We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent refurb, good but not quite as good as it could be” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Kings Arms to your Saves list
The Kings Arms
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   2 Front Street, Portesham, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Portesham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wareham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Recent refurb, good but not quite as good as it could be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Historic pub in a scenic setting with a large outside grassed area at the front. We have been a few times in the past, but this is the first time since its been refurbished. It has a much more adventurous menu than previously. I had fish and chips and my partner had the sea bass. Both were okay, but my chips were average and my partners potatoes were a little over done for her tastes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    25
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
26
33
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

On a short break in the village, my party ate here two nights running, as we had enjoyed it so much the first time. The food and the service were all excellent, with a wide variety, and very good value for money - thank you. Will return the next time I visit the Jursassic coast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

What a change - this place used to be a dump but since the new owners took over it's a million times better. They've done a big refurb, staff are smart and very pleasant, food was good and the pub was packed with people dining. Well done!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiteparish
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Dropped in on a cold and grey June (Tuesday) evening. I found the Kings Arms lacked the atmosphere of a local, but the staff were pleasant enough, and everything was clean, tidy and attractively presented. We asked for a table by the large glass windows overlooking the garden and the staff were quick to clear space for us, but that is when the speediness of the service waned. It wasn't busy by any stretch of the imagination, but we had to wait over twenty minutes for a plate of charcuterie as a starter, and then a further twenty minutes between that and our main course. I cannot fault the food though. The cold meats were generous and full of flavour, and the home-made pies for our main course very tasty indeed. Just that wait to take the shine off the evening..... perhaps if we had been sitting in late evening sunshine in the garden, I wouldn't have noticed!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsArmsPortesham, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. Great to hear you enjoyed your food with us. As you mention, everything we do is cooked/prepared fresh to order, the potential downside to this is sometimes, as the customer, it will take a little longer than something that is microwaved or reheated, but the wait is repaid with a fresh good tasting dish. With your pie for example, it would take at least 20 minutes for the pastry to cook, some other dishes would be quicker, and others a little longer.
Hopefully you will be back to try other things on our menu in the future.
Best regards
Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed there on a walking trip. Lee the owner and Joanne his CEO clearly know how to run a decent pub/bistro. V good food (locals packed it out), good front of house and cracking breakfast next day. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsArmsPortesham, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanks for your review, and great to hear you enjoyed your time with us.
Best regards
Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We visited The Kings Arms in December last year for the first time and had a brilliant New Years Eve with great food and live music.
We went back again last weekend and couldn't believe what an amazing transformation the place has had with a beautifully redecorated bar and restaurant area. Stunning! We sat outside in the garden for the afternoon. A big space, great for children and perfect for sunshine. A lovely setting in the heart if the village. We stayed for dinner and all 5 of us were really impressed with the menu and quality of food. Not your average pub grub and not over-priced, perfect combo! Service was friendly and welcoming and turns out they are part way through a refurbishment project so the rooms and other facilities will be next. Overall really impressed and highly recommend it as a place to spend an afternoon/evening with friends or family. Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsArmsPortesham, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us, and great to hear such positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again.
Thanks
Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

It's been some time since we last visited the King's Arms and it has really changed for the better. Smart decor and very welcoming staff, lead to an interesting and tempting menu. Sadly we were only in for a light bite, but we were both impressed with the quality and presentation of our choices and will most definitely be back for a revisit soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsArmsPortesham, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanks for letting us know you enjoyed your lunch and time with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Regards
Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Address: 2 Front Street, Portesham, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Portesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Portesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kings Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.