We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recently upgraded motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Walla Walla Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Walla Walla Inn to your Saves list
The Walla Walla Inn
400 Atwood Ave, Rainy River, Ontario P0W 1L0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Rainy River B&B and Inns
Thunder Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Recently upgraded motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The sign says "A good night sleep awaits you", well between trains maybe. The motel is located close to a level crossing on the main Canada - USA freight line, so you hear the whistles. This is an older frame motel with a centre corridor for access to rooms. The motel has had a recent facelift and is now quite attractive. The bedding is new, attractive and clean. There is a treat awaiting you when you arrive including cookies. Snacks await you for breakfast. The rooms are air conditioned and have upscale coffee makers, microwaves, and mini fridge. Minor finishing touches were required in my room including a bathtub plug.
At $89. night + Tax the pricing is mid-range for North-Western Ontario.
Note: I have rated the location as poor because of the trains. It is convenient for Highway travellers and close to the US border.

Tip: Be aware that the nearby "Roadside Restaurant" opens from 9 a.m. - 6 p.m. so if you arrive late.. no dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce C, Owner at The Walla Walla Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Walla Walla Inn for your past stay. We greatly appreciate your feed back. The trains can be an issue along this stretch of the river, but a lot of the settlement would not of been here if it wasnt for the railway, but I am sorry for any loss of sleep that you were caused. Thank you for aknowleding the upgrades, we have been working very hard to improve this property! I must apologise for the missing bathtub plug in your room, that is not appropriate for our standards.

We hope to see you here again at The Walla Walla Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
2
2
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Recently stayed here and the service was above and beyond. Clean, very comfortable beds and the staff were incredible. My business partner had computer trouble and the lady at the front desk lent her, her personal computer. It is a very comfortable atmosphere and the owners of this hotel should be very proud of the staff they have chosen. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce C, Owner at The Walla Walla Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Walla Walla Inn for your past stay. We are pleased to hear your positve feedback, we have been very lucky to be blessed with such great staff! We are happy to know that you and your business partner reveived such great service, management and staff will be rewarded accoringly!

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope your travels bring you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I travel from province to province and gone through a lot of city's and towns for business. Walla walla inn, Ontario is one of the best hotels i've been to. Accommodating and clean with a wonderful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce C, Owner at The Walla Walla Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, and thank you for choosing The Walla Walla Inn for you recent stay. We are glad you found our facility to be clean and our staff to be friendly, we are proud of our establishment and the dedicated individuals that work for us that ensure guests have a great stay! Thank you again for staying with us and we hope you see you again soon here at The Walla Walla Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I did not expect to find such a fabulous room at the Walla Walla Inn. I stayed in the Executive Room ($99) and was seriously impressed -- flat screen tv, fire place, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, wifi, ***cookies and chocolate*** left on the bed. The room was spotless and faced away from the road so it was quiet. I've stayed in many many northern Ontario motels/hotels and this was one of the best.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce C, Owner at The Walla Walla Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are delighted to know you were impressed with our Executive room and glad you shared it with the folks here on trip advisor! Hope to see you again soon here at The Walla Walla Inn! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

There is really only one place to stay in Rainy river, The Walla Walla Inn. It has gone through several name changes and was closed for a couple of years. Re-opened it is comfortable and clean accommodation at a reasonable price. The front desk staff warned us that finding places to eat in Rainy River would be difficult and advised us to check the Beaver Market nearby for breakfast, lunch and even dinner fix ins in a pinch. If I go back to Rainy River I'd feel no qualms about staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce C, Owner at The Walla Walla Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We appreciate the kind reviews and are glad to know you found our accommodations to be clean and comfortable! Hope to see you again here at The Walla Walla Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ham Lake, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

My brother-in-law and I, own property near Rainy River so we stay at the Walla Walla eight to ten times throughout the year. If you consider both sides of the border there are 5 or 6 motel options. The Walla Walla is by far the best value on either side of the border. It's clean, quiet, and the manager will accommodate special needs. The manager goes out of her way to make sure our stay is comfortable. The rooms have microwaves, refrigerators, and TVs with any station you want or need. The motel is a few years old and we stayed there with the previous owner and it was terrible! We started staying 30 miles away or going through customs to stay on the other side of the river until the new ownership took over two years ago. What a difference “people” make! The new manager makes a world of difference! They have refurbished the rooms and everything is fresh, clean and well-maintained. I wouldn’t stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: The back side of the Motel is a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce C, Owner at The Walla Walla Inn, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
I would like to first of all thank you for taking the time to review our property, we greatly appreciate your review and positive feedback. I was glad to read that our manager has been making your stays with us comfortable! Thank you kindly for choosing The Walla Walla Inn for your accommodation needs, and hopefully we get a chance to meet on one of your future stays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunderbay Ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

I arrived on Dec.16 and left Dec.20.The manager was a great host very friendly, helpful,and always therer when ever I needed a question answered.The room was very nice and clean.Loved the added touch of coffee tea and popcorn in the room.Nice to have the microwave and fridge as well.Forgot to mention Patti the managers name so sweet.Thank you Patti for making our stay great.We will be back if we are in Rainy Lake for work agian.Just to add there is a grocery store next door .Great places to eat accross the river.Let me add it was great to meet the friendly owner as well.

Room Tip: Best value for your dollar.Great for snowmobilers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce C, Owner at The Walla Walla Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. It is very rewarding for us to hear such postive feedback! Glad you were our guests, and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Walla Walla Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walla Walla Inn

Address: 400 Atwood Ave, Rainy River, Ontario P0W 1L0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Rainy River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rainy River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated rooms featuring over 300 satellite television channels, in-room coffee, in-room fridge and microwave, complimentary fresh doughnuts every morning, turn down service with signature chocolates, Bath & Body Works personal amenities and bath salts. Kitchenette and Executive King rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Walla Walla Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Walla Walla Inn Rainy River, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Walla Walla Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.