We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but don't stay here if you want to sleep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sorell Hotel Aarauerhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sorell Hotel Aarauerhof to your Saves list
Sorell Hotel Aarauerhof
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahnhofplatz 2, Aarau CH-5001, Switzerland (Formerly Konferenz- & Seminarhotel Aarauerhof)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Aarau
Florida City, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“OK but don't stay here if you want to sleep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Room Clean.
Restaurant Food - very good
Wellness centre - very good
Staff - polite and curteous.

BUT

There is one major problem with this hotel - it is impossible to get a good nights sleep,every couple of hours you are awoken by one of the following :-
The hotel is located in the city centre right beside the train station, the train station has a huge clock on it and this chimes very very loudly. The bong is so loud you hear it even with the windows closed.
The hotel room doors are metal and bang when they are closed.
The streets are cleaned by motor cleaners at anytime between 4am and 6am.
Adding to this the rooms are extremely hot even with it been -2 Celcius outside - the only solution is to open the window and hereby lies the problem.

I stayed here with a group of people all of who said the same.

Staying at this hotel made me feel like Quasimodo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Geschäftsführer at Sorell Hotel Aarauerhof, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear DVBFFS,

we like to thank you for the good comments we were able to receive. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with our services and very sorry that you were not able to get a good night sleep. We have taken your concern into consideration and already talked to the company who is cleaning in front of the train station. As well we will check for improvements regarding room isolation on a long term base.

We look forward to welcoming you again as our guest soon.
Kind regards

Melanie Holdener
General Manager
Sorell Hotel Aarauerhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    29
    7
    1
See reviews for
3
11
8
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The hotel is ok, on weekends even under 100 ChF which is a good deal.
Rooms are clean, modern and simple, but not isolated, so you have street noise and noise from the other rooms.
Bathrooms are clean and again simple. Basic utilities in the room. Free Wifi.
Breakfast is a plus, even with hot choices.

Room Tip: ask for high floors and you will have less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Geschäftsführer at Sorell Hotel Aarauerhof, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Philosion,

many thanks for taking time to give some feedback.
We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with our service. Thank you for your input regarding the room isolation, we have taken your concern in consideration and trying to solve it together with our technical team.
We look forward to welcoming you again as our guest soon.

Kind regards,

Melanie Holdener
General Manager
Sorell Hotel Aarauerhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Was recommended this hotel by client I was visiting. Location was ideal especially if travelling by train as it's right in front of you as you exit the station. By definition it's located right down town so all shops and restaurants are easy walking distance. Good clean hotel, lacking some character but all services there for the business traveller. Breakfast was fine and included in my rate. Will use again on my next trip. Staff polite and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Geschäftsführer at Sorell Hotel Aarauerhof, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Dyfrank,
many thanks for taking the time to give some feedback. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. We are doing our utmost to continually improve our service. Your feedback helps us to check standards and to adapt these if need be.
We look forward to welcoming you again as our guest soon.

Best wishes
Melanie Holdener
General Manager
Sorell Hotel Aarauerhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

This hotel is fine...nothing spectacular but definitely not bad. The staff were wonderful to us and for that I'd love to give 5 stars. But, the rooms are just average, kind of sparsely decorated. The beds were a bit on the hard side, but I still slept well. The breakfast was delicious and again, the staff were wonderful to us. The location is great as it is directly across from the train station. It is close enough to the "old town" of Aarau which is definitely worth a stroll. Over all the hotel was fine and our visit was great.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

If you are not expecting a lot, it is a good hotel to stay at. It is well located, buy the train station.
The rooms are clean, but the bed linen are not smooth, and noisy on the 6th floor. Some rooms are very small.
The breakfast is served in the hotel restaurante, and is very good, with a large variety of items.
There is lack of public parking, but is available at a fee at the train station parking.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gex
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

The hotel doesn't look like the place you would like to stay at, but it is actually quite OK. The surroundings are noisy but the rooms are rather well sound-proofed, big enough and very clean. The situation is quite good, opposite the station and close to the old town. The staff were mostly very nice except for the check-in person who, it seems, felt personally insulted when I asked if they had quiet rooms and insisted my credit card and my wife's card were not in order. I had to go to a bank opposite the hotel to get some cash. Of course our credit cards worked perfectly. But all in all, it was a much better hotel than expected.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baroda
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

Hotel is very near to rail station and is good for small stays for overnight stays. Hotel provides limited choice of breakfast. The cleanliness is good also. Overall above average.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sorell Hotel Aarauerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorell Hotel Aarauerhof

Address: Bahnhofplatz 2, Aarau CH-5001, Switzerland (Formerly Konferenz- & Seminarhotel Aarauerhof)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Aargau > Aarau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Aarau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sorell Hotel Aarauerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to Sorell Hotel AarauerhofThe Sorell Hotel Aarauerhof is a popular conference and seminar hotel. As well as enjoying elegantly furnished business rooms, the hotel also offers exceptionally large rooms with professional, technical infrastructure ensuring a reliable service. The modern gastronomy concept and the new wellness and spa oasis provide a perfect finishing touch to the offers in the Sorell Hotel Aarauerhof.Aarau lies in the heart of Switzerland. Our hotel has a central position, directly next to the main station and is easily reached both by car and train ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sorell Hotel Aarauerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Aarau
Aarau Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sorell Hotel Aarauerhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.