We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most satisfactory” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Dieppe la Presidence

Save Saved
You added Mercure Dieppe la Presidence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Dieppe la Presidence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Boulevard de Verdun, 76200 Dieppe, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Dieppe
singapore
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Most satisfactory”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had a Privilege room which was large and had good view to the sea. There was a walk-in shower ( see review of Mercure Amiens Cathedrale to see why this was such a bonus), a coffee machine, free wifi and on-site parking for €5. The restaurant was shut, as was most of Dieppe on a Sunday. The room could benefit from a repaint but overall it was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Privilege rooms have larger windows offering better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    180
    51
    18
    6
See reviews for
54
208
24
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The unprepossessing exterior of this 4-storey hotel on the seafront next to Dieppe castle belies a smart modern interior with a stylish bar and restaurant. Our ocean-view room on the third floor was large with polished wooden floors and sophisticated lighting; kingsize bed and even bigger duvet. The walk-in power shower and separate toilet were next to the corridor with the sleeping area well away from any potential noise. I found it quiet. The restaurant seemed to be doing a good evening trade. The restaurant area of Dieppe is a walk away, which may explain this. Or perhaps the place is well regarded? We didn't dine there. However, the breakfast selection was excellent and when the scrambled egg ran out they obligingly made a portion specially for my husband although service was officially finished. Hotel reception will also helpful in correcting an error I had made in booking online. There is secure underground parking for Euro 5 per night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhaven, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Although a bit on the expensive side, this hotel was a perfect stop over for us on our way to Burgundy. We are very familiar with Dieppe (living in Newhaven) and have been coming to the town for 30+ years. This is only our second stopover and our first at the Mercure. All the staff were very friendly and helpful (though we both speak French, having lived and worked in Paris for several years!) and we will certainly be using it again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Does not look inviting from the outside. We had the last room which did have a sea view but also a view of the car port. We asked for a privilege room but compared to the other Mercure Hotels we had stayed in this was not. The shower/bathroom has no door on it, but there is a separate toilet which has no hand basin in it, therefore you have to walk from one end of the room to the other to wash your hands, not hygienic. No minibar. Room was well used. On arrival not told the restaurant was full. Reception lady not helpful and very aggressive. No manager on site at weekends. There is an extra charge to park and the parking is very limited.If you went out in the car the hotel could not guarantee you a place when you returned! The rain was terrible on the night we arrive but all the reception lady could recommend was a 20 minute walk into town for food. Would not go back and glad we never paid.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This hotel is well located on the not especially attractive seafront - the rooms are fine and the uderground carpark a plus. Their oven had broken down but even allowing for this the room sevice food was terrible and breakfast just passable. Would look elsewhere next time

Room Tip: Seafront rooms are best, not that the view of the municipal baths and wide expanses of cement are en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The room was one of the best ever for me, it was superb with a massive and comfortable bed, a good TV and a bathroom to write home about. The food in the restuarant however, for the money, was terrible. My Wife, admitedly in her ignorance ordered a steak tartare which the waiter failed to explain was raw minced beef and a raw egg, She did not eat it. Her starter of Lobster Bisque at 16 euro was just fish soup, and poor fish soup at that, my meal was not much better. All told the meal was a waste of 65 euro i paid on booking the full amount including breakfast and at check out a rapidly becoming rude girl tried to tell me that I still owed for the breakfast (which was OK), I did not pay what she wanted as i will not pay twice. Shame really!

Room Tip: A sea view room would be nice but costs more, and you don't sit up all night looking at the Engl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingleton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were prepared for the exterior of the hotel based on reviews so that was fine. We paid 180 euros for a one night stay in a privilege room on the top floor with a sea view. This price didn't include breakfast or parking. Couldn't fault the room for cleanliness etc but it seemed expensive for the extras included in the package.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Dieppe la Presidence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Dieppe la Presidence

Address: 1 Boulevard de Verdun, 76200 Dieppe, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Dieppe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Dieppe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Dieppe la Presidence 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 3-story Hotel facing the sea, 25 yards from casino & 250 yards from business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Mercure Dieppe la Presidence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Dieppe la Presidence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.