We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate hotel with pleasant staff but poor overpriced room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Windsor to your Saves list
Hotel Windsor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Boulevard de Verdun, 76200 Dieppe, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Dieppe
london england
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Adequate hotel with pleasant staff but poor overpriced room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here in July 2012 with friends who recommended it and reserved a superior sea facing room which was room 001 for two nights, It is well situated on the road along the sea front with free parking both on and off the road (though we had to drive a block or two to fin a space). The staff are pleasant and helpful, up to a point, However, the room was tiny and on the ground floor so not really a sea view, with a sliding window which did not fasten properly so poor security unless the shutters were drawn, and the bathroom was badly designed (no room to sit frontwards on the WC) without any ventilation at all, This was 126 euros a night which is a full price for a room in this class. On asking for another room we were told the only one available was a suite, for an extra 60 euros, which was clearly untrue as the hotel was far from full on this wet weekend. A redeeming feature is the restaurant which is well situated with good service (notably the waitress) and good simple food looking out over the sea from the first floor. Incidentally, the hotel cat is the fattest I have ever seen and has a Hitler moustache marking which is extremely comical. I would recommend trying anotehr hotel eg the Plage next door and perhaps eating in the restaurant (though there are better places in Dieppe).

Room Tip: Book in advance as rates are less and dont book room 001
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    29
    40
    17
    4
See reviews for
10
63
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We booked this hotel as a stop over on the way back from La Rochelle.

Initial impression was okay but our room (304) was shabby, hot and noisey. We had to have the window open to get some air in but this meant we were kept awake by bins being dragged out (last one I heard was at 4am) and the constant seagull crys which echo between the buildings (not the hotels fault but air con would mean closed windows). there is also noise from the nearby pubs.

There were 2 sachets of coffee and plastic cups. The wifi did not work in our room and the tv had french channels only.

I cannot comment on the food as we left asap in the morning in need of air and some respite from the noise.

I would not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: A room to the front of the hotel would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

This hotel is in an ideal position being only two minutes from both the beach and the town centre. The staff were pleasant and the room was comfortable and adequate. However, we stayed over a weekend and on both the Friday and Saturday nights we were kept awake for about three hours by noise from people leaving pubs and clubs who had drunk too much and were loitering in the street outside. Also my car was vandalised by a group of lads who thought it was funny to rip off aerials and windscreen wipers from cars parked outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Book a sea-facing room. You need to pre-book this, although the booking site suggests you can reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Its a little hotel. Next to the beach and the old city. its very nice to walk near the beach. The Pier its very nice to see in the morning, there are a lot of fishermans there.

Room Tip: My room was to the back. but i didnt heard any noise. The front rooms i think they are wonderful to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hardy, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Right across from the beach! Convenient to walk to shops, restaurants, the casino, the seaside and other sites! Quirky hotel with lots of stairs (elevator too). (We were on the top floor with adjoining rooms) The internet didn't work in our room so we sat in the reading room off the lobby with a glass of wine to use it. Breakfast was not included so we didn't use the dining room but there was tea & coffee available in our room. The room was comfortable and the bathroom was very nice with a separate toilet room. We booked the room for one night but stayed for two. Dieppe was a beautiful town to wander through with lots of great seafood restaurants to choose!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

Hotel wasn't in the travel plans to begin with. We were stuck in Cannes because of the volcanic ash and the office booked the rooms. It was a welcome sight at 11.30 in the evening after a 13 hour drive up through France. It is a big country! As we were up again at 4.30 to leave for the boat I didn't get to see much of the hotel.

That said, the staff were very helpful, booking us on the shuttle to the boat in the morning, and even waking us up early when the pick up time was changed. Very helpful indeed. The room was functional and clean with a decent shower (very important in a hotel I think). The beds were comfy and large enough. There was free wifi (as important as a decent shower).there was also coffee & tea facilities.

I can't vouch for the rest of the hotel, but got the feeling that for the money in would be okay for a day or two. To note: bearing in mind we were buying the rooms only hours before, they certainly didn't over charge on the room rates.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights in beginning of September.
The location is great, the hotel is clean, reception is nice and helpful. They have "renovated" the hotel in the 80's or something so that it looks as ugly as it does now and the rooms looking out at the sidestreet (where we stayed) are quite small with dated furniture. Breakfast is good, buffetstyle. Overall a nice experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Windsor

Address: 18 Boulevard de Verdun, 76200 Dieppe, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Dieppe
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Dieppe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Windsor 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Dieppe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.