We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, just about good value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Au Grand Duquesne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Au Grand Duquesne to your Saves list
Au Grand Duquesne
15, Place Saint-Jacques, 76200 Dieppe, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Dieppe B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Comfortable, just about good value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

On Saturday morning I needed to go to Newhaven to pick up an undelivered package and seeing as my gf took the car keys to India with her, I went by train.
Next thing I know, with passport with me for ID purposes, I end up on the Seven Sisters LD lines boat.
I got the hotel recommendation from the office de tourisme - I would normally research travelling details to death - but things worked out fine. The office de tourisme was tricky to find as a nice lady on the ferry gave me a photocopied map that was out of date - basically where the office should have been was a building site. Quick beer in pleasant cafe Suisse soon sorted out my directions.
I ended up with the 44euro rate and decided to pay for breakfast = 1 croissant, about 20cm of french stick, plum jam, butter, oj and coffee.
I was going to have an evening meal - but the rate of room=breakfast+meal came out at about 90euros and I just could not see how the figures added up when I saw the tarriff on the menu - so I excused myself from the evening meal and went out for a pizza - the hotel staff didn't mind at all - restaurant was full. Sams pizza restaurant was very nice - the owner helpfully sorted out my ignorance of some of the ingredients.
Room was clean and fairly spacious. Shower was powerful. Good old fashioned small CRT TV was fine. Pillow smelled a bit of cigarettes, but not too bad.
Only problem was that there was no lift - I was on the top, fourth floor - stairs were a bit rickety, so I made sure I limited my alcohol content.
Spent the evening in the le Cambridge pub. Watched Real Madrid win 6-1 on a very good quality big pj screen and then listened to some excellent live music.
Also visited the 19 Auot 1942 museum and le chateau musee - both excellent. And had dinner at the Algeroise restaurant - food was beautiful, but I had about a weeks supply of cous cous on my plate and I should have given up sooner.
On my own, I was a bit bored in the end - not all that much to do there

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    23
    10
    8
    7
See reviews for
8
26
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

If you would like to get away from the madness of Dieppe's quayside 'restaurants', full of chip-chomping idiots, escape to this little haven for a wonderful lunch. Although quite expensive, the food and service are excellent and the atmosphere welcoming and relaxing, although the place itself was buzzing on the Sunday we visited. Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton england
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

We decided last minute to take a break in Dieppe and booked this place at the last minute. On arrival we met the owner and were shown to our top floor room about 70 stairs. We had a view of the Château and the roofs of the town accompanied with a chorus of gulls. The room was nicely decorated with double and a single bed, good shower and toilet all on suite.
For the 100euro per night price dinner was included this was from a good selection of 3 courses and all the meals we had were very good and highly recommended. All the staff are courteous and do their best to help with enquiries although their English is not good (better than my French) On Saturday you are woken by the activity below as the market gets set up, this is an impressive site and takes over the town for the day.
Overall the hotel and town are excellent and well worth a break, the town has plenty of small shops and churches to visit and the lack of English voices may mean this is a forgotten gem.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East sussex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

We stayed in the hotel for one night, this was our second time. The first much more memorable which is why we returned with our son. A birthday treat. The rooms I booked 2 with a little balcony. Clean and completely passable. The dinner in the evening was a disapointmment. The waitress was curt and when i asked for a table in the corner she insisted that because we were only 3 that table was for 4, only to give it away 5 minutes later to 3 french guys. She was most inhospitable and not at all curteous and so the evening was a damp squid and not the pleasant evening that i had been looking forward to. The food was OK but the green salad as the starter was pathetic 5+ euros for a miniscule amount of brown lettuce and some extremly peppery radishes. The fois gras was again a very small amount and to get the toast was impossible my husband had finished his portion before it arrived by the said waitress who was truly useless. She did not suggest a sauternes to go with it and definately needs retraining in a chefs school. I think there oven probably needs replacing because the bread rolls turned up charred as they did for breakfast reheated to a cinder. Croissants also burnt on the bottom. I would not return I shall try another of the hotels in Dieppe I think that Logis should visit incognito.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, East Sussex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

We visit Dieppe often, sometimes booking an apartment, other times an hotel. There is little choice of hotel in Dieppe at the economy level: Etap, Tourist, Arcades and Duquesne, basically, with no great difference in price. The seafront hotels are all faded petit-grandeur and other options are expensive sterile modernity, so for us, these four are the only choice.

We stayed at the Duquesne a couple of times before it suffered the big fire, and a couple of times since the refurbishment that followed. It is very nicely located, the rooms are clean and spacious enough, the ablutions likewise, but there is the feeling that it rather fancies itself, as evidenced by the restaurant. Clearly the French themselves frequent the eatery, but it is terribly bourgeois and we felt a tad patronised, like we'd arrived uninvited to the golf club dinner. If the State didn't decide the star rating, I expect it would award itself four stars at least.

I don't like to feel I am being condescended to, when I speak good French and am a decent cook in my own kitchen, and a hushed air of sanctity when dining is not good for my digestion. Although, last visit, their Andouilettes stank of drains and were left uneaten, the menu is of reasonable quality, quite varied and not too expensive until you come to the wine, where they really lay it on thick. A damned good Cotes du Rhone shouldn't be more than 16E.

It all comes across as a bit precious and smug in that particularly petit-bourgeois Gallic way. It could be cosy, charming and romantic if they unclenched a little and were truly friendly rather than professionally cordial-with-a-touch-of-frost. Such a change of attitude might then have a chance to permeate the whole hotel.

Clean, reasonably priced, well located and authentic, I would recommend a stay as long as you eat elsewhere (spoilt for choice) and you don't try to engage with le patron, who may view the attempt as sycophancy!

Marks out of five are awarded relevant to the hotel's price bracket. You don't expect Heals furniture at IKEA prices.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

I stayed at Au Grand Duquesne for one week while on business in Dieppe. The hotel is clean and located right in the town center near to shops, bakeries and other magasins. There is a restaurant in the hotel that serves breakfast, lunch, dinner but it is extremely expensive and not worth it. Breakfast (6.8 euros) consisted of 1 small glass of juice and some croissants. It is better to eat elsewhere or buy food at the stores and eat in your room. I also had a small problem during my time there and needed the use of laundry facilities as everything in the town is often closed, especially at night and on holidays and weekends. The staff were not very accommodating and slightly rude about the entire affair. I realize that my french is pas parfait but I am able to get around quite easily. When I told my Dieppe friends about this experience, they all recommended to stay at the Etap hotel and so next time, I will.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Au Grand Duquesne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Grand Duquesne

Address: 15, Place Saint-Jacques, 76200 Dieppe, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Dieppe
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Dieppe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Au Grand Duquesne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Au Grand Duquesne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.