We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As cramped as 'Das boot', as sucessful as 'Titanic'.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Stars Rouen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Stars Rouen to your Saves list
Hotel Stars Rouen
1, Avenue des Canadiens, 76800 Saint-Etienne-du-Rouvray, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Limerick
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“As cramped as 'Das boot', as sucessful as 'Titanic'.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

Stayed in the Stars Rouen on16 may. On arrival the receptionist did not want to accept my pre-paid voucher and wanted my credit card. When I refused, she decided to leave the manager deal with it in the morning.
The rooms are miniscule. Beds; 3 inch foam on a slatted base. Pillows; one inch of dead granulated foam. The 'shower room' is a tiny one piece, blow moulded, plastic unit. We nicknamed it the 'orgasmatron', but there was no pleasure in using it. Breakfast consists of a cold buffet with limited selection even by french standards. When checking out, I handed keys to the manager, who made no comment, on the previous nights voucher fiasco. If you want to see stars in Rouen, I suggest a park bench, just as comfortable and a lot cheaper.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    5
    12
    17
See reviews for
2
15
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate Yorkshire
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

We had booked and paid for our accommodation and breakfast in advance via the internet (not using the hotels own web site, I must stress). On arrival, however, the receptionist informed us that no such booking had been made and no payment made! He told us that, luckily, they did have just one room vacant, but, that we must pay again.

Understandably, we refused to pay again, insisting that we had done so already and showed him our booking voucher. After carefully scrutinising it, the receptionist said that he had never heard of the booking company involved and that the Hotel did not deal with this company! To say we were not impressed was an understatement! After further lengthy discussion, it was agreed that we could stay for the night, that the manager would be contacted and that the issue would be discussed again in the morning. We retired to our room, and tried to relax after a long and tiring journey made worse by the evening's events. However,half an hour later, the telephone rang and the receptionist demanded that we return to reception, whereupon my husband was shown their computer and told to find the web-site through which we had booked. Fortunately, he did so easily and was able to point out Hotel Stars Rouen clearly advertised there. Only then did we feel that we were genuinely believed and able to relax in what remained of the evening. Too good to be true? Oh yes, next morning as we went in for breakfast, another receptionist stopped us and told us that we hadn't paid for it already and must therefore pay him!

Unbelievable, as our booking voucher and the web-site details clearly showed that breakfast was included in our original booking. Our faces clearly showed our displeasure and after further "discussion" we were allowed tto have the breakfast to which we were entitled. What a struggle and what a shame, because Hotel Stars Rouen, although basic was clean,conveniently situated and good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

The rooms are small but adequate for a stopover. The breakfast had a better selection than any of the 2 and 3 star hotels we stayed at on this trip costing up to up to 4 times the price.

  • Liked — Convenience for overnight stop
  • Disliked — Small, dark room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2007

For €32 what can you expect. The room was comfortable and the bathroom clean. It is fine if you're on-route and need a stop over to get your head down for a few hours.

But the room (non-smoking) stank of cigarette / cigar smoke. It had penetrated all the bedding like nothing I've experienced before and an open window didn't help. It was terrible. Ironically for a non-smoking room, an ash-tray was provided. And I'm not adverse to roughing it a little if it means getting a bargain, but this was really bad.

Apart from that, it served it's purpose and we were on route by 8am the next morning.

Rouen's not an easy place to navigate around. But sat-nav got us there fine and the hotel is situated on the main road heading out west; where we wanted to go.

  • Liked — car parking
  • Disliked — room had bad smell of cigarette smoke, really bad.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2006

The room was small and I mean small, it was in need a cleaning and fresh bedding, the bathroom was small and damp.
The whole hotel smells of smoke, I was left looking for another hotel at 22:00hrs which luckily we found. Please if you want a good Hotel don't book this one.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanleness
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't book here
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Stars Rouen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stars Rouen

Address: 1, Avenue des Canadiens, 76800 Saint-Etienne-du-Rouvray, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Saint-Etienne-du-Rouvray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Saint-Etienne-du-Rouvray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Stars Rouen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stars Rouen Hotel
Hotel Stars Rouen France/Saint-Etienne-Du-Rouvray

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Stars Rouen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.