We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a special place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ffarm Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ffarm Country House to your Saves list
Ffarm Country House
Betws yn Rhos LL22 8AR, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“What a special place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Susan and Stewart, the proprietors and hosts, provided a very special welcome to us at the end of a long traveling day in this very charming and beautiful B&B and could not have been more accommodating. The rooms are very large and well appointed and the bathroom is even better. A very beautiful grounds and even more beautiful public spaces, including the sitting room with a "honesty bar". We inquired about a place to go for an evening meal and Susan generously offered to fix us a light meal although we had previously told them that we would not be taking dinner there (they will prepare dinner for guests if they are advised in advance). That offer shows how they really want to attend to every need a guest may have. So, we were directed to the White Lion Inn, a local pub about 10 miles away and we had a wonderful meal and conversation with the staff there. I highly recommend this accommodation as it is very clean and very comfortable with king sized beds.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
89
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridlington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stay 2/4 September Room Chile

An impressive house built in the style of a Catalan castle and over 150 years old. Stewart came out to greet us and show us around the ground floor and grand hall, explained the honesty bar before taking our luggage to our room. Up 20 stairs to the first floor, then17 steps up a narrow winding staircase (we did know when booking we were on the second floor) - a small lobby with small single wardrobe , then down four steps into Chile. Susan came up with fresh coffee. Our first impression was ‘small’ At around 11ft x 9ft including the stairs ingress - our “view” was a roof and a small passageway or yard. An en suite shower room with good quality fittings and lovely soft towels. The room was clean and well decorated with a 5ft comfortable bed and lovely crisp sheets, flat screen TV with Freesat and DVD. A good wifi signal Somewhat disconcerting to be told that our room was the fire escape route for the other two rooms on the second floor, but happy to hear that no practice runs were envisaged! We were offered a room on the first floor for the second night as Stewart noticed my difficulty climbing stairs but we declined not wishing to pack and unpack again for our short stay

Breakfast could not be faulted . Fresh fruit including strawberries and the hot breakfast was made to order - the best black pudding I have tasted.

Our welcoming letter advised that Ffarm would now do an evening meal on request and pre ordered and we chose to eat at Ffarm for our first night. A good choice of starters, soups and mains (3 types of pork, chicken breast, Boef Bourgignon, Cod, Haddock and Salmon) followed by desert, cheese and biscuits and coffee. £32.50 for the five courses plus coffee or if like us you couldn’t manage the whole banquet, two courses are available for £16 and £20 for three courses plus coffee at £2.50. The prices are comparable with local restaurants. To make life easier in the kitchen guests are asked to order the same meal per couple which we did find a little restrictive.

Susan and Stewart are perfect hosts and always seemed to be there when wanted. A lovely farmhouse but given the size of our room and no bath we thought the £98 per night charge on the high side.

Room Tip: If you like space ask for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed for short break whilst visiting North Wales.Proprietors very welcoming and property in pristine condition, beautiful throughout.

Rooms and bathrooms were spotless.Breakfast was well presented and a freshly cooked breakfast was lovely.

Would recommend but cost per night I thought was expensive. Signage to Hotel needs to be improved

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

It's the second time we have stayed at Ffarm Country House and we will be going again. The rooms are beautifully furnished and immaculate. The owners clearly have the highest standards. If you need to stay in a five star place, receive five star service, and be made to feel totally welcome, then this is the Country House you should head for - you will be delighted.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield, UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

My partner took me here as a surprise birthday gift to ready ourselves for the nearby Zip World adventure he had planned for us the following day. I have been haranguing him for months about the importance of luxury hotel breaks..
I could not have wished for a nicer hotel, infact my favourite we have stayed in here in the UK. The personable service is what makes it, I had red roses and a birthday card waiting for me in my room from Susan and Stuart. Every last thing was thought out and we wanted for nothing. The room (we had the burgundy) was spotless in the truest sense of the word, complete with robes and slippers, ironing board and iron, complimentary water and cookies, sky box, DVD player (with library), super powerful shower with beautiful toiletries and in-room wifi. The bed was out of this world and I am seriously considering a return visit just to sleep in it once again, wow. When you add to this the stunning structure of the building itself and the home-cooked evening meal and breakfast to order.. I really fail to see where they can improve. Hoping to see you again soon..

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed for two nights, rooms very well appointed and bathrooms spotlessly clean. Service and food exceptional. Easy access from A55 trunk road. Can not recommend highly enough, well done Sue and Stewart, wishing you every success and will be back!

Room Tip: Cape particularly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have just stayed at the Ffarm, and our plaudits for everything reflect those which have gone before. We stayed for five nights and the welcome and service never faltered. Brilliant rooms, breakfast and dinner. Contrary to anything we have done before, we took dinner at the Ffarm every day - and for good reason.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ffarm Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ffarm Country House

Address: Betws yn Rhos LL22 8AR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Betws yn Rhos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Betws yn Rhos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ffarm Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ffarm Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.