We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not book by accident” 3 of 5 stars
Review of L'Assiette Champenoise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added L'Assiette Champenoise to your Saves list
L'Assiette Champenoise
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Avenue Paul Vailant-Couturier, 51430 Tinqueux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Tinqueux
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Do not book by accident”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Turned up at the hotel to find that we had booked a 5* establishment. Must pay more attention in future. All the usual services ie parking your car and collecting the luggage. The room was not better than adequate although clean and comfortable enough. Prices were eye watering (maybe not if you are used to this level) such as 18 euros for a small glass of white wine. We had dinner which was a real experience - lots of staff, simultaneous lifting of covers off plates, somewhat over attentive service. The food was excellent although not what I would normally choose and the bread was truly superb - and plenty of it. Staff very professional. We skipped breakfast as it was 29 euros a head. The main reason for my marking it down is the price because I was paying for things that I really did not want. If you like that sort of thing - go for it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    71
    42
    21
    20
See reviews for
28
161
4
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Wonderful hotel, excellent service and a great team looking after you.
Had dinner at the hotel. Great experience, no English menus, very expensive, lovely dinning room, so many staff to look after you, but for example, three litle pieces of different cheese, with the option of cherry sauce and 2 other chutney's the equivalent of nearly £25.00. This restaurant is not for the faint hearted. Becareful with the wine list, there are wines there for over £6,000 a bottle !
Breakfast was nothing that you could not find in any good hotel and a bit of a disappointment.
Lovely experience but would not pay that sort of money again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We ummed and ahhed about which restaurants to book in Reims, given the many high-quality options, but were not disappointed. By far the best dining experience we have had. Granted it was lunch time and we were one of three tables in the restaurant, but the cast of ten or more waiting staff made this meal truly memorable. The chef popped out to speak to us and seemed like a truly nice bloke, and we thoroughly enjoyed each and every course. The wine pairing, though expensive, was also definitely worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had the surprise, tasting menu here and WOW what an experience it was! The food was delicious, service faultless and the surroundings magnificent. We had a most memorable evening and of the many Michelin star restaurants we have visited this is our favourite.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The pros : nice main building, with historical features yet contemporary furnishing. Annexes are not so nice from outside but nicely furnished inside and fitted with modern equipment. The establishment is a family run business and the owner is present on the ground making sure that every guest is well looked after.
The cons : proximity of a main road can generate some noise pollution at times but this is quite limited.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This hotel is truly 5 star. When you approach, along the main road, you can forgive yourself for thinking " what have i booked", but as you turn into the gates ...WOW. It is beautiful. Inside it is modern and chic. We were upgraded to a suite which was lovely. The restaurant is very french (naturally) and is very expensive, especially the wines. The service in the restaurant is a bit OTT and i laughed when the coffee beans were put under my nose to choose if i wanted blue mountain or cost rican blend. Altogether a great hotel especially if money is no object.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful spot, nice architecture and well maintained gardens.
Splendid and comfortable rooms, properly decorated with taste.
The restaurant is excellent although the service is a bit arrogant and French snob.
Great selection of entrees made from fresh products indeed.
The meat was absolutely savoury (veal) and perfectly cooked!
Superb selection of cheeses,but the waiter had some difficulties rembemring all of them...hopefully of of our host heed him!
Exquisite home made sorbets, light and tangy.
Great coffee and mignardises.
A good address that just needs to train a bit more its staff.
Overrated at **, one is ctainly more adequate.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Assiette Champenoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Assiette Champenoise

Address: 40 Avenue Paul Vailant-Couturier, 51430 Tinqueux, France
Location: France > Champagne-Ardenne > Marne > Tinqueux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Tinqueux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Assiette Champenoise 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your L'Assiette Champenoise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Assiette Champenoise Hotel Reims
l Assiette Champenoise Reims

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Assiette Champenoise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.