We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing from start to finish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Assiette Champenoise

L'Assiette Champenoise
40, avenue Paul Vaillant-Couturier, 51430 Tinqueux, France
03.26.84.64.64
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
L'Assiette Champenoise is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 10 restaurants in Tinqueux
Price range: $100 - $300
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Santa Monica, California, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Amazing from start to finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

After a pretty lackluster experience at L'Arpege in Paris, we were hoping this place would get the bad Michelin aftertaste out of our mouths, and it delivered. From the start of the meal sitting on the outdoor patio sipping champagne to the tea made from fresh herbs after, I enjoyed every minute of this meal. The location is beautiful (we didn't stay in the hotel, but the restaurant and patio are lovely) and the service is excellent. The foie gras was amazing, and the desserts (particularly the framboises) were astonishing. In between, there was an assortment of perfectly prepared fish and fowl. Seriously, I don't know why this place doesn't have 3 stars, it deserves it. If you're in the Champagne region, do not miss it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    148
    27
    24
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Superbe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I can't comment on the Hotel as we didn't stay overnight but I can pass judgement on the Restaurant which we found to be superb.

The cost as most other reviews comment on is high but it is in line with any Michelin 2/3 starred establishment. I would rank it in the top three of the ones I've eaten in and knocks the socks of many in London.

I won't go into too much detail regarding what's on the menu but I don't think many people will struggle as there is a pretty varied, eclectic mix. We chose the Heritage menu which was absolutely sublime. The service was immaculate and beyond reproach.

A previous review mentioned a few issues with arrogance, I can't say I was aware of any issues during our evening. Our French certainly isn't very clever, but the staff were more than accomodating on our table of ignorant English. I think if you try and make an effort you reap the rewards. And sometimes you want OTT and a bit of theatre, here it's wrapped up in French chic. Love it !

Our four day visit to the Champagne region was fabulous and this was the icing on the cake.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Taste par excellence!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Undeniably, one of the best meals I have ever had in France. The restaurant by A. Lallement is well worth a visit. I started with the special tomato salad, it was served on a base of tomato puree, decorated with different types of tomatoes, shallots, finely sliced black olives and a gazpacho of tomato drink. It is a surprisingly fresh dish with a great balance of the sweetness and sour taste of tomatoes. The gazpacho of tomato is served in a champagne glass, it was strained through and it is a clear liquid, the taste beautifully lifts the whole dish. My wife had the langoustine, which was beautifully poached and served with a sushi like portion on the side. The mains were great, I ahd the lamb fillets, beautifully cooked to medium rare, wrapped in thin strip of bacon. Desert as a beautiful melange of peach, the taste of a roller coaster of flavours, all brought together with a peach like sponge rum baba. The petit four is to die for! Must try!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Special occasion with the family (adult children)--excellent lunch menu at a starred restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The four of us had a wonderful experience at L’Assiette Champenoise. We all opted for the excellent lunch deal, the “menu Saison” for 68€ that includes two starters, a main and a dessert. The “menu Saison” is presented in a sort of envelope and you have to pull out a card from the envelope to discover the actual menu. Dessert is interesting in that you choose the flavor you want: raspberry, strawberry, rhubarb or chocolate—there are no other explanations on the menu itself and we didn’t bother asking. We all had the crab served with a lobster bisque, followed by a refreshing pea sorbet rolled in crunchy sesame bits. It was unusual but in a good way—very refreshing. This was followed by sea bream with baby root vegetables. The dessert course starts off with delightful mignardises including “sucettes” or lollipops which were enjoyed later in the day, cannelés, mint chocolate and a few other things. For desserts we chose raspberry, which was a sort of deconstructed charlotte type affair. Very good. The chocolate was divine, a real chocolate lovers dessert, and finally, the rhubarb, a creative and successful concoction, dusted with some kind of exotic pepper. Lunch was washed down with a bottle of Drappier Brut Nature Pinot Noir Zéro dosage (67€). We also had 4 coffees which added 27€ to the bill, the Jamaican coffee being the most expensive at 9€. We enjoyed the coffee out on the terrace as the weather allowed us a few moments outside. As we left we were each given a paper bag with a dark sour dough roll. Total bill including 2 bottles of water: 380€.

The food was excellent and the service was friendly, charming and fun to watch as they presented each course simultaneously, almost perfectly synchronized, a sort of culinary dressage if you will. ☺

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Deserves another star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is our second visit to the beautiful restaurant outside Reims, France. And again it did not disappoint. The food is delicious and the staff helpful and charming. We wouldn't be surprised to learn that Michelin was awarding them a third star.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Assiette Champenoise also viewed

 

Been to L'Assiette Champenoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Assiette Champenoise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.