace. The food was good and plentiful.
I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and I would stay there again when travelling through the south of France.

Room Tip: Ask if any of the rooms have been refurbished recently. Ours hadn't been and it was in need of u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Combres P, Directeur général at Hotel Thomas, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Mr Wikely,
Thank you for having taken the time to write the above review, always very helpful both for travellers as for us hoteliers.
We acknowledge the shortcomings in terms of lighting and need of renovation of the bathrooms, having taken over this hotel in April we have done our utmost to realize the most urgent reparations and replacement of carpets televisions and more, an extensive renovation is planned after the high season has ended.
Thank you for complimenting our staff, we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon at the Hotel Thomas.
Pierre Combres - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We have just returned from a holiday at this hotel, and I really don't know where to start !! Firstly the hotel is about an hours walking distance to the seafront. The walk down might be ok, but it's really a steep walk back, and anyone with mobility problems will be stuck. The food was awful, every meal came with a bowl of lettuce and that was after the first course of lettuce, with cheese or egg but always lettuce!! If you didn't like the food then you went hungry, because there was no choice! There was a shortage of cutlery we never got clean knives or forks for each food course. Chicken burgers cuscus was what we was faced with. The staff were either unhelpful or tried to help in their way. But there was no enthusiasm . Our toilet seat broke and a rail in the lift came off in my hands!! No free tea or coffee after dinner. I would not recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thomas

Address: 19 - 27 Route de Valbonne, 06110 Le Cannet, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Le Cannet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Le Cannet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Thomas 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Thomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thomas Hotel Le Cannet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Thomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.