We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fforest Inn Hotel

The Fforest Inn Hotel
The Fforest Inn Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Radnor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Fforest Inn Hotel
Save Saved
You added The Fforest Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Llanfihangel Nant Melan, New Radnor LD8 2TN, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Radnor
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A true gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I too was involved in this weekend away- The Fforest Inn well at truly became our bolt hole for the entire weekend and what a great find it was..

The Landlord(Wayne) and Landlady (Mandy) couldn't do more to make us feel 100% welcome to the point we never left for the 2 days, only to sleep!

The setting was epic and fare was to match. I would highly recommend this traditional pub if not just to stop in relax by the fire, try beat Wayne at darts (cracking double 16 finish) and feed a lamb if your lucky!

Wayne and Mandy thank you for adopting looking after us on that cold winters weekend.. The Fforest Inn will be etched on our minds and sat-navs for years to come!

Legendary!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We rented a cottage in New Radnor for a week and this place became our local. From the second we walked in on our first evening the welcome was truly amazing with happy smiles from the best landlord and lady I have ever met. Two roaring fires kept us warm (a midst the 5ft snow outside) and our drinks were always topped and stomachs full with good hearty local food at an incredibly cheap price.

As we had a cottage around the corner we spent most of or days and nights at the Fforest Inn - in hindsight we should have just stayed there... And at £30 a night (including breakfast!) - we'll all be back for sure! Top place, top people, top pub - go!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallahassee, fl
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

Dennis & Sally are the best...along with their other staff. We came in at the last minute and were spoiled by our hosts, who kept the place cheerful and charming and made the best food in Britain. This is the epitome of hospitality and Great Britain as we dreamed it to be. Thanks so much. We'll be back soon! (Like in two months, hopefully.)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

Just arrived back from a stay at he Fforest Inn where we were made very welcome by Dennis, Sally and everyone else. The views from the inn are stunning and after a few drinks we slept like logs in a comfortable room with tea/coffee, bottled water, hairdyer and toiletries all provided. We had to leave early the next day but Sally and Dennis were more than happy to serve a great breakfast at 7am and even offered breakfast in bed!!The inn has an outside patio area and garden looking over the valley where they have BBQ's just sorry we couldn't stop for the one on Bank Holiday Monday but we will be back and thanks for such a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2007

Excellent service, very clean and food in restaurant was fantastic.
They were very helpfull and obliging to the extent of making us a full breakfast (again excellent food) at 6:30 in the morning when we had to be at the sales early.
We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
299 helpful votes 299 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2006

As part of our holiday in the UK we spent the night at the Fforest Inn. The inn downstairs has been renovated and it is a very pleasant place to while away the hours. The food in the restaurant was excellent with local ingredients being used throughout and the price was quite reasonable. The rooms upstairs are neat and tidy and for a night or two quite acceptable. I would recommend this hotel as a place certainly worthy of a visit if not for the food alone let alone its warm and friendly atmosphere.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fforest Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fforest Inn Hotel

Address: Llanfihangel Nant Melan, New Radnor LD8 2TN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > New Radnor
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Radnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fforest Inn Hotel and has been tastefully refurbished to provide quality & comfort in all areas, from the food and drink we serve, to the rooms you stay in. You can be assured that the reception you receive will be warm and welcoming as will your surroundings. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fforest Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.