We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food great, service too slow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bistrot des Anges

Le Bistrot des Anges
Rue de l'Ouest, 06110 Le Cannet, France
+33 04 92 18 18 28
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Le Bistrot des Anges is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 47 Restaurants in Le Cannet
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Tabanac, Aquitaine, France
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Food great, service too slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Great decor, easy parking and great food but slow service.
We were on the way from Avignon to Viareggio so an easy stop for lunch, but were not prepared for it to take nearly 3 hours.
Food was excellent ... Mushroom sauce pasta, meat stuffed vegetables and a great eclair ... Desserts are fabulous (speciality of the house).
Good wine selection, and you can ask for an even more extensive list from the gourmet restaurant if needed.
Waiters seemed to be run off their feet, so must be delays in the kitchen.
It is a great place for a long leisurely lunch when not in a rush, but hard when just looking for good food on the way to somewhere.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bistrot des Ang... L, Service Communication at Le Bistrot des Anges, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment on our Restaurant. We are glad to read that you have enjoyed the place and your meal. It appears you must have been there on a fully day and we are really sorry it took you so long for you to have lunch, having some road left.
We look forward to welcoming you another time, maybe when you will be more relax to completely enjoy your experience.

Kind Regards,


La Bastide Bruno Oger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    89
    38
    24
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Nice seating, enjoyable Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I actually went there to dine at the Villa but they only open for lunch on Friday and Saturday so we decided to eat at the Bistro while we were there.
I like the menu price choices as it makes it affordable for all. however the menu needs to be read carefully as some choices are only available during special days and time. We decided to go for the a la carte instead. We ordered the Avocado Millefeuille and the squid with socca both very nice, light and tasty. main course was also enjoyable with the seabream and skewer, simple but tasty and elegant.The dessert trolley offer a wide range of cakes that were excellent. The service was friendly and so overall it was a nice quiet lunch.
I will recommend and will be back on my next visit in France..hopefully with the chance to eat at the Villa.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Crooks!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

These people are rude and absolute crooks! Had supper tonight and ordered their 34€ menu supposedly all inclusive (cocktail, food, dessert and a glass of wine).
When we ordered, the waiter never told us that this "special" is only available from Sunday to Thursday. It's only when serving the desserts that they let us know that actually since today was Saturday we would have to pay the regular price.
The initially cocktail part of the menu became 15€ and so on...
Although they offered a glass of wine to help us to swallow their total lack of honesty, we refused and we paid 125€ instead of 70€ for a terrible service and a lower than average food.

Definitely not a place to recommend and where you feel that they will steal you without an hesitation because you're a tourist, a foreigner and you will never come back anyway!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bistrot des Ang... L, Service communication at Le Bistrot des Anges, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear customers,

We are really sorry that your experience with your girlfriend in The Bistrot des Anges was not a good one but it is not a reason to have abusive words.
We propose different menus like The Bistrot menu at 29€ or The Comptoir des Anges menu at 39€ which are available every day of the week for lunch and for dinner.
It is right that the menu at 34€ per person all inclusive is only available for dinner from Sunday to Thursday but it is WRITTEN ON the menu. It was not a surprise. You just had to read the menu before ordering.
However, our prices are exactly the same throughout the year and we have so the same consideration for local customers and tourists.

The Bastide Bruno Oger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

I went there with my boyfriend looking to spend a good first night in Cannes but overall it was terrible. Entry and desert were good but the main course was tasteless and the service was really bad. On top of that they told us at the end that what we ordered was more expensive rhe week-end and we ended paying 120 euros when we expected 70 euros. I'm usually a comprehensive person but sadly this is a place I don't reccomend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bistrot des Ang... L, Service communication at Le Bistrot des Anges, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear customer,

We are really sorry that your experience with your boyfriend in The Bistrot des Anges was not a good one but it is not a reason to have abusive words.
We propose different menus like The Bistrot menu at 29€ or The Comptoir des Anges menu at 39€ which are available every day of the week for lunch and for dinner.
It is right that the menu at 34€ per person all inclusive is only available for dinner from Sunday to Thursday but it is WRITTEN ON the menu. It was not a surprise. You just had to read the menu before ordering.
However, our prices are exactly the same throughout the year and we have so the same consideration for local customers and tourists.

The Bastide Bruno Oger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Good Bistrot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I have eaten a few times at the bistrot as a couple; with friends; and another family (kids etc). A good quality menu but not at Michelin star prizes ala Bruno Oger's other restaurant.
The service is not fast and during our different visits has been adequate and slow at times but this is generally made up for by the food quality and interesting regularly changed menu.
Worth a visit and the kids would recommend the desert trolley.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistrot des Anges also viewed

Le Cannet, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Le Cannet, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Le Cannet, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Le Cannet, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Bistrot des Anges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bistrot des Anges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.