We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superbe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Les Voiles d'Or

Restaurant Les Voiles d'Or
2 Chemin de la Falaise, 76200 Dieppe, France
+33 (0)2 35 84 16 84
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 118 Restaurants in Dieppe
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Superbe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Not the first time i was eating over there. Took some time with the family we did get a great time and the food was superb (local product)
Great host
Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    24
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Really, really disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Discard this revue if you will, think 'the guy doesn't know what he's talking about' if you will but I'm warning you that this restaurant is not worthy of it's Michelin star. The basic problem is that the dishes themselves are ill conceived, the fact that the seasoning is non-existent is of almost no relevance! Two examples from the Menu Degustation, the first combining turbot with apricot and secondly a dish of Sea Bass incorporating whole chestnuts and red currants!! These are flavour combinations which just do not work.

Regarding the very poor seasoning this is the first 'fine dining' restaurant where I've encountered a salt cellar on the table together with a ghastly battery operated pepper grinder torch combination which is intended to light up whatever you're grinding pepper over. A good chef should season their food themselves and not leave it up to the customer to have to effectively complete the dish before eating it.

The decor is fine, the service is good, but that's not why I eat in restaurants. The food should be the star and here it's very definitely not.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“More than just the best seafood ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Perched on the cliff overlooking the fishing town of Dieppe, next to this chapel that sailors parish to pay respect to the ones that never made it back, les voiles d'or restaurant ....and hotel is without a doubt the best restaurant we found in our trip to Britanny and Normandy combined.
They just got one star Michelin and I would have given them two easy. The seafood is fresher than fresh and cooked to perfection. Tristan the chef and Corrine the host/maitre d'h/sommelier/cheese captain and cashier will let you never forget your visit.
They have three bedrooms (ultra standing) next door in a Bali style... It was a dream.
Dream it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
704 reviews 704 reviews
335 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 171 cities Reviews in 171 cities
490 helpful votes 490 helpful votes
“An excellent meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The restaurant is difficult to get to - it's located on a high bluff noth of the main town - but well worth the trip. There is a special five course tasting menu available for a reasonable price of €55. As with most restaurants, all individuals at the table must order the tasting menu for it to be served. The a la carte selections are decent with three meat and four fish selections. The appetizers are also excellent. I thoroughly enjoyed the langoustine soupiere - perfectly cooked and served in a delectable sauce. As my main course I ordered one of the fresh fish plates - the St. Jacques - and it was excellent. The smaller touches - fabulous home made bread, a delicate seafood mousse as an amuse bouche and tiny after dinner treats - helped to make the mail a great dining experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“really great resterant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

it may not look like much from the outside but the interior is a charming and the food is incredably good. never mind what other people say the preperation was amazing. this family run resturant gives you amazing views from the cliff top on the town of dieppe. i found it by accident i recomend it to anyone who want as great meal!

peter
ireland

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Les Voiles d'Or also viewed

Offranville, Dieppe
 
Dieppe, Seine-Maritime
 

Been to Restaurant Les Voiles d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Les Voiles d'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.