We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Southern India.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dewalokam Farmstay Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Karimannoor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dewalokam Farmstay Retreat
Save
You added Dewalokam Farmstay Retreat to your Saves list
Thodupuzha, Karimannoor 685581, India   |  
Hotel amenities
cornwall
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Southern India.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Sinta and Jose are welcoming,caring, attentive hosts, ably assisted by their 2 children. We stayed at the end of a 12 day cycling tour of south india, organised by Kalypso adventures (ACE), It was the best of our accommodation so far & all places had been v. good. Location facilities & food all 1st class.
During our stay the local school was holding its annual celebration to which we were invited, an excellent evening of dance music & entertainment. We felt like members of the community the welcome was so warm.
This is one place we will be going back to as our 2night stay was not long enough. It is somewhere you can experience the real India.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
154
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

We stayed at Dewalokam with my 3 children aged 7 years, 5 years and 10 months old for 5 nights over Christmas 2010. We all had an brilliant time. It is such an amazing place with amazing people. The hosts have 2 children aged 10 and 6 who helped entertain our children, they helped us to feel part of their family and we even had the opportunity to visit their school for the Christmas show. They were around to speak to when we wanted them and ate with us at times. This was done in an effortless way which allowed for you to have your own space too.

My 10 month old particularly loved the, very safe, organic farm with goats, water buffalo, chickens etc, and if we had got out of bed in time, we could have had a go at milking the cows. I loved learning more about the spices and fruit trees and being surrounded by beautiful flowers, We all enjoyed swimming in the pool and the river. The hosts even found us a local elephant that we were invited to sit on that was working in the local area transporting logs. The food was also spectacular and consisted of many Keralan specialities and as an added bonus, we were collected from the airport so it was an easy place to start our trip off in India.

In short, a fantastic place where we were genuinely moved by the hospitality of our hosts. You'd be crazy not to visit!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

This is a small resort with the feel of a homestay. Part of an organic farm with spices and fruit trees, a river to swim in, yoga and Ayuervedic massages available. Walks in the surrounding rain forest. We found the hosts extremely hospitable - they give you a lot of personal attention, take you out for walks, share meals etc.

Overall, it's a beautiful and tranquil place and we could easily have spent a week there. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

This was our first stop on our second trip to Kerala and what a gem our holiday company (Kerala Connections - who we would thoroughly recommend) found us. The family were so welcoming as were the staff. The food was the best in all the places we stayed at and was mostly grown/produced on their own farm. If like us you don't like large and formal hotels this is the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

A unique sustainable environment. with great hosts, and wonderful tasty food. A place to unwind and take stock.
The staff are exceptional, the chef is talented and you can watch him prepare dinner and copy his recipes.
Food is organic and from the grounds and is as near to natural food that you can be achieved.
Hosts welcoming and interesting. You can also partake of a great G & T with fresh limes and lemons!
DON'T GO TO KERALA WITHOUT VISITING THIS PLACE!!! Also travel with Green Dreams Holidays www.greendreamsholidays.com Recommend both without reservation

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

From the moment you are given the most amazingly warm and genuine welcome by Jose, Sinta, Tara and Paul you know you can call the place home and relax. The location is beautiful and you can enjoy a guided tour of all the plants and spices grown on the farm (and try to remember what they all are) There was freedom to roam amongst the hens and goats, to take a swim in the pool or sit and read. The hospitality was incredible - nothing was too much trouble - and it was great to go into the kitchen and watch dinner being prepared and pick up some cooking tips. Great too to be eating food grown on site. The whole family are amazingly kind and we feel honoured to have been able to stay. The atmosphere is incredible and if you visit Kerala and don't stay here, you have missed a gem. We stayed in 10 different places in Kerala during our stay and this came out top because of the peace, friendly atmosphere, lovely food and beautiful location.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

What a wonderful welcome into this delightful home stay Our host family made us feel one of the family showing us around their organic garden full of exotic spices and herbs and their friendly cattle and goats. A refreshing fresh water swimming pool kept us cool. The accomodation and meals were excellent. The chef demonstated his cooking prowess in the spotless kitchen.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dewalokam Farmstay Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dewalokam Farmstay Retreat

Address: Thodupuzha, Karimannoor 685581, India
Location: India > Kerala > Karimannoor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Karimannoor
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dewalokam is a Homestay, a B&B, and a Specialty Lodging all merged into one, in an organic farm, in the deep interiors of Kerala. You are surrounded on all sides by the bountiful nature, and the atmosphere is filled with birdsongs and the sound of water rippling in the river. It is a unique place with no parallels. The river front property, enveloped by the rain forests of Kerala, produces milk and honey, fruits and vegetables, eggs and meat all in a truly organic way. The food, accommodation and the environment make it a true paradise.We offer Yoga, Ayurveda and Cooking Packages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dewalokam Farmstay Retreat Kerala/Karimannoor, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dewalokam Farmstay Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.