We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and convenient hotel for a couple of nights between flights.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 540 on Great South Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added 540 on Great South Motel to your Saves list
540 on Great South Motel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   540 Great South Road, Otahuhu 1062, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otahuhu
shropshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very clean and convenient hotel for a couple of nights between flights.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

We stayed here between motorcamping in New Zealand and visiting the Cook islands. It was very convenient for the airport and for travel into the city - the train is fast, cheap and convenient. The staff were extremely helpful, going out of their way to help us with transfers. The room was clean and comfortable with everything that you could need. We really liked the area the motel is in - lots to do locally and easy to go to Otara market. brilliant - thank you.

Room Tip: Just ask nicely for what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
540gsr, Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review, May 26, 2011
The review is appreciated by the staff of this Motel. They do enjoy receiving the feedback from guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    21
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
15
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

This motel is the most dirtiest establishment, i have ever stayed in. I can say the photos of the internet are very deceiving, it would be good if the public could zoom up to actually see how filthy the rooms are, dirty stains on the couches, i would not let my wife and son sit on the couch, as i was scared there was something growing in them. We were on the bed and breakfast package, if that's what you would like to call it, the owner delivered the breakfast to our room, we ordered 2 mueslis and weet-bix, well the weet-bix came, but only one muesli, i had to share 2 bites of mine with my wife. My son needed more milk for his cereal, and it was such a drama that they could actually provide 100mls of milk instead of 30 mls which was provided for his 3 weet-bix. We had the most unpleasant sleep ever in a motel, as it was next to a major road, soundproof windows, i don't think so. The area is quite dodgy around the motel, and as stated on their website, lovely eateries close to the motel, i did not find any of these, and i preferred not to go out incase i got mugged. Overall to sum it up it was a major disappointment as we were only there for 1 night as we were leaving Auckland to go overseas the next day. I would never recomend this motel, even to my worst enemy.

Room Tip: Don't ever stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
540gsr, Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review, May 1, 2011
Thank you for the review. The events you have described are disturbing to me as yourself. This is completely out of sorts with this motel. I am at a loss with the comments regarding breakfast and the 30 mils of milk etc. Fresh milk is in a 300 ml jug and is delivered with each breakfast order. It is never a problem to provide additional items when requested. My wife and I who run the property pride ourselves in the services we offer. I cannot comment on your thoughts of the local area, it is your opinion and completely justified as such. As for many local eateries, there are aprox 27 establishments within a 5 minute walk, including Nando's, KFC, McDonalds, Subway, Secret Thai Garden, and the International Food Hall which has another 18 various cuisines on offer. If you would like to email us here, I would like to discuss the issues with you as this is the first time we were aware of your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

Clean and comfortable, this is styled as a four star motel. Well, it is a motel rather than a four star hotel - and that’s your starting point. However, the owners were very friendly and accommodating and very amenable. If you’re looking for a good motel en route to the airport this is worth considering. Rooms are small and it’s close to a busy road, though we weren’t disturbed. Do bear in mind however that it’s 12km from AKL – so allow half an hour. The owner will offer a personal shuttle service on request. One other thing, when finding it, is that it’s in Otahuhu, which means that it’s not the only “540” on the Great South Road, so make sure you’re looking for the one in Otahuhu.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
540gsr, Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Thank you for your review. 540 on Great South Motel is as the name suggest a Motel. I am not quite sure of the inference that we are a Hotel. We are 20 minutes from the Auckland CBD and 15 minutes to the Airport. Our rooms have mostly been described by travellers as bigger then most, so we cannot really comment as to your comparison with other Motels you have stayed at. The benefit of our location is that we are only 5 minutes walk from many eating establishments and the many variety of discount shopping stores which makes Otahuhu unique to the Auckland area.The Polynesian culture of the area creates a fun atmosphere when walking through all the shops and tasting the local cuisine. The service we offer is built around our location, which is what makes 540 on Great South Motel different from other Motels in the Airport precinct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Ron and his wife were so hospitable! Quick and courtious check-in. Ron's airport shuttle service included helping us drop off our rental car the evening before our early morning departure, and then getting us to airport by 5:30 a.m. Room was clean and well equipped. Room service meal saved us from roaming the neighborhood, which isn't the best in the airport vicinity. We definitely will stay here next time we pass through Auckland. Great value.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

Great pick up and drop back service to airport. Did take a little longer to get to this location (maybe 15-20 mins) than some other airport accommodation. Very reasonably priced and given we were only there to sleep it did the trick!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
540gsr, Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review, March 19, 2011
Average time to the Motel is about 12 minutes. We always tell everyone about 15minutes. Worst time of day is 3-3.30pm on school days. We have to pass by 3 schools, and of course obey all the road rules.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

I stayed at the amazing 540 on the Great South for over a week on a business trip with 13 of my colleagues as well. Let me say that I have never stayed at any hotel/motel in my life that could match the service provided by the manager Ron and his wife. We referred to him as "Uncle Ron" after the first day, only because they made it so welcoming when we were coming and going. We had breakfast served punctually in the morning with a smile, top notch service at all hours, and a relationship with Ron and his wife that I miss now being back in Iowa. What amazed me was, for the price, how amazingly detailed the rooms were, and it was obvious how much they cared about the building. But most strikingly obvious was how much they cared about our group and attended to our every need. Finally, it is clear they are a great choice for business travelers with so many options from free internet, laundry services, food available at all hours and a proficiency for professionalism. As far as locating this hotel, just be sure to be clear about the 540 address in OTAHUHU on the Great South Road and you'll be fine. I swear Ron's motto for anything was "No worries Mate". We'll miss you Ron!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
540gsr, Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Thank you for your kind review. We do appreciate all your feedback, positive or negative. It gives us a good guide as you, the guest, is looking for when staying at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

This is a basic hotel that is good if you just need a place to stay for the night before catching a flight. They have a free airport shuttle which was fast and reliable both times we used it.

However, if you want to go into Auckland you'll be better off staying in the city itself. There is public bus and train transportation into the city but the buses don't run very late and the platform for the train station is pretty sketchy. A taxi into the city is quite expensive and there isn't much open near the motel in the evening - so if you want to enjoy your last night in the city before hopping on a flight I'd recommend looking into alternate options.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
540gsr, Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Thank you for your kind review. We do appreciate all your feedback, positive or negative. We do agree with your comments regarding staying in the CBD. We do not present our property as being in the CBD,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 540 on Great South Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 540 on Great South Motel

Address: 540 Great South Road, Otahuhu 1062, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Otahuhu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otahuhu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 540 on Great South Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
540 on Great South Motel Located in the heart of Otahuhu only a moment’s walk from cafes, restaurants, bars and shops. We are located just off the southern motorway and very close to the Grange & Auckland Golf Courses, Kings & Otahuhu Colleges, Rainbow’s End, Middlemore Hospital, Auckland International Airport, Sylvia Park shopping centre. Close proximity to Mt Smart Stadium, Manukau Telstra Events Centre and Elleslie Racecourse. Business or leisure 540 on Great South is your perfect accommodation choice. Our 4 star boutique Motel offers a range of excellent accommodation options. Free Airport Transfers; see Airport Transfer Service for conditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 540 on Great South Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
540 On Great South Hotel Otahuhu
540 On Great South Motel Auckland/Otahuhu, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 540 on Great South Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.