We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very remote” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Aeroport Porte de Marseille

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Aeroport Porte de Marseille to your Saves list
Novotel Aeroport Porte de Marseille
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Rue de Madrid | ZI Les Estroublans, 13127 Vitrolles, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Vitrolles
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very remote”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Hotel was way out, nothing around, food and drinks were very pricey, because of the location we had to eat and drink at the hotel. Service was below average. Honest opinion wouldnt stay there again if i had the choice.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    86
    84
    44
    17
See reviews for
80
35
35
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

A handy place to stay one night for our early morning access to Marseille airport, although just out of the vicinity of the airport. There is a free shuttle bus to and from the airport (so we could drop off the car then be taken to the hotel and be returned early the next morning), good sizes rooms and decent bathrooms with separate toilets. We didn’t use the restaurant or have breakfast so can’t comment on food prices. For 2 rooms it cost us 182Euros.
There is nothing around it, sort of in an industrial area.
Plenty of free parking available and free internet.
Our shuttle journeys were MUCH longer than 3 minutes....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

I stayed in this Novotel for two days/one night for a company training which was held on the premises.
From the airport to the hotel took three minutes by car. The short distance to the airport being their greatest asset.
The hotel looked fine. On the outside a bit impersonal and older but on the inside it was bright and modern. Staff at the reception was very friendly and helpful, they specifically asked whether I wanted a smoking or non-smoking room. They have indeed a series of non smoking rooms. I got a room at the far end of the hotel which is good because away from the nearby motorway. Even with the room window I did not really hear it. The room itself was good. Clean and practical. Big enough for one or two persons. I had a little argument with the light switches which had a certain switching order logic but that’s minor. The room had a safe, big enough for a laptop. Sheet were clean and the bed comfortable. A water cooker with some coffee and tea. All in good working order.
The bathroom had a bathtub, no too big, only for sitting, and a shower cabinet with glass door. The room was made of a few big plastic pieces which kind of reminded me of aircraft toilets, just roomier and no 90 degree angles anywhere, everything is rounded. The toilet was separate from the bathroom and was about as big as a toilet in an aircraft, i.e. small. But it was clean. The door to the hallway was thick enough not to hear anything coming from there.

The breakfast buffet was good but nothing special. Several sorts of juices, some kinds of bread, some cheeses, ham, fruit, yoghurt, pancakes etc. Although it was confirmed to me that the milk was fresh, it unfortunately turned out to be the UHT milk. Cold yes, but not fresh. Minus point for the breakfast.

The training room of the hotel was clearly the forgotten part. This room looked and was used. Stains on the floor and walls, crooked ceiling panelling and furniture that should have been in retirement years ago. Dust in the corners. Just a thorough cleaning would help.

During the two days of training we had lunch at the hotel. Apparently they only have a set menu and was served without asking any questions. Minus point there. When I said I did not eat meat, they tried to make something without meat without any hassle. Plus point there for day one. But some minus points for day two where they just microwaved a frozen piece of fish (still cold on the inside) and served it with plain rice and some sort of (meat?)gravy.
The rest of the lunch, appetizer and dessert were quite good though.

If you do not have your own car, you’re pretty much stuck there. There is nothing interesting within walking distance, no shops no restaurants. The hotel is situated in an industrial area.

All in all, an very acceptable hotel for sleeping and breakfast for one or two nights. For dinner, either accept the small choice at the hotel or make sure you have a car.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Stayed here the night before a flight our of MRS. Good location. Great value. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Shuttle service to airport was first class. The rooms are basic, but high end basic. Very clean. \comfortable bed and the sofa bed was better than average. \breakfast in the morning was excellent, with a wide range of choice on the buffet.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

This hotel is situated near locations where TAXI movie is made. So I recommend it to all TAXI fans. It is not too far from Marseilles and service is just fine. Area is very tranquil and parking is secured.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Aeroport Porte de Marseille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Aeroport Porte de Marseille

Address: 24 Rue de Madrid | ZI Les Estroublans, 13127 Vitrolles, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Vitrolles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Vitrolles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Aeroport Porte de Marseille 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Marseille Aeroport is located 5 min from Marseille Provence Airport, 10 min from the TGV station and 20 min from Marseille. This 3 star hotel is an ideal place to stay when travelling on business to Marseille or visiting various centres of activity in Aix en Provence. With a shuttle service to the airport terminals, the hotel offers 117 rooms and 12 meeting rooms. Our restaurant and bar are open until midnight. Guests also enjoy the benefit of a private car park and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Aeroport Porte de Marseille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Hotel Vitrolles
Novotel Vitrolles
Vitrolles Novotel
Novotel Aeroport Porte De Marseille France/Vitrolles, Provence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Aeroport Porte de Marseille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.