We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location may be an issue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Provence Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Provence Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Provence Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7/8 Impasse Pythagore, 13127 Vitrolles, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Vitrolles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Walnut Creek, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Location may be an issue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at the H.I. Express near the Marseille Airport Oct. 23 to Oct 31. This is an excellent value. The property is very new and well appointed. Rooms were clean and of adequate size. The bath was exceptional, considering French hotels in general are not nearly as well equipped. We enjoyed our stay immensely. The hotel is walking distance to Vitrolle train stop, and there is shuttle service to both train and airport 24 hours/day. At the airport shuttle stop, one simply presses a button for the H.I. and it connects directly. Service was always quick and pleasant. The staff are friendly and helpful, and most speak excellent English. Breakfast was typical with various breads, yogurt, cereal, coffee and juice. On occasion one of the two coffee machines was inoperative. A snack/small evening meal is available each evening, but very limited choices. Otherwise, there are only vending machines available, unless you travel into Marseille or another city to eat. We chose this hotel because of our particular itinerary, needing access to train and to local bus services from the airport. Everything worked just as we planned. We traveled to Marseille, Aix-en-Provence, Avignon, Arles, Nimes, Orange. The location of the hotel may not work for some travelers. It is not in the town of Vitrolle, and there is no access to markets or shops or restaurants (except what is available at nearby hotels and the airport, which is next to nil), but for those with a car rental or with a train/bus itinerary, it may be just about perfect.

Room Tip: If planning to use train service from the Vitrolle station, you must have a credit card with an &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GilleronSabrina, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Provence Airport, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear kensteve,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your impressions about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Marseille Provence Airport.
We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed the hotel staff members and your experience in your room and bathroom.
Thank you for having pointed out the service’s quality and efficiency. Personalized service is one of our priorities and we always do our best to make sure our guests feel comfortable amongst us.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Holiday Inn Express Marseille Provence Airport, and remain,

Kind regards,
Sabrina GILLERON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    159
    40
    9
    10
See reviews for
55
158
27
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Bend, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Thinking we could get a lift to Arles from the Marseille airport with our cruise ship we chose this Holiday Inn express. We were coming from Nice via train. We got off at vitrolles station were a bus takes you to the airport . Vitrolles station is not a full service train stop if you get off here it is a 5 minutes walk to the hotel which you can see from the station. This hotel is very new and we had a great check in, staff friendly and helpful. Beds were good and clean rooms. Great value. Food service was adequate. Shuttle service every 20 minutes to train station and airport although not 24 hours. We did not get lift to our boat but ran off e tickets for train @ the hotel. Took shuttle back to vitriol less station.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GilleronSabrina, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Provence Airport, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Johnson1947,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your impressions about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Marseille Provence Airport.

We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Holiday Inn Express Marseille Provence Airport.

Kind regards,
Sabrina GILLERON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanarysurmer
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This Holiday Inn is very close to the Marignane airport and without a doubt the best Holiday Inn I have ever stayed in. I stayed there last week for one night prior to my flight back to the US. The price was reasonable and I chose it since it offered a free airport shuttle that started to operate already in the very early morning hours. The staff is very friendly and accommodating and the facility super clean and modern. Hotel rooms in Europe are usually not as spacious as in the US (we tend to super-size everything), but this room was ample in size, the bed very comfortable and even offered soft or firm pillow choices.
I decided to have dinner at the hotel and it was better than I expected and reasonably priced. I regret not having had the opportunity to sample the breakfast, due to my early flight. The pool area was already closed for the winter.
I can highly recommend this Holiday Inn, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GilleronSabrina, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Provence Airport, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear sanarysurmer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your experience at the Holiday Inn Express Marseille Provence Airport.
We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your experience with us and we are proud to read that it is for you the "Best Holiday Inn ever".
We always do our best to make sure our guests feel comfortable amongst us.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in order to try our outdoor pool at the Holiday Inn Express Marseille Provence Airport, and remain,

Yours sincerely,
Sabrina GILLERON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Needed a room near the airport after landing in Marseille from California. We planned to pick up a car the next morning and wanted a place convenient to airport & car rental. This Holiday Inn Express fit the bill! It is not located in a glamorous or scenic place at all. However, the hotel is very new looking, spotless, and has whatever you might need considering people are most likely staying for only a single night. It was quiet and comfortable. They have a limited menu for dinner but it was tasty and satisfying. They have wines available and a terrific buffet breakfast! Also free shuttle service from/to airport & car rental offices, train station too. Plus free wifi!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GilleronSabrina, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Provence Airport, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Luv_Wine4,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your impressions about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Marseille Provence Airport.
We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Holiday Inn Express Marseille Provence Airport, and remain,

Yours sincerely,
Sabrina GILLERON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was very close to airport. Under 1 kilometre. Frequent shuttle bus link. Plenty parking spaces too. Very clean. Lovely big rooms. Nice breakfast. Welcoming staff. Would have liked to have used the facilities of the pool and garden but time did not permit. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GilleronSabrina, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Provence Airport, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear DuncanKim,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your impressions about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Marseille Provence Airport.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope we will receive you again during the next summer season to try our outdoor swimming pool.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon,
Warmest Regards,

Sabrina GILLERON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

we stayed for one night prior to an early flight. The rooms were a decent size ,especially as our young son was staying with us, he was given a connecting room. The beds were very comfortable Breakfast was good staff helpful

Room Tip: ask for a family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GilleronSabrina, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Provence Airport, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Sunset1976,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your impressions about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Marseille Provence Airport.

We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Holiday Inn Express Marseille Provence Airport.

Kind regards,
Sabrina GILLERON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olonzac, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is an excellent hotel very close to Marseille Airport. It is very modern, comfortable and clean. Staff are extremely helpful. Very competitive prices.
A five star stay!
The free minibus/navette takes 5 mins to the airport - and return is easy too.
We parked the car here and left it for 5 days at half the price of airport parking.

My only small criticism is that the website says it is "only a few steps" to the train station and 20 minutes to the centre of Marseille. It is a good half kilometre uphill to walk - and then the trains are very regular and quick. But no problem! The excellent receptionist arranged for the minibus to drive us up to the station in 2 minutes at a time to suit us! Parfait!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GilleronSabrina, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Provence Airport, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Letstraveltheworld,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your impressions about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Marseille Provence Airport.
We are delighted to read that you had a really good stay with us and that you enjoyed our shuttle service.
As you mentionned, we are always pleased to drive our guests to Vitrolles station which is at 2 minutes driving from the hotel.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Holiday Inn Express Marseille Provence Airport, and remain,

Yours sincerely,
Sabrina GILLERON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Provence Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Provence Airport

Address: 7/8 Impasse Pythagore, 13127 Vitrolles, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Vitrolles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Vitrolles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Provence Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Marseille Provence Airport, the newly built Holiday Inn Express is ideally located for your business trips or for discovering the beautiful Provence.Holiday Inn Express Marseille Provence Airport welcomes you in one of its brand new room, fully equipped with a working space, LCD TV, satellite channels and entertainment system, individually controlled air conditioning. The Holiday Inn Express Marseille Provence Airport also offers complementary breakfast, complimentary Internet and 24 hours free airport shuttle.The Holiday Inn Express Marseille Provence Airport is located down the road to the airport, a few steps from the Vitrolles Train Station taking you to Marseille City Center in 15 minutes, and 10 minutes from the TGV Train Station Aix en Provence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Provence Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louisiana Hotel Vitrolles
Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Provence Airport France/Vitrolles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Provence Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.